We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scooter weekend”
Review of Sandown Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandown Manor
Ranked #7 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the 4th year we have stayed here, during the scooter weekend. Debbie and her husband are such a lovely couple, very warm and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, always there to help. Breakfast is very good. All that we need for the long weekend, looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for one night in August but were very disappointed. The room was clean but very basic and dated. The bathroom suite was very old fashioned, the bed was very uncomfortable and the TV didn't work. It is a very friendly, family orientated place and the breakfast was good but the room was over priced for what it was. The children's facilities were very old, the trampoline didn't have a safety net and they advertise a bouncy castle on their website but there wasn't one. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandownUk, Owner at Sandown Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We did have a safety net on the trampoline but to be honest it ended up being more dangerous as children would jump and throw themselves against the netting which posed a larger health and safety risk. We do say all children need to be supervised in the play area. With regards to the bouncy castle - this was meant to be for 5 year olds and under, however, unsupervised children over this age were using it and have broken 2 this year. We will replace it again but it does take a while to order. We are also aware that our bathrooms need updating but feel our prices take this into account and are very fair considering all the other facilities included, especially if you book through our direct website with discounts. All our t.v.'s do work - they are now all digital so the instructions placed in the rooms need to be followed - we would have shown you if you had asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A very warm friendly place , our room was basic but all we needed , as we literally were out all day, located 5 mins from beach and 10 mins from pier and water sports etc , very family friendly hotel , with a large selection of pets , donkey cats chickens rabbits etc , nice clean pool and an excellent breakfast , the honesty bar is a great idea , just help yourself , jot in a book and they add it to bill at the end , reasonable prices as well , cheaper than pubs etc ! We will be returning for sure as our 7 yr old girl has told us already !! Had a fab time

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miltsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel, and just had to write a review. This hotel, is so family friendly, and has learnt that if the kids are happy, the parents are very happy.
Loads for my daughter to do, table tennis, table football, lounge for guests with toys for the kids to play with. Outside a large swimming pool, animal petting area, swing-ball, trampoline, and slide and swings.
My daughter was in heaven, so much for her to do while we were at the hotel. The honesty bar was something I have never encountered, but what a great idea, 24 hours as well.
The breakfast was awesome, and the staff both friendly and easy to talk to, was just me and my daughter that went on this break, and I booked it all very last minute, to try and get the best deal possible, as on a budget. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff and by other people staying at the hotel.
Was just a 10 min walk to the beach, and about 20 min's walk to sandown itself, found a really great park which my daughter absolutely loved...was 3 parks in one, with crazy golf too, great fun.
We didn't take the car, we just used the buses which were very efficient, drivers all very helpful indeed too.
We didn't want to come home, and will definitely be coming back to this hotel when we next come back to the Isle of Wight :) fantastic...thanks to all the staff at Sandown Manor :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixx38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I don’t often travel with children but this time we had my friend’s nearly 4 year old daughter with us and Sandown Manor was a perfect place for our stay. She absolutely loved it there and thought we were staying at someone’s home rather than in the hotel.

There is a play room full of toys for kids to play with. There is ping pong table, tv, video games, board games etc and there is plenty of room outside for the kids to run around and play. There is also a trampoline, swing, slide and fenced off swimming pool. They have a pony, ducks, bunnies, cats etc for kids to pet. No wonder this place is popular with families with children!

There is a small fridge for guests to keep they food/drinks cold and they provide take away menus to order evening meals from and plates and cutlery to eat. We loved the honesty bar from where guests could purchase drinks and small snack from for reasonable price ;)

Our room was a bit small, I think it was called small family room, with bunk bed and double bed but it was adequate for the little time we spent there.

Owners were friendly and helpful, there is a bus stop close by for those travelling without a car and its located within walking distance away from Sandown. Breakfast was filling and there was lot to choose from but cooked breakfast took too long for my liking.

All in all we truly enjoyed our stay however, I most likely would not stay there if I was travelling alone or with adults only. But if I was to go back IOW with children I would most definitely stay again at Sandown Manor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finn-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Needed a dog friendly B&B on IoW and this was ideal. Five mins walk from the huge Sandown Beach that is dog friendly all year, easy access to the coastal path, and about a 15-20 min walk into town to eat at one of the many doggie friendly pubs.

Very welcoming staff who even took the time to get to know the dog and didn’t mind when she shed sand all over the room despite our best efforts to remove it! Our room had fab sea views and the farm/ decking area provided a lovely and peaceful setting to have a glass of wine after a hard days walking. Even had the unexpected bonus of hearing the zoo’s lions roar each evening at sun down – a bit scary f you were doing a 3am doggie wee run in the country lane by the B&B, but those with imaginations could imagine they were on deep safari!

Breakfast was both huge and well cooked and set up us nicely each day.

We’ll def be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was my third stay at Sandown Manor but my first with the children with me. I cannot stress enough how lovely the owners are and how accomodating they are and how nothing is too much trouble! Breakfast was lovely as usual and the room was clean and welcoming. Spent time in the pool this year as great weather very happy stay for me and my family and we will be going back for more next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie2222_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Manor

Address: Yaverland Road, Sandown PO36 8QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: $77 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandown Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run B & B with panoramic views over Sandown Bay. Outdoor Pool, Own Car Park, Shetland Pony, Lambs, Guinea Pigs and rabbits. Childrens play area with trampoline, swings and slide. All rooms en-suite. 5 minutes walk to beach, zoo, cliff walks and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandown Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandown Manor Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing