We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Returned today from a 4 day break with Travelstyletours...the hotel was spotless, our room was small but with all our needs, the food was excellent and we must say we ate every bit ...we had no problems whatsoever and can't find any fault.. if we wanted to nit pick the entertainment was only on the Saturday and it was a disco, but you can use the Channel View Hotel which is directly next door, we didn't as we sat with other couples we met and had a chat .....would I use this hotel again most certainly ..........

Room Tip: we requested a low floor which we got but I heard no complaints ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    102
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
73
115
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel with 'Just go' coach holidays. Lovely single room and great food. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly, what more could you want. On the morning we were leaving I wasn't feeling very well and the staff were very helpful. Thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

we've just got back from a long weekend at the Riviera Hotel and were pleasantly surprised with how nice it was for the cost.

we had a double, and a single room, both were clean and more that adequate as a base for exploring the island. The breakfasts were ok but the evening meals were really nice, especially the trout and salmon. We were more than prepared to eat out in the evening but never did once. The waiter was lovely and friendly, in fact all the staff were great. The rooms were clean and the bed quite comfy.

The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes walk to the sea front; granted up hill, but then all of the isle of Wight seems to include hills so I don't think you'd get better in another hotel.

On the down side, the walls were very thin, leaving us able to hear every word of our neighbours nagging, and taking a shower was pot luck as to whether the water would stay the right temperature or not. The rooms were quite small, but nothing we didn't expect for the price we paid.

We booked with Travel style which offers cheap D, B & B deals so we knew we weren't booking a luxury holiday, but you get whet you pay for, and for the price we were all very impressed with the Hotel and would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a 5-day Travelstyle coach holiday, based at the Riviera. Traditional décor and everywhere looked clean and tidy and smart. My single room (No.8) on the first floor was average sized and had everything I needed, the bed was comfortable, and it was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The small window only looked onto rooftops but did not detract from the overall stay. There is a lovely dining room and lounge with well stocked bar on the ground floor. Staff friendly and helpful. Should be a 3 star at least for comfort and cleanliness. But most of all, the food was fantastic, equivalent to any 4 star hotel, with great choice, quick efficient service, evidently home cooked and always generous in the amount of meat included. Heard lots of people commenting on how great the food was and I hope the Chef received our compliments. Set on an incline and with steps to the entrance, perhaps not ideal for the very disabled. But overall this hotel deserves much praise and is great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in August. On arrival you are faced with a flight of steps at the front main door. Not easy to haul luggage up, but there is an easier entry via a ramp and through the lounge around the front of the hotel. Can't remember seeing a notice re this at the main entrance though!
The decor of the passageways/landings and bedrooms although somewhat dated in style is fresh, excellent condition and clean. The standard of cleanliness in bedroom/bathroom and through out the hotel is of a very high standard.
Linen - bed and hand all smart, clean and in excellent condition.
Tea/coffee facilities together with toilet essentials in rooms.
The dining room and lounge are very nice rooms, warm, welcoming and friendly appeal to them. In these public rooms handy WiFi is available free of charge. The breakfasts and evening meals are impressive, with quite a varied choice, well cooked and presented.
Location, on main road exiting west from Sandown which means there is a fair amount of traffic and thus noise early mornings and evenings if you have a South facing bedroom, as we did. But, on the positive side, you get the sun in room most of the day, view of Sandown Pier and sea. Although only app 250/300 yds from Sandown Pier, it is an uphill walk all the way back to the Hotel, steep initially then gentle climb.
For a 2* rated hotel it is excellent. We have stayed in worst hotels with higher ratings.

Room Tip: Rooms on South side are facing main road, therefore can be noisy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for one night, but enjoyed the friendly staff and also helpful. Room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was just right and served swiftly and nothing was to much trouble. The only thing I would say would have loved a mug with the tea making facilities, but that is my choice, I know most people like a cup. Will go again. Thank you

Room Tip: Very local for all Sandown has to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyB1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice place in Sandown close to the beach, bus stop and the high street.
Rooms are a bit dated but what it matters is that are fairly cleaned, breakfast is fine as well as the service.
Tv in the room as previous reviewers say are small but who cares, if I had wanted to watch a telly I would have stayed at home; we found some stains in the linen of the beds so just advice maids to pay extra attention whilst doing the beds as some customers might not like it.
We will come back only at the reasonable rate that we booked , b & b @£35 per person; I won' t find it worth it if rate is higher than that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nando1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Property: Wight Bay Hotel
Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing