We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb family friendly hotel”
Review of St Michaels Hotel

St Michaels Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Michaels Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have recently stayed at this great family friendly Hotel whilst working away,The owners Neil and Amanda are great hosts and the food is superb.I stayed here for 2 weeks and it is a great location and very close proximity to the shops and beach.The Hotel is very clean and comfortable and great value for money.I will be bringing my family here later this year.
Graham

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to St Michaels and once again we were greeted like old friends and looked after like welcome guests.
It is the the relaxed family atmosphere and great hospitality that brings us back to Neil and Amanda each year, as it does the many others that we have met during our time there.
The hotel is perfectly located just off the High street and a short walk from the glorious Sandown beach, but still far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle of the town.
Neil tries to ensure that everyone is catered for and offers a good choice of evening meal and a great breakfast to set you up for the day. The comfortable lounge and very reasonably priced bar is great for relaxing in the evening and chatting about the days activities.
The Isle of Wight is a wonderful place to visit and St Michaels a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilson3Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Have stayed here several times and have always been made welcome. Comfortable rooms,excellent food with a good selection. Extremely friendly atmosphere. Ideal for family holidays as children are more than welcome.I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
I'm looking forward to meeting Neil and Amanda again next year.
Roy Dart

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I recently went there with my mother and daughter, and from the time we arrived they really did make us feel with in a few short mins so at ease, like we'd known them all our lives, from then on in what ever we wanted at whatever time of day their door was always open, nothing was too much trouble. It was the first time we had stayed with them, but from that moment we all new we wouldn't need to look elsewhere when planning a holiday ever again, The rooms were all tastefully decorated and very clean and looked after, spacious but also got the right amount of clothing room needed for your stay, Also the reception held lots of leaflets and documentation, for whatever you were thinking of spending the day doing to help point you in the right direction.
We loved the fact the beach was literally only a stones throw away from the hotels front door, about 5mins walk away. The entertainment of the island itself is so varied for all tastes and to suit all ages.
The meals at the Hotel are all home cooked and quite delicious, Neil I've heard recently has been in the chef trade at some time, it sure shows well. Agian a very mixed menu for all the meals, carefully planned.
All in all this is where we will be coming back to again and again. Good on you Amanda and Neil.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpongeBob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Recently stayed at St Michael's and had a brilliant time - owners, Amanda and Neil, gave us advice on where to go and what to do. Really comfortable accommodation with a very filling breakfast and able to relax in the evening in their bar. The hotel is really close to the main street in Sandown and a short walk to the beach - Sandown feels like 'old english holidays' (makes you want to get the bucket and spade out!!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonSarah36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

A great discovery! Neil and Amanda are friendly, hospitable, helpful and respectful of your space, and the hotel is PERFECTLY located: quiet and peaceful, just a few minutes walk from all the action of the pier, the beach, restuarants and shops. Fresh, clean rooms; warm, inviting lounge room; and a great breakfast :-)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FiVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

After years of visiting the island, my wife and I have spent the last four visits, a total of 8 weeks, with Neil and Amanda at St. Michaels . The hotel is lovely and clean with plenty of space and a nice relaxed atmosphere. It’s in a perfect and very pleasant location, with private parking at the front of the hotel and just 5 minutes walk to the beach. We see the same faces there each year, so they can’t be doing much wrong. When we arrive there’s always a warm welcome with coffee ,tea and biscuits. The bedrooms have always been bright clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities plus television, hair dryer, and a good easy to regulate shower. Breakfast sets us up for the day, cereals, juice or grapefruit, followed by full English and plenty of it ( superb fried bread ) follow by toast. The bar opens about one hour before the evening meal, it’s not for me but plenty of people seem to enjoy a drink before dinner. We wait in the lounge which is warm and friendly, and watch TV until dinner is served. With a good choice throughout the menu the evening meal is always delicious and well presented in ample portions, Neil is definitely a quality chef. The day after we arrived our daughter-in-law gave birth to a lovely little girl, Chloe . Using the Hotel laptop, which is available to everyone, and Neil’s expertise, we were able to view lots of photos of her over the internet. Most evenings we spend some time in the bar where the drinks are very reasonably priced. It’s a really friendly atmosphere where the days outings are usually discussed. If your interested in course fishing the island is a perfect place and Neil, who’s a competent angler, will tell you where to go and how to bag 100lb. of carp, easily. We’re already booked in for next year, many thanks to Neil and Amanda for some lovely memories.
John and Jean…. Sheffield

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishermanwithwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michaels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michaels Hotel

Address: 33 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: $28 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run B&B in Sandown. Off Street Parking and a few minutes walk to the Beach. A relaxed place to stay where your not just a Room number. We like to think that we go that little bit extra to make your stay relaxed and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Michaels Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing