We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied in Sandown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went on a 5 day coach holiday break to The Burlington Hotel and first appearances were favourable as the decor was good on the whole. The staff met us with a welcome and the luggage was taken inside and after being given our keys with a smile and told where our room was, we climbed two small flights of stairs. There is no lift but for someone reasonably able- bodied they presented no problem and I believe no-one complained about it, but it is something to consider if you struggle with stairs and there is no ground floor room available. Our room was very cosy,clean and quite roomy with tea/coffee/chocolate tray, fresh towels and clean bed. There was a small flat screen Freeview tv, chair and ample lighting with a main light and two bedside lamps. The bathroom was clean and quite spacious with a walk in shower and there was always plenty of hot water, although the controls needed a bit of careful adjustment to get the temperature right as we both like a different heat. The evening meal was superb with a selection of starters, main, desert - and cheese and biscuits with tea or coffee. This came a pleasant surprise as so often they are simply a substitute for a dessert if there isn't one you like. Service was excellent by the staff who always made sure your meal was served quickly and if anything was wrong they corrected it immediately. Our waitress Sally was particularly helpful and couldn't do enough for us, as well as being easy to talk to, making the mealtimes nice and relaxing. After what must be said wasn't a too comfortable night's sleep due to the pillows being a bit hard and flat for me (although if I'd asked, I dare say replacements would have been provided, but from then on I used a travel pillow as well) and the heating switching on early with a series of loudish bangs which woke me each morning. I think other guests had the same trouble as they were up and about early - and we could hear them! Breakfast was as good as the evening meal with cereal, fruit juice or porridge, a choice of cooked breakfast (kippers could be ordered each morning as long as you didn't mind a small wait which was nice), plenty of toast and marmalade, tea and coffee. Again this was all served with efficiency and friendliness by Sally and the other staff so that the food was always hot and appetizing and we all left the tables fully fed. There was entertainment each evening but we chose to relax or go for a walk until the last night which was the standard bingo followed by a quite good singer/comedian so we enjoyed that night. We could also have taken advantage of the small indoor pool for a small fee. On the whole we enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely visit again as the friendliness and efficiency of the staff along with the high standard of food made it a very enjoyable break and being close to the sea-front and town centre (though not too close ) was handy. I would have given a 5 rating but the pillows, noisy heating and the fact that other guests could be heard - tv's, walking, talking etc. let it down for me. Somethings have to be put up with but on this occasion it did take the shine off what was otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SalopLadandLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 369 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

just returned friday on a johnsons coach trip from notts to tis hotel on a 5 day break, not one bad word to be said of the whole trip, the coach driver dave was great a fountain of knowledge about the island took us on 3 outings which covered 6 places around the island of whitch shanklin was my favourite the hotel was the best all the staff were pleasent and polite willing to help with all things the food was lovely hot and a big selection also the waiting on at the tables was spot on and well organised the two that served us were magda and matt both brilliant also made a change to see and talk to the manageress usually management tend to be invisibe she was very pleasent and helpfull sorry cannot remember her name m not too good with names,our daughter went with us she realy enjoyed it had a cruise around the solent and portsmouth docks as well as the trips arund the island would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottsArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Burlington with Edwards Coaches Really nice hotel, food very good with plenty to choose from off the menu, bedrooms very clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful (especially Sue who waited on our table in the restaurant - lovely lady).

Hotel was really warm and inviting especially as it was February and 'rather' chilly outside. The £1 BAR WAS FANTASTIC and a big help.

The only down side was the entertainment, little bit slow, but all in all very enjoyable.
The whole hotel made us feel very welcome and we would go again.

Room Tip: Room 32 or 33 warm and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ybarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

what a fantastic christmas my friend, daugter, my dog harley and i had. not knowing what to expect we were very pleased with our stay. this hotel pulled out all the stops to make your stay a superb experience. the room was very comfortable. the food absolutely fabulous (too much) the staff wonderful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel at home by lots of sweets, fruit and goodies always avaliable. We are local and will definately use the hotel throuout the year and hopefully stay again next year. thank you to all at The Burlington

Room Tip: well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

well i have no idea where these people who have stayed at this hotel there was nothing wrong with the the rooms they where well equipment with the appropriated things for example plenty of toilet roll, soap, as soon as we arrived our cases where brought to our room the room was well equipment with heating the staff couldn't do enough for us friendly and helpful.
the meals well where do i start breakfast consisted of a 3 course, lunch was a 3 course meal and everyday at 4.30pm you had tea,coffee and biscuits,cake.
your evening meal consisted of a 5 course meal and a platter of sandwiches aand we will be going back e rolls put at around 10.30pm in the foyer you would have a platter of every fruit you could think of and bowls of chocolates and nuts .
there was nothing wrong with this hotel what so ever we went with Edwards coaches and we will be going back there again in the summer with Edwards coaches so i really have no idea why this hotel was dragged down so much

Room Tip: the room we stayed in was ground floor and right near the front very peaceful and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loveheart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

just returned from the burlington hotel sandown for turkey & tinsel. went with GBTours for 5 days. on arrival we booked in and within 10 mins our suitcases were in our room. the room (56) was warm and comfortable. before the evening meal we were given a sherry reception & the evening meal was a good choice and hot. We were served quickly and nothing was to much trouble. The evening entertainment was good and bar prices were reasonable. What was nice that the staff at the hotel had not forgotten us from our last visit, hence my heading home from home. Having read some of the other reviews I cant understand what some people want. I would not change a thing at the Burlington Hotel. Keep up the good work Ellen & staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tom194764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just returned from staying at the Burlington having had a lovely time. The staff turned themselves inside out to be helpful and the service was exceptional. The choice of food was also excellent in a very pleasant dining room. As this is an Edwardian hotel the decorations were in keeping with the period property . The heating was on throughout the corridor areas which was very good considering the cost . We met lovely people to share our mealtimes with which was nice in fact we are planning on meeting up there again. Anyone who complains about food and other things are just too hard to please. Great time had by all!

Maggi & Peter Cooke

Room Tip: Room on first floor at the front was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggi70309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
462 reviews
2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#35 of 51 in Shanklin
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#19 of 29 in Sandown
6 reviews
0 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: $53 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burlington Hotel is one of Sandown's most established and reputable hotels. Ensuring the highest standards of personal care and attention, making your holiday or break relaxing and comfortable. Located in the stunning town of Sandown we are proud to invite you to join us for your holiday in the Isle of Wight. The Burlington Hotel is ideal for family holidays, short breaks and coach tour holidays to the Isle of Wight. Originally built as private dwellings, they have been joined to create the largest hotel near to the town centre and seafront with its beautiful sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing