We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing stay!!”
Review of Blackloch Bothy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairgowrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackloch Bothy
Ranked #10 of 18 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, relaxing stay!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner & I have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Blackloch Bothy. It was so relaxing, bed was comfy & pillows were super soft. The homemade biscuits were a real treat, the fresh bread & jams in the morning was just delightful. We had a game of tennis on the tennis court which was great. Location was good, about a 8-10 min drive into Blairgowrie. We loved the peace and quiet for the weekend, it was just what we needed. I also had a yoga session with Ann on the Sunday morning which was fantastic, it was great to get a better knowledge of the yoga practise and what areas I could focus more on. We had a fabulous stay at the Bothy and hope to return again. Thanks you for a perfect weekend Ann & James.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRJWx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A lovely, thoughtful place to stay that calms and energizes. The homemade breakfast is delicious, Anne was welcoming and respects your privacy, the bothy is very well decorated with lovely finishing touches. A definite find.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sus-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent a lovely long weekend at Blacklock as we were attending a wedding nearby. The Bothy is beautifully decorated in a stunning location. Anne's home-made bread and muesli for breakfast were a real treat and we were lucky enough to go evening strawberry picking on the farm. If you're looking for a hideaway retreat, peace and comfort I cannot recommend more highly. To make the most of your stay hire bikes from the local shop in Blairgowrie and cycle to Dunkeld along the loch. If you are lucky Marley the dog will come and say hello!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dranners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My sister & I arrived in glorious spring sunshine to be greeted by the elegant, welcoming Anne. The Bothy is lovely & so comfortable, I could have stayed for a month happily. The yoga was truly inspiring, the teaching was thoughtful, the food was great, in fact everything was perfect. The yoga studio has 360 degree views of the spectacular countryside & on our final morning, while the snow fell gently outside we carried out our asanas with a crackling fire to keep us warm. We are planning our return ASAP.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOVZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights in the Bothy during a short snowboarding weekend at Glenshee (40 minutes drive up the road). We were met by the proprietor, Anne, who welcomed us to Blackloch and made us feel completely at home. Attention to detail was the name of the game, with the slope snow forecast being placed in the basket with the (freshly baked) morning bread and extra jam being delivered for us to take home at the end of our stay. There was a lovely, tranquil atmosphere about the place and we felt as though we'd really escaped the city.

Bed: The bothy is very well appointed, with a very large (and VERY comfortable) bed, which was ideal and very much appreciated after a hard day on the slopes. There is also a mini-kitchen, with kettle and a great selection of teas and coffees available, as well as a shower room, with plenty of fluffy towels.

Breakfast: Both mornings, Anne hand-delivered a basket of freshly-baked bread to our door, as well as fresh butter, jam and marmalade. This provided us with a great breakfast to start the day, as well as being very tasty. For night-time meals, Blairgowrie is ten minutes down the road and has a decent selection of shops, cafes and restaurants available.

Overall, if you're looking to get away from it all and relax, Blackloch is a lovely place to stay. We both heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I had an absolutely wonderful stay. Initially, we had a little trouble finding the place ( completely our own fault for being too reliant on gps), but once we arrived things could not have been more perfect!
James and Anne gave us a warm welcome and helped us to settle in to our accommodation. The bothy is absolutely wonderful! Very cosy we plenty of interesting reading material and goodies to enjoy! We considered not going out that evening as it would be very easy and tempting to spend time simply relaxing and enjoying the surroundings. So much so that we will definitely be back!

In the morning Anne had left us a very welcome basket of homemade bread, still warm from the oven with homemade jam. Absolutely delicious!

If you are looking for a cosy hideaway, away from the hustle and bustle, make Blackloch your first choice. It's just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieLEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I travelled through Scotland in August 2012 on our honeymoon. Like so many others, we wished that we had booked longer at Blackloch! Anne and James were wonderful hosts. On arrival, we had a lovely private yoga session and then spent the afternoon walking around on their farm in Wellies. Anne had left fresh mint for mint tea and Blackloch-grown Strawberries and Raspberries in the kitchen. The bed was the best bed we slept in on our trip through Scotland. Breakfast consisted of home-baked bread and Blackloch scrambled eggs which were neatly presented in a little basket in the alcove early in the morning. I cannot recommend Blackloch highly enough. All the little details and added extras make a stay at this bothy an absolute treat. Blackloch is truly a sanctuary. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blairgowrie hotels
3.4 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
285 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rosebank House
Rosebank House
#1 of 18 in Blairgowrie
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glenshieling House
Glenshieling House
#2 of 18 in Blairgowrie
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
728 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackloch Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackloch Bothy

Property: Blackloch Bothy
Address: Blackloch House, Blairgowrie PH10 6RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackloch lies at the middle of our working farm in the heart of Scotland. In the old stone-built steading next to our house we welcome guests to the Bothy – a luxurious, comfortable and private space for bed and breakfast. We provide a delicious continental breakfast using local and home-made organic products to eat at your leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackloch Bothy Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing