We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Night in Dismay - DO NOT STAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandown Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandown Manor
Ranked #5 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Night in Dismay - DO NOT STAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

After browsing online, we chose Sandown Manor as it looked so luxurious and welcoming. The reality was so different from the website. Upon arrival on wet afternoon, we could not park as there was an area of flooding. There was overflowing wheelie bins in full view with dust bin bags on the floor which would encourage vermin. On entering the reception area we were greeted with cat hair on the floor and a cat on the reception desk. The proprietor was extremely welcoming and helpful as she showed us the facilities and our room. Once in our room, we were disappointed the room was so basic and a lack of space. The bathroom was dirty and the shower facility was nonexistent as the shower ran off the bath taps, which was used a hair washing facility, which could not be used by yourself, you had to have assistance from someone stood on the toilet seat. During the night I went to the toilet and when I came to flush the handle came away. Also at 10:45 pm there were screaming and shouting outside of my window. In the morning when I woke up, I was greeted by the sight of a donkey with no grass, and ducks swimming over the pool. This means that they do not cover the pool overnight and literally anything could be in that pool. The breakfast was standard, though I had to pick over the cutlery to find some I was prepared to use as it was not entirely clean.
After this we decided to find accommodation elsewhere, the proprietors did not seem worried and just let us go with no questioning. This is not a hotel or B and B it is a Youth Hostel/ School trip accommodation that needs improving and modernising drastically.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandownUk, Owner at Sandown Manor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Firstly, nowhere on our website do we say we are "luxurious", we are, however, a very friendly, welcoming B & B offering a "home from home" atmosphere and not one of our photographs are taken professionally/edited - they are all our personal photos. Bin bags are only ever on the floor on rubbish collection days and are never left outside over night. There probably was a cat at reception, it would have been Felix who is a member of our family and the majority of our guests love him and a lot of them would be very disappointed if he was not there to welcome them back.. Our website clearly states the animals we have. I accept the rooms are not luxurious but with all our other facilities offered, we feel our prices still offer extremely good value for your stay. With regards to having assistance from someone standing on the toilet seat to use the shower is ridiculous! It is quite clearly a shower attachment for washing hair in the bath (again as clearly stated on our website) and is not a stand up shower! I apologised for the fact that the toilet handle came off in the night which obviously shouldn't have happened and was replaced first thing in the morning when you advised us. Our donkey, Rosie, having no grass is quite untrue. She has a whole paddock full of grass and also a hard standing area with her stable and food, which is probably where you saw her. Unfortunately, we cannot stop wild ducks flying over our pool early in the morning before anyone is around but the pool is cleaned every morning and water quality tested daily. It is true that we were not at all worried when you decided to find accommodation elsewhere, you were so rude to me in the morning, we were pleased you would not be staying in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    73
    16
    20
    9
See reviews for
132
75
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived for a one night stay on Monday 2nd Sept. The B&B manager Debbie checked us in. She was extremely friendly and helpful. She moved us to a larger bedroom free of charge as she had one available. She showed us around and made us feel very welcome. The only down side was that the people above us where quite noisy which kept us up late, with two very small children, it wasn't great! Thankfully it didn't last two long but we could hear the male in the room above snoring! This however did not put us off our stay and we will return again as the facilities were very good. Outside pool, swing and animals made the children love being there. The food and service was excellent.

Room Tip: When we return, we will ask for a room upstairs as being downstairs meant we could hear everything a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights, the room was suitable for us, though a tad old, the mattress needs updating, the breakfast was lovely, owners friendly and very convenient for beach, zoo and town, very family orientated. Our two remarks which we hope the owners will take onboard are the chickens everywhere, that poo on the ground when we had a young child running around bare footed to go on the trampoline, not completely hygienic. Also the honesty bar, though a good idea, it was expensive. There was a fridge in the lounge for guests, but you could not keep alcohol in this, so honesty bar was used. I took two coffees and after setting them up, found that there was no boiling water in the coffee machine and a note that stated, 'If no boiling water, use kettle in your room', to which I did, but had to pay £1.50 each for the privilege of the hassle of doing so myself, I could have just used the free coffee in the room! They do have a lot to keep the children occupied, the pool is lovely, great decking and views, we had a lovely holiday and we would go back, but not at the cost of £77 for a night I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchid54Bistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked our wedding at Sandown Manor as it was near to the church and has amazing views over Sandown and Shanklin Bay. The owners were attentive to every detail in both the planning and the organisation of the event. The wedding reception went to plan and Debbie and Alain even catered for two unexpected guests! The room was comfortable and I enjoyed my bath at the end of a long but enjoyable day. The younger guests in the party loved the animals and games and still talk about the weekend on the Isle of WIght. The food was excellent and everyone enjoyed Alain's cooked breakfast but also the continental breakfast on the wedding day. My parents were overjoyed at the suitability of this venue for our needs and Debbie and Alain were the 'icing on the cake' due to their hospitality and organisation. Nothing was too much trouble. Very happy memories and a very special weekend for all involved. Lynda Christine Cave (nee Haughton).

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LyndaCCave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the 4th year we have stayed here, during the scooter weekend. Debbie and her husband are such a lovely couple, very warm and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, always there to help. Breakfast is very good. All that we need for the long weekend, looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for one night in August but were very disappointed. The room was clean but very basic and dated. The bathroom suite was very old fashioned, the bed was very uncomfortable and the TV didn't work. It is a very friendly, family orientated place and the breakfast was good but the room was over priced for what it was. The children's facilities were very old, the trampoline didn't have a safety net and they advertise a bouncy castle on their website but there wasn't one. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandownUk, Owner at Sandown Manor, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We did have a safety net on the trampoline but to be honest it ended up being more dangerous as children would jump and throw themselves against the netting which posed a larger health and safety risk. We do say all children need to be supervised in the play area. With regards to the bouncy castle - this was meant to be for 5 year olds and under, however, unsupervised children over this age were using it and have broken 2 this year. We will replace it again but it does take a while to order. We are also aware that our bathrooms need updating but feel our prices take this into account and are very fair considering all the other facilities included, especially if you book through our direct website with discounts. All our t.v.'s do work - they are now all digital so the instructions placed in the rooms need to be followed - we would have shown you if you had asked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A very warm friendly place , our room was basic but all we needed , as we literally were out all day, located 5 mins from beach and 10 mins from pier and water sports etc , very family friendly hotel , with a large selection of pets , donkey cats chickens rabbits etc , nice clean pool and an excellent breakfast , the honesty bar is a great idea , just help yourself , jot in a book and they add it to bill at the end , reasonable prices as well , cheaper than pubs etc ! We will be returning for sure as our 7 yr old girl has told us already !! Had a fab time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miltsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Manor

Property: Sandown Manor
Address: Yaverland Road, Sandown PO36 8QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandown Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run B & B with panoramic views over Sandown Bay. Outdoor Pool, Own Car Park, Shetland Pony, Lambs, Guinea Pigs and rabbits. Childrens play area with trampoline, swings and slide. All rooms en-suite. 5 minutes walk to beach, zoo, cliff walks and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandown Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandown Manor Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing