We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with kids”
Review of Sandown Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandown Manor
Ranked #6 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I don’t often travel with children but this time we had my friend’s nearly 4 year old daughter with us and Sandown Manor was a perfect place for our stay. She absolutely loved it there and thought we were staying at someone’s home rather than in the hotel.

There is a play room full of toys for kids to play with. There is ping pong table, tv, video games, board games etc and there is plenty of room outside for the kids to run around and play. There is also a trampoline, swing, slide and fenced off swimming pool. They have a pony, ducks, bunnies, cats etc for kids to pet. No wonder this place is popular with families with children!

There is a small fridge for guests to keep they food/drinks cold and they provide take away menus to order evening meals from and plates and cutlery to eat. We loved the honesty bar from where guests could purchase drinks and small snack from for reasonable price ;)

Our room was a bit small, I think it was called small family room, with bunk bed and double bed but it was adequate for the little time we spent there.

Owners were friendly and helpful, there is a bus stop close by for those travelling without a car and its located within walking distance away from Sandown. Breakfast was filling and there was lot to choose from but cooked breakfast took too long for my liking.

All in all we truly enjoyed our stay however, I most likely would not stay there if I was travelling alone or with adults only. But if I was to go back IOW with children I would most definitely stay again at Sandown Manor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finn-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Sandown Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 248 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Needed a dog friendly B&B on IoW and this was ideal. Five mins walk from the huge Sandown Beach that is dog friendly all year, easy access to the coastal path, and about a 15-20 min walk into town to eat at one of the many doggie friendly pubs.

Very welcoming staff who even took the time to get to know the dog and didn’t mind when she shed sand all over the room despite our best efforts to remove it! Our room had fab sea views and the farm/ decking area provided a lovely and peaceful setting to have a glass of wine after a hard days walking. Even had the unexpected bonus of hearing the zoo’s lions roar each evening at sun down – a bit scary f you were doing a 3am doggie wee run in the country lane by the B&B, but those with imaginations could imagine they were on deep safari!

Breakfast was both huge and well cooked and set up us nicely each day.

We’ll def be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was my third stay at Sandown Manor but my first with the children with me. I cannot stress enough how lovely the owners are and how accomodating they are and how nothing is too much trouble! Breakfast was lovely as usual and the room was clean and welcoming. Spent time in the pool this year as great weather very happy stay for me and my family and we will be going back for more next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie2222_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B & B while at the Isle of Wight. The rooms were clean and comfortable and equipped with tea/coffee makings. The facilities were welcoming and the service was genuinely friendly. Morning tea or a glass of wine in the evening by the pool, overlooking the English channel was a nice treat. The location makes it easy to get to any part of the island on public transportation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerJazz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just returned from another fantastic break at the Sandown Manor. Been in the pool (1st time!) and it was gorgeous. Everything was exactly as before, service, food etc. Looking forward to going back next year!

Room Tip: Get a seaview room, its worth it for the view alone.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loulindy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for 5 days whilst working on the Isle of Wight, you will be more than pleased with this place the staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, the food is superb!
I shall return on a social basis to this wonderful Hotel.
Thanks very much. Lee :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Returned yesterday from a great fantastic minute weekend trip with my 2yr old son. Debbie was great in sorting out both my room booking and a ferry with only 24hrs to go! From the minute we walked into Sandown Manor we felt welcomed, comfortable and at home.

Our small Double Seaview room was compact, but certainly had enough room and was spotless and comfortable. The view was great over the sea too. Breakfast in the dining room overlooking the sea was a nice way to start the day and it was nice to have Mickey Mouse bowls, cups and kids cutlery so Harry could enjoy his sausage beans and toast.

In the evenings, the honesty bar was a great idea and shows how nice and trusting Debbie and Alain are as were the selection of toys and games in the lounge where Harry enjoyed playing and made a little friend on our first evening.

Some of Sandown Manor does need a little TLC, but I found that to be part of it's charm. I saw from the info folder that the building will be repainted this year, but being in such an exposed position a little bit of "weathering" is to be expected. I'd prefer to call the whole place "traditional" and very welcoming. It really felt like a home from home and provided more than I expected when I first booked.

I enjoyed myself greatly and most importantly so did Harry, who loved Rosie the Donkey, Poppy the cat and the baby ducks. Anyone with children who want comfortable, welcoming, home from home accomodation should definately consider Sandown Manor. I will certainly return and cannot commend Debbie and Alain enough on what they have to offer.

Thanks for a great weekend!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilAEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Manor

Address: Yaverland Road, Sandown PO36 8QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: $86 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandown Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run B & B with panoramic views over Sandown Bay. Outdoor Pool, Own Car Park, Shetland Pony, Lambs, Guinea Pigs and rabbits. Childrens play area with trampoline, swings and slide. All rooms en-suite. 5 minutes walk to beach, zoo, cliff walks and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandown Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandown Manor Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing