We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good,clean and comfortable hotel.”
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good,clean and comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself had a two night stay in the riveria hotel and we found it to be a very comfortable and clean in the rooms,The rooms are a little outdated but it is ok .The staff are very helpful and polite.
All round it is a great place to stay and in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    111
    40
    14
    11
See reviews for
78
125
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel is only a few minutes walk from beach,and shops. The rooms are kept clean and tidy each day by a good hotel cleaning team.The food for a 3 star hotel was very very good, various choices each night, all well prepared, good breakfast selection from menu and quickly served.

Room Tip: room 10 has good view but furniture needs updating. room 12 good family room.Room No 10, 11, 12, are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A Great Time was had at this hotel, medium sized, served good food, and handily located for getting around by being close to bus routes etc. Staff friendly, reception friendly and helpful.
Entertainment good but not to everyone's taste. You will have to put up with the sixty old teddy boy who comes to the evening entertainment, but he seems harmless and keeps himself to himself, actually he's a good laugh to watch and he is a good mover. Unfortunately this hotel does not have a lift and their are a lot of steps to drag your cases up. They are the only faults.

We went with travelstyle on a 7 day break, but would not go with that company again, very poor organisation we ended up with no fixed driver and could have done the tours using our bus passes which are welcome on the Isle of Wight.y we would not go with Travelstyle again because: (a) you have to handle your own cases, (b) feeder coach drivers seem to have no common sense ( b) Our driver had people on the coach from Cleethorpes that he picked up at six in the morning and at 11.30 they still had not had an official stop for toilets and got one at 12.25pm. Any one knowing the driving law work that one out!!!.

Room Tip: Isle of Wight to hilly for me 73 years old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went here for 2 night break with an amazon deal. The hotel was a little dated with lots of dark wood and chintzy wallpaper but it was spotlessly clean and tidy. Fresh towels in the room daily and tea and coffee in room. . Good breakfast. Within walking distance of sand owned town centre

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent four nights here with Just Go tours. The hotel was spotlessly clean with good food. The menu was not extensive but there was always a vegetarian option available, also a dessert option suitable for diabetics.
The girls in the restaurant worked extremely hard, very efficiently and always with good humour.
Entertainment was available most evenings. I did not join in so can give no opinion as to it's quality.
The hotel is a short downhill walk from the promenade area.
I am not sure what the car parking facilities are like for those who drive themselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchyfeet4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our second visit to The Riviera, the last was in 2011. The hotel is still as good as it was in 2011 and we are planning to visit again in 2014.

We arrived as part of a coach party, most of the party were elderly and requests for suitable rooms were honoured and as we had been before, we requested a room with a view. We got room 15 which had a wonderful outlook over Culver Cliffs, however ground floor rooms would be needed for people with mobility problems. The bedrooms were very clean. The upper rooms had power showers which were great, however the pumps are noisy and my husband had to hold the shower hose near to ground level initially to get the water pumping through. They were wonderful and operated efficiently though.

The food was very good quality and a good choice as well as vegetarian option. The waitresses were extremely efficient and pleasant.

Sandown is a great resort and there is plenty in the area to occupy people of any age. The pier has a lot going on and there is a lovely cliff top walk to Shanklin or can walk along the beach.

Room Tip: Upper rooms overlooking Culver Cliffs or side view looking out to sea have best views and can see su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reviews91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights recently and it fine, the staff were friendly, the place was spotless and the food was great.
If you want the ritz you won't get it for £20 per night through amazon deals or the like.

We will be going back for another quiet "no kids" break.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pd_brady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Property: Wight Bay Hotel
Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing