We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkbury Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

we were a party of four pensioners staying at this hotel for long weekend but wish we had booked longer, the two young ladies that run this hotel couldn't do enough for us and always with a smile, we noticed that they were on there feet from very early morning till very late at night, we would stay up till late and the manager would keep checking to see if we wanted anything ,and if so would bring it to us ,
the hotel was also cleaned by the manager, ( i have not seen this done in other hotels that we have stayed in, ) over all it was clean friendly, and warm not just from the heating but from the everlasting smiles from the wonderful staff. we will defiantly be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Joanna and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    39
    24
    31
See reviews for
42
93
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a great stay over new year with Grand UK holidays coach company. The staff were very welcoming, hard working (there were never enough of them). Any little problems were easily recitified by the extremely busy manager even after midnight in one instance.

Our room was huge,room 2, with its own window seat looking over the gardens. We had a bath and a shower in the bathroom. The decor was old and paintwork tired but all was clean.

Food was plentiful,hot and, apart from one rather older waiter, all the staff were quick and efficient. The entertainment was, as you would expect from a small establishment, homely and merry. The tour guide formed the early evening entertainment with amusing game show type fayre.

I would go to this hotel for any occasion no matter what the season. I love the friendly, family atmosphere. Particular mention should go to the young female manager, from Poland and the cheeky and nice female deputy manager Nicky, who couldn't do enough for everyone.

Please let them know what a happy holiday they made for us.

Room Tip: ground floor room 2 is huge and first floor rooms above room 2 were also huge according to guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay at the Parkbury Hotel, Sandown.

I was very pleased to read your very kind comments and have passed these on to Joanne and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just before I went on this holiday I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and was dreading it. However it seems the hotel management had taken these criticisms on board and were addressing the problem. Our room was clean and tidy, the curtains were obviously new. The staff were extremely polite and hardworking, with nothing being too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were very good, but the evening meals left a lot to be desired and the portions very small. The main problem with this hotel is the lack of investment by Grand UK in maintaining it, Everyrthing is in place to make this an excellent venue just let down by the apathy of head office.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay at the Parkbury Hotel, Sandown.

I was pleased to read your comments and have passed these on to Joanna and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading throughout our hotel group, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this. We do have an ongoing maintenance programme across our group and are looking into making improvements where we do fall short, however as I am sure you can appreciate, this is a lengthy process.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we do hope that you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived at the Parkbury on Monday 25th March,for 3 nights. We found the hotel very pleasant and the staff very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable, although the shower was a bit temperamental! The cooked breakfasts were lovely, and plenty of it. A lovely old building that just needs a bit of tlc as decor is looking a bit tired. Parking spaces are very tight, especially if your last in. Some of the big gardens could be freed up to make more room for parking.

Room Tip: we got a good deal on Laterooms.com for 3 night package bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emjfalkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay at the Parkbury Hotel, Sandown.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Joanne and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas of the hotel which need upgrading however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just had a lovely short break at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and reasonably spacious and the bed was comfortable. The food was quite good although sometimes only just warm. All round a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review

It was pleasing to read your review. I will pass on your comments to my general manager and team who will be also pleased to read your coments.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

just back from singles holiday at ParkburyHotel so much history there / what a lovely time we had and the staff were just wonderful so helpful and friendly what fun we had , my room was lovely and so warm and hot water in my lovely bath , cant wait to go back again hope everyone else on the trip enjoyed it as much as me thank you allxx

Room Tip: speak to staff very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jasmin797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay at the Parkbury Hotel, Sandown.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Joanne and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

i stayed at this hotel with a coach trip, on arrival the staff couldnt have been more welcoming. i had what was classed as a double room but it was very small. and very hot the radiator was broken and when i tried to change it. it leaked. so in feb i had to have the window wide open . there were hairs all over the headboard.and no hot water. when reporting this was told the water would be on by the end of the day...which it was.but the trickle that came out of the shower it was hardly worth it.. my radiator was also fixed but in a way that i had no heating at all.also after the second day ther seem to be a musty smell.on a good note if you were only looking for good food then this is the hotel for you.i couldnt fault any of the five dinners i had ,all through my stay the staff were freindly but i felt i couldnt spend all my time complaing.i hope this report helps

Room Tip: i heard the rooms on the ground floor were better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maggoo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

I was sorry to read of your problems during your recent stay at the Parkbury.

I understand from my manager that there were a few problems on the first day and these were soon rectified.

The hotel had been closed for a couple of months and during the week they were busy getting things organised and in some cases may have left it a little late, hence the shortage of hot water on arrival.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience and I do hope you will stay with us again. Also thank you for the good comments on the food. I will pass these onto the head chef and team.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbury Hotel

Property: Parkbury Hotel
Address: 29/31 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Parkbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkbury Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing