We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely atmosphere and very nice food.”

Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cargills is a family run bistro sitting near the riverside in Blairgowrie. Serving coffees, home baking, snacks, meals and blackboard specials. Everything here is cooked to the highest standards using many fresh local products, offering good food and friendly service. Outdoor patio seating. Free car parking. Disabled access. Coffee's and snacks to go should you wish to enjoy the riverside seating. Takeaway and Outside catering also available.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had family members visiting from aberdeen and we took them to cargills for dinner on 30th dec.
The service was excellent and great food, our visitors are very fussy about service and quality when eating out and we were a little bit worried that it might not please them but we need not have worried as they thought it was brilliant in every way, well done cargills we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank weemancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you! We do try our best so it's great to hear we got it right - very much appreciated.
Lesley McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 317 of 441 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to Cargills for lunch the other day, and found that it is a lovely restaurant/bistro with great staff and attention to detail. There were 7 of us in the party (adults and teenagers) and there was something for everyone on the bistro or specials menu. Food was freshly prepared and hot when it arrived to the table. Coffee was also great and made in a proper expresso machine (for those that care, this is important !). They also serve some fantastic tablet with the coffees !

The restaurant itself is also laid out well, and is very welcoming - more like a posh living-room rather than a restaurant !

Will certainly go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I'm delighted you all enjoyed Cargill's. It will be great to see you again.
Lesley McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ate on Saturday 22nd from the Christmas menu. Starters and mains were spot on, and desserts bar one delightful. I was disappointed to find that one dessert promised meringue and white chocolate as part of the ingredients. What it failed to say was that the meringue came out of a box (shame on you serving shop bought meringue), and the whole dessert consisted of a tiny dollop of chocolate mousse on said cardboard meringue, and the rest of the plate was covered in designer squiggle. Staff weren't able to come up with an alternative dessert, and it was up to our party to suggest some alternatives, finally settling for some lovely ice cream. Home made tablet rounded off the evening nicely. What was most off putting however, was the waitress's neck covered in at least 6 love bites/hickeys. Surely someone in charge could have suggested at the very least a scarf? Call me old fashioned but it's not on, really??

2  Thank bairnbr00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
The member of staff you highlight is a lovely person (a learning teenager) who has apologised profusely and reassured me this will not happen again. A scarf is a very good idea, thank you (just in case!). I'm sorry you didn't like one of our deserts, the meringue was homemade, however, not to your liking which was a shame.
I am delighted that overall you enjoyed Cargill's and I can assure we take all your comments on board. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Lesley McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Took my daughter to Cargill's for Xmas eve dinner and really enjoyed it the food was excellent the mussels in cream and garlic aeworth special mention. The house wine is (Pinot Grigio) most drinkable and we found the staff attentive and friendly Will difinitely g again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil0akes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I'm delighted you and your daughter enjoyed Cargill's and I look forward to welcoming you back. Lesley McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Loved the atmosphere (It was snowing outside and the Christmas decorations were up as well) and the food was superb.

Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyMcDonald, Owner at Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you, I'm really pleased you enjoyed Cargills. It can be really magical with the snow falling outside.
Lesley McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cargill's Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing