We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Blackloch Bothy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairgowrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackloch Bothy
Ranked #8 of 15 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We spent a few days over new year in the bothy and had a wonderful time. Anne was very welcoming and looked after us so well. LOved the very thoughtful little touches like the homemade jam, bread and scrambled eggs. I'm sure that we shall be back for another visit very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 41 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have just returned from a 24 hour yoga retreat at Blackloch where my friend and I stayed in the lovely bothy opposite the house - I can't fault a thing! The Bothy can be booked independently of yoga and can be set up as either double or twin accommodation. It is a warm and spacious place with a bedroom area, a table for dining and a separate small kitchen and bathroom with shower. It is simply and tastefully decorated with lots of lovely touches like the latest edition of Vogue, homemade shortbread and lovely jams etc.
The yoga sessions take place in the 'rondel' at the top of Anne and James' unusual, contemporary home where you have a lovely view over the Loch and which boasts a real fire also. SUpper and brunch are served in the family kitchen/dining room and are always fresh and healthy in content. I'm hoping to attend Anne's planned workshop in Tuscany next year but I would definitely recommend Blackloch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Thank you to Anne and James for a lovely weekend. We loved the bothy which was idyllic and the yoga was enlightening. The food was wonderful throughout - all fresh and home cooked (and home grown!). Anne and James were extremely welcoming and it was a fantastic escape from hectic life.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I attended a 24 hour yoga retreat at Blackloch and can highly recommend it. Even though it was only 24 hours (and a good deal of that was asleep!), it felt like much longer and I came away feeling rested, relaxed and newly informed about ways to improve and enrich our lives. The food was delicious, accommodation top class and the overall experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had a wonderful relaxing weekend at Blackloch. The accommodation is first class and very well presented. It is set in wonderful scenery with views over the loch.

Ann was a wonderful host and her homemade bread, jam and titbits were delicious.

We would definately stay at Blockloch again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed for one night, looking for a relaxing stay not too far from home. We had a little difficulty finding the location, partly due to my lack of attention to the directions. Anne was very welcoming and the Bothy was very well presented. Lots of attention to detail, many welcoming home-made extras - we felt very at ease immediately. Local hotel (3 or 4 miles away) at Meikleour provided a very good meal at a reasonable cost. The accomodation was superbly comfortable and we were completely refreshed. Freshly-made bread for breakfast was a nice touch, as was the pot of jam to take with us. All in all the feel was calm and relaxing - a perfect retreat.

Room Tip: 1 room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed one week at Blackloch Bothy and I just loved it. The place itself is amazing, everything is beautifull and confortable, peacefull and perfect to have a break and to relax, to enjoy nice walk in the countryside full of lakes, trees and mountains. Anne is a wonderfull hostess, great cooker and best of all, very good yoga teatcher. I enjoyed to have daily classes with her, she teaches an authentic Yoga with great experience and love. I will definitly come back and recommand this place to my friends. Thank you for sharing so much with you guest dear Anne !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KesharParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blairgowrie hotels
1.0 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 5 in Blairgowrie
301 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glenshieling House
Glenshieling House
#1 of 15 in Blairgowrie
215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#5 of 5 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blairgowrie
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosebank House
Rosebank House
#2 of 15 in Blairgowrie
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackloch Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackloch Bothy

Address: Blackloch House, Blairgowrie PH10 6RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackloch lies at the middle of our working farm in the heart of Scotland. In the old stone-built steading next to our house we welcome guests to the Bothy – a luxurious, comfortable and private space for bed and breakfast. We provide a delicious continental breakfast using local and home-made organic products to eat at your leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackloch Bothy Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing