We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandhill Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed here for two nights during January, meaning it was very empty and quiet but no less of a good, positive experience. The lady that owns it was very welcoming and friendly and showed me round the whole hotel when I got there, explaining all of the facilities, breakfast etc. I booked a single room but she put me in a double as she said it was warmer. Being one of two guests in the hotel that night, I wasn't going to question it!The room waa cold at first but soon waed up when I got tge radiator going. It was spacious, basic but comfortable, bed was comfortable, bathroom/shower did the job and the decor was VERY pink... everywhere... It was extremely quiet, so got a good nights sleep.Breakfast was good - generous portions, although not a huge amount of hot choices but cooked reasonably well. No real criticisms to be honest. Good for a night or two, excellent staff, very personal feel. I did notice though that the fire alarm was missing from my room. However, the very warm welcome and service would make me return.

Helpful?
2 Thank Giles A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is really clean, lovely comfy bed, very nice cooked breakfast to set you up for the day, nothing is too much trouble, nice warm welcome upon arrival, The hotel is operated by resident proprietors, help with cases if needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Reading some of the reviews they must be made by the owner or friends of, read the real ones which tell the truth.
We were on the island to pick up a new boat and arrived at around 8.30 pm to find no food available so we went to the local fish and chip shop as directed by the owner, once we returned we had our food downstairs, we explained we were leaving at 5.30am the next morning so wouldn't be having breakfast and was it possible to have a cold drink instead the answer was no and we were charged for our 2 drinks on top of our £80 we had already paid.
The front of the B and B had old cars in a state of repair laying so we had to park in the street.
Once we were shown our room we found it to smell like an old folks home with a bed which didn't seem to have fresh sheets, the carpets looked like they had been out of a skip along with the furniture in the room.
The toilet and shower room was very home made and the shower would go from freezing to boiling hot which burned my wife's arm, we have reported this to the HSE inspector as a child would have been scalded if they had used it.
We left very early in the morning so were unable to confront the owners but we would never use this place again never.
Another point which my wife highlighted when driving home was our banking card details were written down in their book which is illegal, we have reported this to our bank incase the details are used by someone looking at that book.

Room Tip: If this had been a holiday we would have had a very direct conversation with the owners at opening t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at this lovely little hotel at the beginning of September for 4 nights. The staff are incredibly friendly and looked after us as if we were one of their own! Nothing was too much trouble for them. We were booked in for bed and breakfast but ate evening meals every night, and all the food was lovely. We were allowed to tweak the menu, and being vegetarian this was great for me. Mum even had bacon and egg one night as she fancied it!! Definitely returning to stay here again in the future.
The outside of the hotel is very welcoming with beautiful hanging baskets and a small fish pond with a fountain in the car park.
We were given a ground floor room without having to request it, as my mother was with me and she has mobility problems.
To cap it all, you can even take your dog to stay with you if you want to!!
There is a large fish tank with an amazing collection of huge and magnificent tropical fish which is totally relaxing to watch... could have watched them for hours!
The hotel is a short walk around the corner from Sandown railway station and is also close to the town centre and the beach... an ideal base for a holiday to remember!
Stacey, Kathy and Steve, you helped to make our holiday experience a truly great one, thank you all so much.

Room Tip: ask if you have special requirements, we were put in a ground floor room without having to ask as my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 89Maxine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a last minute booking for a family of 4 and Steve was very, very helpful. He had only a double room and he took that extra effort to find out if there was a room available at the next door neighbour and accommadated us by providing an extra bed in the room. He helped us in directly booking the ferry and didnt even demand an advance. Overall stay was very pleasant.

Had one minor irration which could have been avoided - After we checked out, we got a call that there were two towels missing from the room. If this is a family run hotel they should have know how many towels were put in the first place. Not sure why would anyone want to take used towels from a Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arun_ben10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel was very clean. Beds extremely comfortable. Food was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They may us feel very welcome. It was as if we were staying with friends or family. I thoroughly recomend this hotel and will be returning there next time I go go the iow on holiday. It was also very easy to get to by road and in a good position for many of the islands attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the food was lovely. We had a good choice of breakfast and it was always tasty and plentiful. The hotel is in a good position it is only a 10 minute walk to a lovely beach. Could not fault anything about our stay, thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bev60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#24 of 31 in Sandown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill Hotel

Property: Sandhill Hotel
Address: 6 Hill Street, Sandown PO36 9DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sandhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhill Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing