We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day coach break”
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break with a coach trip with about 50 of us.
The rooms were good - bathroom maybe on small size but does the job!
Beds very comfy and room cleaned every day.
Food i can not fault at all - Brilliant food!!

I have given service a 3, as 1 girl behind the bar did everything to help us , even got in some cider for us as they had none in stock , but although the staff were very helpful they werent exactly friendly and always looked quite grumpy.

Seeing as we went in March it was pretty cold in and outside the hotel... Brr! But that was livable.

Entertainment was alright - as good as you would expect i guess. Better than nothing!

Overall, Yes - i would go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhianlydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 332 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just got home after 5 days at the Riviera Hotel. This is a fantastic hotel. Food excellent, a choice of two starters, two main courses and three sweets every night. Everything was served piping hot along with a warm bun. Breakfast was brilliant, a choice of fruit juices, cereals, continental if you wanted one and a hot full English breakfast, plenty of tea and coffee. Mina who served out table was great, nothing too much trouble for her. The bedrooms and bathroom were always warm and were kitted out with toiletries and the tea, coffee, sugar and milk were replenished every day and you could always ask for more. The bedding was spotless as were the towels and the décor throughout was first class. Suni who worked behind the bar was great, my husband and brother in law got on with him really well. The bar/lounge area were spotlessly clean and the dining room always had crisp and clean linen on. The hotel prides itself on the cleanliness it gives. We must not forget to mention Pauline the receptionist who knows her job inside out and really helped us after we had a bad experience at another hotel before we moved to the Riviera. At the Riviera it was home from home and we were even asked if we needed sandwiches for the return journey home. We did take up the offer and they were really fresh with a good choice of fillings. This is a family run business who pride themselves making everyone feel special and at home. Well done to all the staff, we will be back and we will recommend the hotel to all family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greyhaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Our trip was booked through a coach company 'Just Go'. This hotel is excellent ,food was homemade and plenty of it. Staff were friendly.
Room was spacious. Lovely shower, all seemed brand new. The whole hotel was very clean. Our view was lovely out to sea.
There was entertainment every night with dancing too.
Location of the hotel was good. 2 mins from sea and on the bus route. 2 mins from town centre.
Will definetly return.

Room Tip: room 17 has corner so wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauzKro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 9 from 'JUST GO HOLIDAYS' on March 11th for 5 days. very pleasant stay with super food and absolutely lovely staff who worked really hard to make our stay the best it could be. Entertainment every night, we all could not find fault, well recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at the Riviera on a Just Go! Holidays bargain break.
Owners & staff are very polite & helpful.
Food was good and adequate.
We had entertainment most nights.
Coach driver room was small but comfortable.
Stayed in many hotels in Sandown..Riviera is the best yet.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crusaderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break on the Isle of White. We went with Just Go Holidays and stayed at the Riviera Hotel in Sandown. The holiday was easy to book and included one excursion, The Island Tour, with an optional tour to Osbourne House (five hours) which cost £15 per person. Communication and information with Just Go was very good. They text the day before to confirm pick up time and place. The coach was not a Just Go livery but a local operator however the coach was comfortable and the driver was communicative, attentive and very friendly. We took both tours and they were thoroughly enjoyable and complete even though the weather was cold and blustery. We were picked up at 09.25 and had a 45 minute stop-over at Fleet services. We boarded the 15.30 Ferry and arrived at the Riviera Hotel at 17.15.
I had read reviews regarding the Hotel and took the advice to phone them and request a sea view the day before, offering to pay extra. I was informed that no charge would apply and We were offered a sea view on the first floor. The room was actually better than we expected. We had a double and single bed with sea views at the side and front aspect. The room was clearly recently refurbished and the beds extremely comfortable. There was plenty of storage space and an en-suite shower room with toiletries, the bedroom had a small flat screen TV as well as hairdryer and Tea and Coffee facilities.
During our stay the staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and attentive. Everything was fast and efficient, the bed was made during breakfast with clean towels etc every day.
Every evening there was a choice of two starters, three mains and two desserts.
On the first day (Friday) the choice was either Chicken curry (bit spicy), pork or a vegetarian option. Between us we tried all three and were disappointed. The second night was Plaice Goujons or steak pie (both nice) and on Sunday we had a choice of Turkey or Poached Salmon in Dill sauce (again nice). The starters were soup (Potato and leak, Minestrone and vegetable) or Waldorf Salad, Mackerel and Prawn Cocktail with a choice of Ice cream each night, cheesecake and a cheese board on Saturday, with coffee to follow.
The breakfasts were good with a varied selection all served at the table.
All in all, a great hotel, good value and very enjoyable. I would recommend this mini-break with Just Go Holidays and this Hotel was exceptional for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

this is my and my family's first time staying at the riviera. we have read some mixed comments on trip adviser but chose to listen to the good ones. when we arrived we were welcomed by the manager in a very friendly manor, we were checked in swiftly and shown to our rooms, our luggage was bought to our room. as we walked into the room they smelt clean and new, the rooms were beautiful. the dining room was spacious and the food was excellent. they catered for my families needs, i am a vegetarian and there was a new vegetarian meal on the menu every day, which was excellent. The staff were wonderful and really helped make the stay enjoyable.the service was 5 star, we have already booked a return visit for 2 weeks in the summer with more family.

Room Tip: great sea view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $44 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing