We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at a reasonable price”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service at a reasonable price”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The 2* rating on this hotel clearly refers to the rooms, which are basic but scrupulously clean. We opted for the standard room with shower, toiletries provided. There is a TV, hairdryer, kettle and daily replenishment of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. The hotel is one road back from the front, which is only a couple of minutes walk away. It is peaceful and in it's own grounds, there is safe off-road parking and some play equipment for children in the garden. We didn't use the swimming pool, OASIS spa or snooker room because there wasn't time on the short break we booked. Nor did we opt for full board, although they do offers which make it a reasonable option. The breakfast menu is extensive, but it is not rigid if you request a variation.

We think the staff definitely deserve at least double the star rating! They were very welcoming, from the first website enquiry to the chambermaid seeing us leave on the last day and hoping we had enjoyed out visit. (In fact we went to breakfast one morning and she had made up the room by the time we got back - including folding my nightdress and placing it under the pillow!)

I would certainly go back if we return to the Isle of Wight. This may only be 2* according to the AA, but for overall welcome and service I would not hesitate to say that is definitely too low!

Room Tip: If you are a larger person, or have children, it may be better to opt for a shower over bath as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    181
    57
    32
    29
See reviews for
254
269
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived here early,and were booked in immediately by a very helpful lady, the hotel itself is in a great location and is spotlessly clean and tidy.
We went for a twin room with en-suite and were very pleased again with the cleanliness and set up of the room, all was well until we tried the bathroom !
This is so small its almost unusable, to sit on the loo, both legs are up against the wall or the sliding door ! and the wash hand basin is also difficult to use, should you want to bend down to wash or clean teeth, then you will have to leave the door open !!! The shower works, but not very well, which is a shame, as the sink, were it useable has extremely hot water and plenty of cold.
I think the hotel has only 2 stars because of these " bathroom" issues, other than that it's a good hotel, very friendly and helpful staff a good bar, pool, and great food.
All spoilt by the bathroom or lack of, although there is a shared one down the hall, so perhaps they know there are issues?

Room Tip: Inspect the room first, and check out the "en-suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are pleased that Kevin B (a.k.a. Superman) found most factors of his stay with us enjoyable and take heart in that from his other TripAdvisor reviews (11 in total) he has never yet found an hotel worth 5 marks – 6 hotels however he rates as 3 or below.

There is however one important point in his review that needs to be challenged – he states “We went for a twin room with en-suite”. No he did not – he chose only to pay for and was then allocated one of our range of SMALLER twin bedded rooms, the description of which clearly states “One of our range of smaller (but still up to AA 2 Star Hotel Standards) Twin Bedded Rooms with shower cubicle, central heating, flat screen freeview TV with DVD, hairdryer, hospitality tray, digital safe, "blackout" curtains and fan”. The description then continues with “As their name implies these rooms are smaller than our 'standard' rooms and, in particular, the en-suites are small but functional”.

Accommodation in the hotel is graded and varies in price dependent upon size and amenities and most clients on a low budget are delighted with the fact that by choosing “Smaller” they can save £10.00 per night of stay whilst at the other end of the scale a Four Poster or Suite would attract a £50.00 per night higher charge. But surely it is then unfair to write a review complaining that what was received was exactly what was described, chosen and paid for!

Yes, the en-suites in these rooms are indeed small – but the point is made that in order to take the pretty pictures (including of course the Superman shirt which seems to be a great favorite as it was so often in evidence) there must have been enough room for 2 people in the en-suite or the photos could not have been taken.

N.B. The existence of the “shared” bathroom “down the hall” is not because of any known “issues”. It was installed in an otherwise unused space because, as there are many “family” rooms on that floor (some of which have a shower cubicle rather than a bath) parents often find it preferable to bath their children rather than use a shower. We thought therefore that it was worth being able to offer that extra amenity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Three of us stayed at this hotel for a weekend family break. We had booked a single room and a twin room to accommodate us, on a bed and breakfast basis.

Our first impressions on arriving at the hotel were very good. We were immediately checked in and we were given a very warm welcome.

Both rooms (which were adjacent to one another) appeared to have been recently refurbished and they were spotlessly clean and more than adequately furnished.

Breakfast was a feast! There was an excellent choice and all the food was served directly to the table. The quality of the breakfast was very good.

There was evening entertainment on both nights that we stayed at the hotel. We enjoyed it and it was a nice end to each day.

The staff could not have been more helpful or cheerful. By the time we left after our weekend break we felt we had known them a long time and they genuinely appeared determined to make sure each guest was well looked after and made to feel welcome.

We found it hard to believe that this hotel only had a 2 star rating. In our opinion it should be a 3 star hotel.

The Isle of Wight is a beautiful island and this hotel is ideally suited to explore the island. We will be back and, for sure, we will almost certainly book to stay at the Wight Montrene.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely short break staying at Wight Montrene Hotel, Sandown. My friend, dog and I were all made to feel so welcome. The hotel is smart but has a relaxed atmosphere. The swimming pool really made the holiday for us, what a great start and end to each day! We would certainly go again, everything about it would be difficult to beat, hard to believe it is only 2 star rated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely Hotel in sandown.
Surpassed all expectations for a 2 Star Hotel.
Room was I admit one of the superior rooms, which was kept very clean and tidy during our stay.
Facilities for a 2 star were excellent:- Gorgeous swimming pool with attached steam room and sauna.
We only stayed Bed and Breakfast so I can't comment on the evening meal, but breakfast each day was excellent. This was all served by a waitress and the choice was really good. Most was served at no extra cost including their jurassic breakfast which was double of everything, unfortunately this looked a bit too much for both my husband and me and we stuck to the ordinary breakfast (Full Monty) which was more than adequate. All staff were very friendly especially all Reception Staff. ALL IN ALL A LOVELY STAY!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopylell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned from the Isle of Wight the hotel was very very clean rooms very good size we had dinner bed and breakfast all very good 5 course evening meal something for everyone, breakfast was more than ample with a good choice cooked to order and all served by a very nice lady.The staff were very friendly and helpful they booked our ferry as well all done by the wight. Would recommend this hotel to anyone it is a 2 star hotel but better than a 3 star. The weather made our stay a good 5 days Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet240712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have just had another lovely 5 night stay. Even at the end of the season, the hotel is still fresh and the staff, most of whom were there in April, are very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

There was entertainment on 4 of the 5 evenings of my stay and although some of it was not my type of music, most of the other people liked it.

The pool, which is quite big, and steam room are very good and a lot of visitors used them.

I'll be back

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden and the pool building has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillvousden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing