We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't beat it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“can't beat it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

For the good old British hotel this is one of the best. You are greeted by the receptionist and shown around the whole place. All the staff are extremely friendly, and you can tell that they love working there. Some of the staff have been there for 30 years or more. The facilities are lovely, steam room, Jacuzzi sauna, sun bed and indoor pool what more could you ask for. Well you can. There is a table tennis, snooker and pool and a trimnasium if you feel like working off the five course dinner. The chefs are brilliant, fantastic breakfast (which you can double up on called the Jurassic). Five course evening meals accompanied by Steve and Ray playing the grand piano.
The guests seem so relaxed that you feel able to chat to everyone easily, this I am sure is down to the whole atmosphere of the place.
The bedroom's are spotlessly clean, as is the whole place, o.k. they are not the most up to date furnishings but we slept like a dream.Many thanks to all the staff for being so friendly.This was our second visit to the Montrene and we will be going back again.I think this hotel deffinately deserves more than the 2 AA stars it gets.

Room Tip: As all the rooms are of the same standard you have no worries. If you prefer ground floor the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheemee153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    178
    54
    32
    29
See reviews for
251
264
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The whole week was wonderful! The hotel had everything we needed. The room was clean, comfortable and warm. The food was out of this world and extremely good value! The waitress and wine waiter were very professional yet friendly. in the evening there was some entertaining musicians. We would like to thoroughly recommend the hotel and the location attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

A three week experienced waitress, cold beans that I asked for, a bucket & spade man come barman, and marmite!! you either love it or you hate it, we loved it. Nice weekend thanks regards Tony, Elaine, Sharon & Bradley Walsh x

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank topjollygeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend we were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived nothing wad too much trouble for the helpful staff we had bed and breakfast and the breakfast there was a great choice of food and always nicely served and well cooked we will returning to this hotel as it is a good location too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanrosemarybrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a lovely find! The Wight Montrene is a great hotel, with friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to make your holiday a good one. I stayed for 3 nights with my elderly mother and from the time of booking they went the extra mile, allocating her a ground floor room. Check in was easy with the receptionist giving us lots of useful information regarding our restaurant table, bar opening times and the leisure facilities. The rooms, although perhaps a bit dated, were spotlessly clean and I had a very comfy bed! Each night the evening meal was 5 courses and the food was absolutely gorgeous (unfortunately I couldn't eat 5 courses although I would have loved to). There was also a lot of choice with about 3 starters, 5 mains and 3 puddings. Breakfast was the same, cooked to order and you could have as much or as little as you wanted. We found the bar prices quite reasonable paying only £12 for a decent bottle of red wine. The first 2 evenings we enjoyed our meal accompanied by Steve the pianist, then on the 3rd night we had another gentleman pianist. Both were excellent and very friendly, even playing some Tom Jones tunes when they found out we were Welsh! The hotel is situated about 5 minutes walk from Sandown front and in a great location for travelling around the island. There seemed to be a few places to eat in Sandown but to be honest, when the food is this good in your hotel why bother looking elsewhere? We had a great time in the Wight Montrene and also made some very good friends there. I would definitely recommend this establishment to others.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms looking out on to the childrens play area seemed big, airy and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula121065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely hotel a few times and always have a great time. We checked in on Saturday 4th May for a 7 night stay on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. Check in was good and we were made very welcome by Fran. we were shown where our table would be for meals for the week. We asked to stay in a room we had before and it was perfect very clean everything in good working order. The information booklet in rooms contains all the information you need. All the staff were very friendly. Our waitress who i think was called Tammy was lovely. The food was excellent and we enjoyed all the meals. We used the swimming pool several times we think its great its clean and has clear information around. The bar staff were also lovely and we enjoyed listening to Steve playing the piano whilst having our evening meal. On check out we were asked how our stay was. We had a brilliant holiday and cant wait to visit again hopefully soon. Thank you to every one at the Wight Montrene.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a 3 night stay in April (6 of us) and were really impressed by the quality and value for money. We were looking for an honest family hotel, with great amenities and we found it. There was also a leisure centre with an excellent indoor pool (nice and warm!), Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The kids had a play area with a slide and climbing frame. There was also a spa centre, with various treatments which my wife made use of one afternoon. I understand there are plans to expand the spa facilities as well.
The breakfast was excellent, cooked to order, as big or small as you want it. I had their "Jurassic" breakfast one morning, it was a sizable plate of food, and I almost had to go back to bed for afterwards for a rest! But there were lots of breakfast options from poached eggs, to kippers, or a champagne breakfast with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We ate in one evening and again the food was great value, with a 5 course dinner option with choice of dishes, you couldn't really ask for more, especially given the cost being so reasonable. The kids were well looked after with their own menu.
The rooms were really clean, large and comfortable. My daughter and son in-law had a duplex room, with a separate room for our granddaughter. We had a room with a 4 poster bed and a separate room for our the son. There was tea and coffee in the room, and LCD TV's with all the satellite channels.
In terms of value for money, the Wight Montrene is second to none. Its a friendly family run hotel, with staff who just couldn't do enough for us. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, and whilst its not on the front at Sandown, it really didn't matter.
We ate out for 2 of the nights, in the local Chinese Restaurant (China Garden) and also at a cracking pub in Bembridge called the Crab and Lobster. But we came back to the hotel to drink at their bar, and also play snooker (they have a separate snooker room (full size table). We were also lucky enough to be there for their jazz night in the bar. This was on Thurs night, evidently its an open mike night, with musicians from around the island (and visiting) showing their talents. We really didn't expect to spend the night with 10 talented musicians "riffing" off each other - ranging from bass guitarists, jazz guitarists, keyboard players, an organist, trumpet and even a sax player!!!
The island is really beautiful, especially the south side from Benbridge up to Allum Bay. The kids had a great time (as did the parents) at Black Gang Chine, and we had what can be described as THE bucket and spade holiday.
We will definitely go back to the WIght Montrene and will tell our friends and family. It puts holidays in Bournemouth and Cornwall into the shade in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putney_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing