We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, should be 4*”
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Having just returned (on Tuesday 17th June) from a hotel stay at the Riviera Hotel in Sandown, (went with Just Go Holidays, Coach Holidays), I/we my husband and myself can honestly say this is one of the nicest, cleanest, and above all, most excellent hotesl we have stayed in, in the U.K. The food is absolutely gorgeous, (as other reviewers have also pointed out), excellent home made soups, and deserts, and the main courses were wonderful, things like, beef stroganoff in brandy and cream, beef bourgione in red wine, fish meals, slow cooked steak with mash and vegetables, roast lamb and potatoes and vegetables, plus vegetarian and salads .The deserts were wonderful, and the chef is brilliant, in fact all the staff are very helpful, especially John the waiter, couldn't do enough for you, and Dennis the cleaner, what a great helpful guy he is. The entertainment in the hotel was first class,and the owners who run the place, a lovely helpful friendly couple can't do enough for you. The hotel is in the High Street in Sandown, a quiet part of the town, but only 3/4 minutes to the promenade and beach front, perfect location. You can catch a bus just outside the hotel, 2 mins walk down the road, the buses run every half hour to Shanklin, which is bigger town, it takes about 15mins to get there. I would defo recommend this hotel to anybody, and it should be 4* for the food alone. Thank you to "Just Go Holidays" (coach holidays) for taking us there, what a "great find" this hotel is. Thank you all at the Riviera, wonderful stay.

From Mr & Mrs Johnson, Staffordshire, U.K.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 325 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday at this hotel. The chef is unbelievable for an establishment of this size. Not only does he cook wonderful meals but he also serves them as if he was a contestant on Masterchef. He deserves 5 Stars.
The hotel is family owned and they work extremely hard and efficiently. The public areas have been refurbished and the staircases have been recarpeted.
The wallpaper may not be to everyone's taste but it is good quality The bedrooms are large most with one single and one double bed but there are no duvets just two blankets plus a heavy bedmat. Everything is spotlessly clean
The hotel is situated on a hill so it is not suitable for people with mobility problems but unfortunately most of Sandown is hilly..

Room Tip: Take your own shampoo and shower gel because although tea/coffee etc are replaced each day toiletrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tighnacreag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've just returned after 7 nights at the riviera with a coach party of 49. I've visited Hotels all over the UK and i have to say that this is one of the best. A warm welcome, clean, nothing is to much trouble and the food is out of this world. A great choice on the menu, home made soup, lovely mains and the deserts were also first class. The evening entertainment was also very good. I would like to thank all the staff for the effort that they put into the running of the Riviera. Every passenger on our coach was very happy with there accomadation. This was our second stay at the riviera and i'm sure we will be returning in the near future. Once again a BIG thank you to every body at the Riviera.
Geoff

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wanted to visit Isle of Wight but not spend too much.. got the ferry and off to Riviera Hotel. They actually gave us a room at 10am while their check in time is later in the afternoon.. The room is nice and cozy, nothing fancy but the basics (paid around 50£) It was clean and comfortable. Given the top floor room it had a nice sea view ...the staircase to the higher floor is narrow and not meant for the elderly but was perfect for us.. Breakfast was hot and good.. kept us full till the afternoon :)

Room Tip: Room number 10 has a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shweta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here this bank holiday with our two year old son, and I feel compelled to share my thoughts, this hotel is rated 2 star, yet it is immaculate, it smelt clean, no dust in the nooks and crannies, shower head sparkling, bedding smelt fresh, towels were soft and freshly laundered too. Big rooms, secure windows, no noise from outside, not much from neighbouring rooms either, comfortable beds, ample parking, nice little garden area with tables and chairs and seeds had been planted recently, nice iris growing, so well looked after. Huge well stocked bar, variety of chilled wines on tap, plenty of seating, my two year old was welcome to sit in bar area, plenty of juices for children. Breakfast was well cooked, grilled rather than fried I think, hash browns were baked, no grease, no fat on bacon, decent sausage, scrambled eggs for my son, nicely cooked, thick sliced toast with real butter, also selection of cereal, porridge and fruit, tea and coffee two juices, good selection, staff were polite, tables were cleaned quickly, really would recommend, 5 mins walk to beach, pier, high street, etc, disabled access too.

Room Tip: Large rooms, very clean, easy parking, good breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CIANorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our party of 4 stayed at the Riviera Hotel on the 21st March for 4 days booked through `Just Go` coach holidays. The Hotel itself is well kept. The smell & feel under your feet of new carpet was apparent as soon as you enter. The dining room is very spacious, again well furnished. We were allocated a twin bedroom which had 1 double & 1 single bed, all very clean with white sheets, sadly no duvets though. Plenty of tea & coffee provided also some toiletries in the bathroom. We had a view of the sea through houses opposite which was nice. We had breakfast & dinner included. Both every day we stayed were plentiful, home cooked & of good quality. Cereals, fruit juices, full English also porridge, kippers etc. As much toast as you wanted too. Evening meals were home made soups, or an alternative, roasts or extremely good braised steak, always fresh veg & lovely desserts or cheese & biscuits & coffee. We also had entertainment 2 of the 3 nights, one singer, comedian was brilliant.
Its about a 3minute walk into Sandown, shops aren't much but the beach & pier are good. Shanklin close by is quaint with lovely gift shops, tea rooms & `olde worlde` pubs.
All in all this Hotel is definitely worth a stay & I am fussy where I stay & was a little dubious. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lovely hotel close to shops,sea front,bus stops.very clean well stocked on coffee,tea.if you don't like alot of stairs,try booking basement rooms.very good choice on menu,home cooked food lovely and tastes good.staff very helpful and work hard to make sure you leave happy.entertainment was very good.would recommend this lovely hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank dragonWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $50 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing