We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited Isle of Wight for the 1st time in July. Hotel was very clean, lovely comfy bed, food was good. The staff were very helpful especially the lady who was our waitress for most of our stay. She was always happy & smiling what a great start to our day, we missed her when it was her day off!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hello
I am pleased our dining room start gave you a good start to your day. The dining room staff are all very friendly and conscientious to the needs of the guests that we are very proud them.
Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 353 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here with Family. Was very good, Food was home made, not frozen!! Staff very friendly, especially Sue,who served our food, nothing was a problem. The rooms were a bit dated, but spotlessly clean. Ideal location, close to all attractions and nearest bus stop just 2mins. away.

Would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patsy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks especially the one regarding Sue your waitress
she will be pleased when I tell her. If you should come again and be allocated a room with
a bath please come to see us and we will do our best to change you to a room with a shower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just returned from a National Holidays 5 day break. Had a nice hotel room at the back of the hotel, although you could hear the entertainment each night. Service was second to none, thanks to Sue especially for looking after us during our stay. Hotel was ideally located, just 2 minutes from the beach, and 2 minutes from the high street as well. Only problem was for our stay, that we only had a bath, not a shower. One of the cleaners especially brought us a hand shower, without us asking.

The day excursions were fantastic, a lovely little island indeed. Also, the hotel has free wi-fi for anyone who needed this facility, although this is only available in certain locations. For anyone wanting to attend, I would definitely recommend this hotel for the price that we paid. Would definitely come back to this beautiful hotel and very beautiful island.

Room Tip: Room 12a is above the entertainment that was on during our stay. Some rooms also will only have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamesh281197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and I will pass them on to Sue. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope we may see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a great holiday , hotel good, staff lovely, meals lovely and only 2 minutes from beach.
Lovely hard bed, hope I never hear Love is in the air again, used love it
Two complaints
Pillows too hard
4 nights, 4 singers same songs

Well worth the money

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your comments regarding the entertainers singing the same songs
it could be an idea for them to get together and discuss this and then they could try not to replicate songs. With regard to the hard pillows had you come and told us we would have had them changed for you so sorry about that. I am pleased to hear you did enjoy your holiday with us
and hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a National 5 day break. We had a spacious room at the front of the hotel, very clean, bathroom looked as if it had just been retiled. The food was amazing, all freshly cooked, and service with a smile.The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the sea front.There is a small pool and hot tub in the hotel, which was well used by some guests.Overall we had a great stay, thanks to all the staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are on a busy road, but that didn`t bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hi Jean
Thank you for your compliments and I will pass them on to the staff who I know will appreciate them. Also pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a National trip to Burlington Hotel Sandown. Had a clean spacious family room with shower. Good choice of meals served by helpful friendly staff.
We have stayed in many hotels, but the staff here are by far the friendliest we have come across.
Even all the Cinderella's (cleaners) went along with the fairy tale our grand daughter loves to play, when people are doing chores!!!!
The bed was also quite firm and a good sleep enjoyed each night.
Hope to return sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: We had room 40 and had no complaints about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks Your Granddaughter was delightful and
I know she was popular with Sue and the other staff. Sue sends her her love and hopes you
will bring her again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just got round to putting a review on for the Burlington hotel isle of wight .We stayed in room 25 from Tuesday 30 -Saturday 3rd Aug we requested a bath and we got one, We went with family and enjoyed all the meals on offer more so the breakfasts porridge followed by a full English breakfast with bread and butter and that was followed by toast and marmalade and as much tea and coffee as we wanted three course meals on a night and they were just as good. We slept very well and went back to work on Monday feeling very refreshed ,hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Number 25 just at the top of the stairs handy for picking up your paper on a morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello Rosemary
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us.
It is always good to hear our guests say they would like to return.
The staff and myself look forward to meeting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burlington Hotel is one of Sandown's most established and reputable hotels. Ensuring the highest standards of personal care and attention, making your holiday or break relaxing and comfortable. Located in the stunning town of Sandown we are proud to invite you to join us for your holiday in the Isle of Wight. The Burlington Hotel is ideal for family holidays, short breaks and coach tour holidays to the Isle of Wight. Originally built as private dwellings, they have been joined to create the largest hotel near to the town centre and seafront with its beautiful sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing