We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xmas at The Wight Montrene”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Xmas at The Wight Montrene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

First time we have ever been away at Christmas, and we had a really great time. The meals were excellent, and the staff friendly and helpful. Had a right laugh with new friends we made there, playing bingo etc. (the bingo being a first for us ) Went for long walks after meals, with tea and coffee, biscuits and xmas cake waiting on our return. Really enjoyed the Treasure Hunt on Boxing Day, all round it was a fantastic Christmas Break.
Many Thanks to Management, Staff and other Guests for a great Christmas.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    178
    55
    32
    29
See reviews for
251
265
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights as part of the 'Twixmas' break between Christmas and New Year. As a returning visitor I can appreciate that the hotel has improved on its high standard. The decor has been refreshed and the family room we stayed in was very good, a separate connecting door meaning we could allow the children some 'me time' too. The breakfast and evening meals continued the high quality experience with an extensive menu choice and 6 courses. Thankfully the swimming pool onsite provides an opportunity to exercise all year round! We'll be returning sometime in 2012. Thanks to all at the Wight for your efforts - you're worth way more than 2 stars in our book.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was our first trip to The Wight Montrene Hotel. All we can say is that we do not understand why it is only 2* because everything is 4* there - the food (5-course evening meals with excellent choice), the rooms, the service, the facilities. It has a steam room, sauna, solarium, dry sauna, swimming pool and plunge pool. Along with a Beauty suite where we recommend the massages. Although there are TVs in every room they also have a tv room with lovely comfortable leather settees alongisde coffee tables. The bar is excellent, and the entertainment area is small but quite adequate. They have a full size snooker table, and a pool table, and table-tennis.

It is a short walk from both the town centre and the glorious beach at Sandown, also it is a slightly longer walk to the dinosaur centre and the islands main zoo. There is an excellent bus service on the island, and you can get to several places directly from Sandown, but everywhere is only two buses away from anywhere on the island - yes it is that good!

The Hotel is spotless. It is welcoming. It is relaxing - I could go on. Thanks to the wonderful staff and entertainment we had a fantastic Silver Wedding Anniversary weekend.

I am disabled and walk with a stick, I found the hotel very easy to negotiate although it was difficult getting into the pool. However, it is not suitable for people who are wheelchair bound - this is purely down to the layout due to the geology of Sandown and not the choice of the hotel. That is the only negative comment I can make about the Hotel but I need to be honest as it is difficult for disabled people to find suitable accommodation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but we had the four-poster suite which was excellent. It does not have a lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imogen1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 1 night in November 2011, got a good deal on the room (£60) for a double including full English and use of the facilities. Just a few minutes walk from Sandown town centre. We were able to make use of the swimming pool which was a good size and depth, steam room, and sauna which were all included in the price. There is also a table tennis table and pool table in a games area. Room was en suite, comfy and generally everything was in good order. Staff friendly, worth a visit if thinking of having a short break on the IOW, i'd be happy to book and stay again, cheers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BentheElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was our first stay at the Wight Montrene Hotel and would recommend it to anyone wanting a short break. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed for bed,breakfast and evening meal and could'nt fault the service,and there was a good choice of food on the menus which was served very efficiently. The rooms were clean and tidy, the only comment is the bed was'nt that comfortable. The Swimming pool and leisure facilities were good, and in the evening there was different entertainment, or you could just stay in the bar, or watch the large screen TV. The hotel is only a few minutes from Sandown Sea Front and the shops. We are going to book for next year as we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had an excellent stay at the Wight Montrene Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were very clean and tidy with good car parking facilities. Good directions on how to get to the hotel were provided (it can be a little difficult to find). There is a good size pool with other leisure facilties in a seperate building. The restaurant served a very good breakfast and evening meal. Our only comment was that the food came along a little to quickly for our liking, however the restaurant staff slowed it down without complaint.
We would return again without hesitation

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An English Family
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our last visit was 3 years ago and it was great then, hence us coming back. We spent a week last month and can say that the service and food are always first class. It is nice to see money re-invested, new carpet, lights, furniture in rooms. In short, it is a good value for money very clean and friendly Hotel, with a lovely pool and snooker room, great food and friendly staff. We will not wait so long to come back next time.

Room Tip: We had a really large archway room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnumboy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing