We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Museum”
Review of Dinosaur Isle

Dinosaur Isle
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Sandown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a spectacular pterosaur shaped building watching over Sandown’s blue flag beach is Britain’s first purpose built dinosaur museum. Walk back through fossilised time to the period of the dinosaurs where you will find amongst the fossils many interactive displays. On a recreated landscape enhanced by sights, smells and sounds you will meet life sized dinosaurs including our animatronic Neovenator. Guided fossil hunts (which must be pre-booked) have proved to be a popular addition to a visit.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Dinosaur Isle is a small but very informative museum full of fossils and dinosaur remains found around the island. There are lots of interactive things for children to do including an activities room upstairs with colouring and dressing up.

Thank Nikki2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Dinosaur Isle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

661 - 665 of 746 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Although this is quite a small museum it is definitely worth a look if you are in the area and are interested in dinosaurs and the science behind finding them and digging them up. I would say this is probably more useful for older children and adults as it does have a very heavy emphasis on the science of dinosaur hunting and fossil collection rather than being just a collection of dinosaurs. I learned loads, unfortunately we didn't give it the time it deserved as someone decided it would be a good idea to bring round an outing of people who made more noise than the exhibits, but would like to go back on a quiet day!

Thank Traitor101666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went as the weather was poor and who doesnt like dinosaurs! Very interesting and polite staff. Would be great for children of all ages as lots of hands on things as well as exhibits to look at.

Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

this was really expensive to get into and the leaflet said to allow 2 hours for the visit but in reality there was a very text heavy meander back in time ending in a dimly lit corridor and when you stepped in there was a robotic Dinosaur roaring fiercely, this may have been OK for my 5 year old but it was missing it's covering so a bit like the terminator it was a robotic skeleton that moved you could see all the insides and made really load noises so he was petrified, he is not normally scared of these things. There are much better exhibitions in even the most basic museum and most of those are free and so much for families to do on the Isle of Wight. Awful, expensive, waste of time that took about 30mins to see it all, The Dinos at Black Gang chine are much better and you can climb on them and you get free return within a week there! Oh and the car park is on a meter but you have to bring in the stub to get it refunded not that it said anywhere and my husband was impatient and missed the second slip from the machine so it is somewhere in the Channel by now.

2  Thank Hearachlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Pusey, General Manager at Dinosaur Isle, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Oh dear I am sorry you didn’t feel your visit represented value for money. We would love to be free however unlike the national museums we receive no funding at all yet we hold an internationally important collection of fossils that are unique to the Isle of Wight, surely this is where they should be seen, studied and enjoyed. Our collection dates back to 1840 and as the IW erodes away it is still growing today, these are the very fossils that the scientist study to recreate our understanding of how the dinosaurs might have looked, though naturally being so precious the fossils are not for climbing on. Each year we conduct a visitor survey and the average dwell time has grown to one hour thirty minutes hence our leaflet says “allow one to two hours”. if one family stays 30 minutes another is staying two and a half hours. For those arriving by car there is a large sign above every parking meter with a four times life sized illustration of a parking voucher and the text saying “Redeem £2.50 of your parking fee, take the voucher to the admission till”, the same message is repeated in each of our 3 outside notice boards and on every sign where our prices displayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Small place but well worth a visit if your kids are into dinosaurs. Very educational. Surprising to find so many of them were found in the Isle. Plenty for the kids to do.

Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Isle also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight

Been to Dinosaur Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing