We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gill”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gill”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel over Easter. My room was lovely, overlooking the garden, and was clean and tidy with a TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was small, but functional. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the pool, steam room etc. My room was cleaned while I was having breakfast, how efficient is that!!! I can't believe that this hotel only has a two star rating, as I have stayed in many three star hotels which were not as good as this. I'm definitely going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillvousden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    181
    57
    32
    29
See reviews for
254
269
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Montrene for 2 nights March 23-25 (Sat-Mon). The room was really clean tidy and bed very comfortable, full bathroom, tv, hairdryer, Tea/Coffee tray, everything you need. As an added benefit, there was a lovely indoor heated pool, jacquzzi, sauna, steam room, solarium, we took advantage of the pool and jacquzzi and had them to ourselves, it was lovely.
There is a good sized bar and laounge with dancefloor and stage.
We didnt eat in the restaurant but we did indulge in the breakfast out 2 mornings, and wow, what a breakfast, my partner had the Full Monty both mornings, and it is nice to find somewhere that actually knows how to make porper Poached eggs :-)
The service of the Reception, Bar, Waiting and Cleaning personnel was warm and freindly.
We will definately stay there next time we visit the IOW.

Room Tip: Ask for Room either B1 or B2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazerdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

i am at the hotel at the moment and writing this on my laptop. My room is good, and the food 'even by French standard' is excellent. the assets of the hotel - the swimming, the steam and sauna - are all very good, but the best part is that all of the people working at the hotel have been very friendly and of much help. When I return to France, I would tell my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebastien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for the weekend B&B. Location was good close to the beach even though it was too cold to swim we did enjoy walking along in the fresh sea air.
Room was spacious, clean and they obviously gear themselves to an older clientele than us.
Staff are friendly and chatted about local places to visit.
Breakfast was huge served hot to the table and as much toast as you could eat.
Can't imagine anyone being upset with a short visit here.
The Isle of Wight reminded me of home forty years ago, nice to revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is well decorated and we had a lovely room. Breakfast was ok but a 'good morning' would be nice . We booked on a B & B basis but deceided on Saturday evening as the weather was very cold, to eat in the restaurant. We were told that we could not have dinner as we had not told reception in the morning that we required dinner. The receptinist (Hayley) who had checked us in, said she had told us this on checkin, but that was not the case . We asked for some ideas where we could go to eat and were told of the Reef. We found a lovely Bistro in Sandown and found other guests from the Montrene there too. On neither monring was a smile to be had from the breakfast waitress and on checking out, apart from taking our money, the receptionist did not even ask us if we had had a pleasant stay. We will not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 214Wiltslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel was well decorated, the room very clean. We found the food excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. This was an alternative hotel for us as the one we were meant to stay in had overbooked. Glad we said yes to the exchange. We will stay again soon!

Room Tip: We were given a small suit with a double bed, bunk beds and an ensuite. It would be perfect for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Friendly, Spotless and excellent position!
We are a family of 5 (2 adults 3 children aged 6yr, 3 yrs, and 9 months) the room we had was excellent spacious and very clean the staff were helpful and the children were as welcomed as us,!which is nice! We stayed as part of a
Larger family group celebrating a family occasion, and all that can be said was we had a fabulous time! The food was great and plentiful, the hotel facilities were more than adequate and the pool, steam room, and sauna, all were included in the cost and as a whole our party spent 2 hours using the facilities it was great fun! We were 3 minutes walking distance from the high street at sandown and 5 minutes from the sandy beach, this was a lovely weekend getaway but the location of the hotel and space in the rooms as well as the great food and staff would make it an excellent hotel for a family break during the summer holidays! Thanks to all the staff who helped make our stay wonderful and one to remember ! :0)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing