We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday home...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kingfisher Cottage

Tucked away down a private Mews in the heart of Sandown
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tucked away down a private Mews in the heart of Sandown
Spacious open plan dining area Cosy and comfortable living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Tucked away down a private Mews in the heart of Sandown
Spacious open plan dining area
Cosy and comfortable living area
Modern well equipped kitchen.
Induction hob, fan oven and washer-dryer.
Integral dishwasher
Microwave oven
Welcome pack amply stocked with goodies
Spacious and comfortable master bedroom
Egyptian cotton bedding for extra comfort
Double bed with an overhead single bed ideal for children over six years old
Modern fully tiled bathroom with shower
Electric shower with realtime digital temperature display
Waterfall taps for a touch of luxury
Child-friendly downstairs toilet, featuring Nemo and Friends!
Courtyard dining with chimenea barbecue for those summer evenings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sandown, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Pascal H
Pau, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home...”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Second time we stayed at Kingfisher Cottage and we, once again, had an amazing time. It's like a home away from home with all the comfort you need. It's five minutes away from all commodities and the beach as well! We loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtonWickA...
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this property for our first holiday on the island in around 20 years. Wanted our 9 year old son to see how lovely the island was. The accommodation was adequate to our needs and was pretty, comfortable, and very clean. We loved the fact that it was only a few minutes from the sandy beach and town centre. We also thought it was brilliant that the owners had thought to make up a binder that had instructions on how to use all the appliances in the house. We may not have been able to work out how to cook our meals otherwise as we are only used to using a gas cooker. so thanks for that Our only gripe, which is not really the fault of the owner, was the location. We were concerned about one of the houses a couple of doors down which had a boarded up front door and the residents there often outside smoking and had loud music pumping from it. We found it a bit intimidating as we had to pass it on the way in or out of the property. Also the first night was horrific because the pub that backs onto the rental was very noisy. People shouting and singing until midnight, then some idiot on a trumpet playing until gone 1am. Luckily the evenings were quieter after that. We also found it a bit annoying that a young lad in the property next door was kicking a ball against the fence for an hour or so most days. Having said this though, we all really loved our holiday and were sorry to have to leave. By the way, our son especially loved the loo under the stairs which he said was the best looking toilet he had ever seen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thank you for your honest feedback we really appreciate it. I glad that you enjoyed your stay and were sorry to leave. The pub behind does occasionally have a late night licence which can be annoying but in general is fairly quite. I will have a word with the family next door and ask them not to kick the ball against the fence, thanks again for letting me know. I'm lead to believe that the house with the board on the front door is awaiting to have the glass replaced but I agree it does look a bit unsightly, I'm glad your son loved the under stairs loo, my 7 year old daughter also loves it too!!!! Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to the island again soon. Kind Regards Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice C
1 review
“Lovely modern house with in walking distance of many attractions.”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed our weeks stay at King fisher cottage, it was very clean and modern with a well equipped kitchen. The beds were very comfortable, so was the lovely large sofa in the lounge. There were lots of attractions with in walking distance of the house, the zoo, dinosaur museum and Sandown pier to name a few. There was even a shop 2 minutes away that demonstrated glass blowing.
The only down side was the parking as there were many double yellow lined areas and one way roads near the house, but it was mentioned in the over view of the house. Having wifi in the house kept my teenage son happy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thank-you so much for your lovely review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Kingfisher Cottage! We look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aparkin94
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 weeks and we couldn't fault the place, it was a lovely and cozy and would definitely recomend to anyone who's looking to stay on the island! Their is plenty to do for all close by, plenty of shops and pubs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Thank-you so much for the lovely review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Nick & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine D
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It was a lovely place walking distance to beach and shops, a very well equipped house, would definitely stay there again.
Only criticism is the cleaning could be a little
improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreaplu...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely, well equipped holiday cottage.”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Kingfisher Cottage. It is a modern cottage perfect for family holidays. This lovely holiday home had everything we needed to enjoy our week - good quality furniture (very comfortable sofa and beds) right through to cooking utensils and linen. Just a few minutes walk from the beach at Sandown and all of it's shops and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was modern and had comfortable furnishings
Liked least: The parking was the only problem as you could not park outside of the property and sometimes it was difficult to park on nearby roads because of parking restrictions
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely, comfortable stay at Kingfisher Cottage. It was very clean and welcoming, with lovely decor. All local amenities were within a few minutes walk and the beach just 10 mins walk away. We traveled with a three year old and he was delighted to have his own little downstairs cloakroom, decorated with Nemo wall decals. The kitchen had all utensils we needed, a good sized fridge/freezer and all other white goods. The washer/dryer was invaluable. All in all it is a lovely place to stay and made our trip to the Isle of Wight even more special.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing