We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch”

Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cargills is a family run bistro sitting near the riverside in Blairgowrie. Serving coffees, home baking, snacks, meals and blackboard specials. Everything here is cooked to the highest standards using many fresh local products, offering good food and friendly service. Outdoor patio seating. Free car parking. Disabled access. Coffee's and snacks to go should you wish to enjoy the riverside seating. Takeaway and Outside catering also available.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was recommended to us by our landlady, and we were not disappointed. It is open "all day," which for an American is great news, as we tend to eat lunch at around 2 when most restaurants seem to be closed in the area. We got there around 3 pm and had the place pretty much to ourselves, although a few people came in for tea. The menu was very varied and everyone found something they enjoyed. I would recommend the macaroni and cheese -- delicious. We all had dessert, which tasted homemade! Good prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonicaMarie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CargillsBistro, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Cargill's. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. I'm pleased you noticed your dessert was homemade, we make pretty much all our menu in our own kitchen.
kind regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    105
    31
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Liked it so much, we visited THREE times in two days!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Dinner on first night - very reasonable/great value tasty "Bistro Style" menu with plenty on offer! Had a lovely cappuccino and fresh scone next morning, then to crown it all, we went back that night as there was so much to choose from on the menu! Recommend the salmon fillet on the bed of roasted vegetables!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you! I'm delighted you enjoyed Cargill's and thank you for taking the time to review. I hope we can look forward to you visiting again.
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food, inexpensive”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Excellent service, good food, inexpensive restaurant nicely situated near the river in the town centre. Good choice of food and large comfortable tables. Definitely recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christ0pher_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you! We really appreciate you taking the time to review and for recommending Cargill's. Hope we can serve you again sometime.
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would recommend for setting and service”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Maybe we are a little harsher than trip advisor norms which tend to be more glowing than critical across the board. Thought cargills food was average overall - steak a disappointment lacking seasoning. Not a massive fan of onion rings anywhere near a plate too. Vegetable sides were ok. Venison was excellent though and dessert and pudding yummy. In hindsight would have liked to try the salmon on the menu to test fish option. Staff and service genuinely friendly and warm. Really nice location. Would recommend for family lunch/dinner but not quite so enthusiastic around some of the dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickyinsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your steak was not seasoned to your liking. Our homemade onion rings are generally very popular, however, they absolutely do not need to be served with your meal.
I'm delighted you found our Venison to be excellent and our desserts/pudding yummy. It would be great if you could visit again to try the Salmon, it is also a delicious and popular dish.
It was very good of you commenting on our staff and service, you are right, they are genuine and warm and a wonderful team.
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal as usual. ”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting this restaurant for years as a family only when we have a designated driver as we are not local and enjoy a wine with dinner. Food doesn't disappoint only disappointment is also a positive as the dishes can be sold out as so popular. Our food was delicious, and like the option of having starter portions for main too. Service is great, and good selection of wines and specials. Only negative on this visit was the chefs smoking on the step outside the kitchen, this would really put me off however I saw this on leaving the restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Niccherrycola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, I'm delighted you enjoy Cargill's and hope we can welcome you on many more occasions. I can assure you, you wont witness any more smoking.
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing