We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th visit there”
Review of Marina Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4th visit there”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just got back from a visit to Sandown and the Marina Bay Hotel. This was our 4th visit in as many years, and once again clean rooms, comfortable beds, decent food and good service. We visited during some of the worst weather 10th - 14th Feb but the hotel was warm and welcoming. Extra blankets and an electric heater in our room. The chocolate heart on everyone's plate at breakfast was a nice touch on Valentines day.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We aware so pleased to see you again. Thanks for your kind comments and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us again. We are glad you enjoyed the valentines chocolate treat.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    112
    43
    21
    19
See reviews for
49
110
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is very good value for money.On a holiday with Just Go Coach Holidays this was the chosen hotel and it was excellent in every way.The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and efficient.The menu was basic but well cooked and plenty on the plate.The bedrooms were very comfortable and cleaned every day.My wife and I could find no faults and would definitely return on another holiday on the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chjendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for your writing a review.

We are pleased to hear you had a fab stay and would return again.
Personally I don't think the menu is basic when we are offering a couple of starter choices, two hot choices and salad for mains and hot pudding, cold pudding, cheese and biscuits and Icecream for desserts all followed by a tea/coffee. We have had a look at other hotels menus for this time of year and the price customers pay and feel our menu is very reasonable.
We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a 'Just Go' 4 night trip to the Isle of Wight. We were placed in the Marina Bay Hotel, Sandown, which we found to be very clean, food tasty, adequate
and well presented, ( don't expect 4 star dining at price paid), with exceptional fast service by a wonderfully attentive waiting staff.
My only problem was that we were in Room 32 -a family room on the ground floor.Sadly there is no outside window in this room - one curtained glass partition, high on the wall looks into the Restaurant and is, therefore, internal and a very small window with opaque glass is on the building external wall, but only about12 - 18 inches away from the wall of the nextdoor Hotel, which was obviously built later, practically butt-up to ours. I have never stayed in a Hotel where there is no natural light before and will not again. Light and air flow are an important necessity to life. Also, when the evening cabaret started, the singer could have been in the room with us, as it was so loud we could hear every word. The partition between the room and the restaurant requires , at least, triple glazing!
Every other aspect of the hotel is fine and probably deserving of a higher rating particularly the wonderful staff.
I recommend the hotel, but avoid Room 32!
Chris C

Room Tip: If offered Room 32 ask for a change, otherwise it will spoil your experience of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for taking time to write a review.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and found our hotel clean.
You mentioned you weren't happy with your room, firstly you requested a ground floor room, secondly you didn't mention you weren't happy with your room upon arriving. We couldn't obviously control how far away the hotel next door has been built to our wall. Again you didn't mention the entertainer bothered you the next morning or that evening, probably as they had finished singing about 11pm and not early hours of the morning.
We would have been more than happy to shown you a different room had you informed us. Without knowing there's nothing we could have done. You resulted a ground floor room and this is what we provided. (One with a brand new bathroom fitted too). We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I would like to start with the good points. Nice room over looking the sea, very pleasant staff, great location as I visit the Isle of Wight several times a year. Bad points towels are only changed weekly, very limited choice of breakfast and only orange juice as the main juice.Also please don't touch the halogen small silver spot lights in room 41 fitted to the head board. I tried to move the spival outer casing head to move them for reading. As the outer casing is extremely hot and I ended up with two burnt fingers. But all in all a very good budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkkellykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights, and it was such a lovely stay. The hotel was family run, and very friendly staff, who showed us to our room. The hotel room was lovely and roomy, with extra blankets, crisp white towels, and we got given a heater on the first day for the chilly winter nights. Not to mention the lovely sea view we had.
The service was lovely - we had fresh condiments every day - and they made our bed every day, and very politely folded my partners clothes and put them on his bag. (im sorry he was so messy!!)
The food in the morning was lovely - a big choice of food, and accomodating if you are quite fussy like myself. Well cooked, and just what we needed.
All in all a very lovely stay, recommended for the older generation, but we had a lovely time, and just what you need. We will definitely be going back, and my parents are now also interested in staying. Thank you so much Marina Bay, from Chloe and Ashley.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrived 22nd November very helpful showed us to our room beautiful view looking out at the sea. Breakfast was lovely again staff very helpful and tentative advised on places to eat and see. Had dinner there the Saturday night was a lovely Christmas dinner. Checked out 24th again staff brilliant. Our room was clean tidy plenty of tea and coffee in the room lovely shower to. Although would say this hotel is more for the older generation it was perfect for us. Will be heading back next year for another stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

my wife and I stayed at the marina from 27 th oct must say we had most enjoyable stay
food was excellent staff very friendly and helpful nice big bedroom
what more could you ask and the weather was good to special thanks to bobs coaches from
Clacton who we came with picked up and dropped at front door cant get better service than that

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel

Property: Marina Bay Hotel
Address: 17 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing