We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairgowrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Freuchies Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

West Freuchies is a most welcoming bed and breakfast cottage where nothing is too much trouble for the hosts, Eileen and Oliver. We were collected from Spittal of Glenshee after a long day's walk on the Cateran Trail and welcomed with tea and home baking. Our boots and damp clothing were taken away to be dried and ready for the next day's 14 miles. The evening meal was all freshly prepared and served in a cosy dining room as was breakfast and there was an extensive menu to set us up for a day on the Trail. The bedroom was spacious, cosy and well presented. West Freuchies is just what is needed on a walking holiday, well done to Eileen and Oliver for putting so much thought into the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Oliver and Eileen were excellent hosts. They were both very welcoming and helpful. My friend and I were walking the Cateran Trail and stayed here for two nights. Oliver collected us and two other walkers from Spittal of Glenshee. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Eileen who had thoughtfully made us a welcome pot of tea and her very tasty home baking. Eileen cooked a meal for us on our first night and very good it was too. Breakfast was excellently prepared. The fruit compote and yoghurt was delicious and that was just to start with. A full Scottish breakfast together with Eileen's home made bread was a perfect start to the day. Other options were on the breakfast menu such as porridge, smoked haddock and poached egg. Oliver gave us a lift back to the Spittal of Glenshee in the morning to enable us to continue our walk. There are drying facilities at West Freuchies, so our wet outer walking attire was dry by the morning. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. The upstairs lounge area with a veranda has excellent views. West Freuchies is in a beautiful and scenic location and is an excellent base for walkers and people touring the area by car. For anyone visiting the area, I would highly recommend West Freuchies as a place to stay for two or more nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMT990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

West Freuchies is a perfect two night pit stop for those tackling the Cateran Trail. It offers cosy and comfortable accommodation which is thoughtfully presented and in immaculate condition.The owners, Oliver and Eileen, have an eye for detail, are an effective team providing transport from the Spittal of Glenshee as well as a delicious breakfast and packed lunches. If you're lucky enough to be there on a night when dinner is provided then that's an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoiraS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous place! We had a wonderful long weekend at West Freuchies...after a long drive up Eileen and Oliver welcomed us in with a pot of tea and the most amazing (not to mention award winning) homemade brownies! The room was beautiful, spacious and immaculate with breathtaking views. Breakfast was delicious and in the short time we were there we saw deer, pheasants, red squirrels, rabbits...the list goes on.

The snow was what brought us here and Glen Shee didn't disappoint, there are some great runs covering a surprisingly big area and we were so lucky to have the sunshine too! This is a beautiful part of the world and we'll definitely be back - in summer as well as with our snow boards!

Charlotte & Ross, Manchester

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is quite possibly the finest B&B I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The knowledgeable and thoughtful B&B owners Eileen and Oliver made our stay as easy and relaxing as possible. Their knowledge of the local areas amenities, best skiing and even wildlife improved the quality of our stay beyond measure and should weigh heavily on the decision of any persons considering a trip to the area. Wherever your final destination in the Cairngorms its worth any extra travel to stay here. I think its also worth mentioning that unfortunately my girlfriend spent a day in bed ill during our stay due to a persistent stomach bug she has had. Fortunately our kind hosts took great care of her and effectively nursed her back to health for which I am extremely grateful. The B&B itself is an attractive building neatly nestled amongst beautiful countryside. Its large rooms and beds are a welcoming site indeed after a long days skiing and are finished to an exceptional standard. I highly recommend this B&B and hope my family and friends will all be able to stay there soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Returned to this FABULOUS B&B again in December,food,comfort and cleanliness were first class. Eileen and Oliver were the ideal hosts very helpful and knowledgeable in local matters and the birds and red squirrels were a joy to watch.I would certainly stay here if I visit the area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Since 25 years we go to Scotland,every year.we have seen a lot of hotels and BB,but this one is the best
Best because a huge bedroom( with a king size bed)and a leaving room wih. Big TV
Best because Eileen and Oliver are lovely people
Best because the breakfast is incredible! ( if you have the chance to have a dinner Eileen is agreat cook )
For us this BBis number one in Scotland, even better than a 4 stars hotel !.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.0 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosebank House
Rosebank House
#1 of 18 in Blairgowrie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenisla Hotel
Glenisla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkton of Glenisla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gilmore House
Gilmore House
#3 of 18 in Blairgowrie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenshieling House
Glenshieling House
#2 of 18 in Blairgowrie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Freuchies Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Freuchies Bed and Breakfast

Property: West Freuchies Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glenisla, Blairgowrie PH11 8PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Freuchies is a highly acclaimed Bed & Breakfast establishment surrounded by mature grounds in spectacular Scottish countryside. Located just outside the village of Glenisla, not far from Blairgowrie, West Freuchies is close to the Perthshire/Angus border and ideally situated to access the many attractions of Tayside and the Cairngorm National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Freuchies Hotel
West Freuchies Bed And Breakfast Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing