We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real food prepared superbly”

Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cargills is a family run bistro sitting near the riverside in Blairgowrie. Serving coffees, home baking, snacks, meals and blackboard specials. Everything here is cooked to the highest standards using many fresh local products, offering good food and friendly service. Outdoor patio seating. Free car parking. Disabled access. Coffee's and snacks to go should you wish to enjoy the riverside seating. Takeaway and Outside catering also available.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Don't hesitate to have dinner at this restaurant. I went with two others last night and we had real food prepared superbly. I had mussels to start then a beautiful thick piece of tenderly cooked cod resting on garlic mashed potato. I visited the restaurant again this morning to sample their scones with home made raspberry jam and cream. Again, a culinary delight! A great place to visit for anyone who places quality of food at the top of their list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scotcan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CargillsBistro, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed Cargill's both in the evening and daytime. No matter what our guests choose, or when they visit, we hope to offer the very best.
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 322 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Planned to come in for lunch on Friday but not everyone could get away from work. We ended up ordering a takeaway and having a lovely meal in the office, I even got a dish which wasn't on the 'takeaway menu' as I really wanted the flatcap mushroom with spinach, sundried tomato & goats cheese. Perfect for lunch. Food travelled well. Although it is great to eat in Cargill's their takeaway came a good second best!

Thank JaneBlairgowrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CargillsBistro, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed our takeaway service and hope you will continue to use it.
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good atmosphere and polite service. they have a specials board that changes daily offering locally sourced fish and game.
Food is very good.

We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teamkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CargillsBistro, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed Cargill's and hope you do visit again.
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came to Cargill's for lunch on the 27th of March with family. Food and service very good as usual. Can't beat it for a good value yet relaxing and enjoyable meal.

Thank blairglutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CargillsBistro, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you, I'm really pleased you enjoy Cargill's. I hope you and your family will visit again soon.
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We held a family celebration in Cargills. The food was excellent and the staff made our occasion very special.
We were in again a few days later and enjoyed a most delightful homemade scone with cream and Cargills homemade jam (so good, we bought some to taking home!).
Can highly recommend Cargills and we look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you. I'm delighted you enjoyed your special occasion and our homemade Blairgowrie raspberry jam.
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing