We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isle of White weekend break”
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Isle of White weekend break”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break on the Isle of White. We went with Just Go Holidays and stayed at the Riviera Hotel in Sandown. The holiday was easy to book and included one excursion, The Island Tour, with an optional tour to Osbourne House (five hours) which cost £15 per person. Communication and information with Just Go was very good. They text the day before to confirm pick up time and place. The coach was not a Just Go livery but a local operator however the coach was comfortable and the driver was communicative, attentive and very friendly. We took both tours and they were thoroughly enjoyable and complete even though the weather was cold and blustery. We were picked up at 09.25 and had a 45 minute stop-over at Fleet services. We boarded the 15.30 Ferry and arrived at the Riviera Hotel at 17.15.
I had read reviews regarding the Hotel and took the advice to phone them and request a sea view the day before, offering to pay extra. I was informed that no charge would apply and We were offered a sea view on the first floor. The room was actually better than we expected. We had a double and single bed with sea views at the side and front aspect. The room was clearly recently refurbished and the beds extremely comfortable. There was plenty of storage space and an en-suite shower room with toiletries, the bedroom had a small flat screen TV as well as hairdryer and Tea and Coffee facilities.
During our stay the staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and attentive. Everything was fast and efficient, the bed was made during breakfast with clean towels etc every day.
Every evening there was a choice of two starters, three mains and two desserts.
On the first day (Friday) the choice was either Chicken curry (bit spicy), pork or a vegetarian option. Between us we tried all three and were disappointed. The second night was Plaice Goujons or steak pie (both nice) and on Sunday we had a choice of Turkey or Poached Salmon in Dill sauce (again nice). The starters were soup (Potato and leak, Minestrone and vegetable) or Waldorf Salad, Mackerel and Prawn Cocktail with a choice of Ice cream each night, cheesecake and a cheese board on Saturday, with coffee to follow.
The breakfasts were good with a varied selection all served at the table.
All in all, a great hotel, good value and very enjoyable. I would recommend this mini-break with Just Go Holidays and this Hotel was exceptional for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    111
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
78
125
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

this is my and my family's first time staying at the riviera. we have read some mixed comments on trip adviser but chose to listen to the good ones. when we arrived we were welcomed by the manager in a very friendly manor, we were checked in swiftly and shown to our rooms, our luggage was bought to our room. as we walked into the room they smelt clean and new, the rooms were beautiful. the dining room was spacious and the food was excellent. they catered for my families needs, i am a vegetarian and there was a new vegetarian meal on the menu every day, which was excellent. The staff were wonderful and really helped make the stay enjoyable.the service was 5 star, we have already booked a return visit for 2 weeks in the summer with more family.

Room Tip: great sea view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Warm and friendly atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Bedroom was clean. The only slight issue was the dining room was too cold but the food was fabulous. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMrsGrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlington, Middlesex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from a very 'Happy New Year' at the Riviera. We have been staying at this hotel since 1987 both as a couple and with our family we even celebrated my husband's surprise 60th birthday here along with 15 of our friends and family, which was great .We all had a good time.
The hotel is a seaside hotel and does not claim to be anymore. It is family run and has been for years. At this present time it is undergoing refurbishment of the bedrooms, this started a couple of years ago and is nearly completed. All of the rooms have been redecorated and giiven finishing touches.
On a review I read somebody states that their bed was extremely uncomfortable. I appreciate this could be the case, but stop to think, the owners do not go around trying out all the beds, they have a job to do. I know from experience that had this person explained his/her problem something would have been done either a new room or even a new bed.
This is a big Victorian building so undoubtedly there will be problems, but unless you tell the staff they will not know. All the rooms are centrally heated with ensuite shower rooms and there are several bathrooms, which are ideal for families.
The staff are extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent with a good choice and very rarely is the same menu repeated within 2 weeks. The bar/ lounge is of a high standard and extremely warm and comfortable.
We have spent New Year here for the last 5 years and it has always been excellent. There is usually a coach party as well as private families but whoever you are you are treated like a guest should be. If you are a couple on your own and want somewhere different to spend Christmas or New Year then try this hotel, you will not be sorry.
The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the beach and shops so is very convenient and there is so much to see and do on the island it is ideal.
My husband and I will be back again in April for another few days and we cannot wait. As soon as we are welcomed in the door, literally with open arms, we feel relaxed and know we will be looked after.
Please do not be put off by negative reviews, go to the Riviera and let them look after you, I guarantee you will way more on your return!

Room Tip: There are some lovely sea facing rooms, but if you are unable to climb stairs then do mention this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheSpoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently re visited the Riviera Hotel in Sandown after over twenty years of visiting, we stayed for the New Year break. I have never experienced any problems with staff/food, everyone is always very polite and extremely helpful. All rooms are in the process of being refurbished with new wall paper, light fittings etc. All rooms have digital television and are cleaned daily to a very high standard. Yes some of the furniture in the rooms (not all rooms) may be slightly dated but it is all in working order and are kept very clean.
We are a couple in our 30s that travel with two children and nothing is too much bother, the food they require, they get (very good for my fussy eaters!) The hotel also serves lunches and drinks at midday if required and the owners help is only a ring of a bell away at any time of day or night!
The New Year was fabulous , we were welcomed with open arms, the hotel looked warm and inviting with beautiful decorations and trees. The food as usual was fantastic and a gala dinner was served on new years eve and a very fulfilling brunch on new years day. A range of nibbles was also kept fully stocked in the bar area for the festive period.
The hotel is also only 5 minute walk from a lovely dog free (in the summer)beach with clean waters.
Please don't be put off by some reviews - if youre looking for a relaxing break in a traditional seaside town The Riviera is definately one of the best in Sandown!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we had booked a groupon experience and therefore paid £99 so was not expecting the world. But was expecting a little more than we got. We arrived and shown our room as we were told it was ready. Went up and there was someone there saying yes it was ready but it just needed a hoover. To me that's not ready! (no apology). When we did get in the room it smelt probably the recent hoovering (not nice), it was very dated. mould in the bathroom, damaged 1970's wall paper torn in a number of places. It was like staying at an old peoples home (sorry old peoples home). The actual bed linen was torn in a number of places, and the lighting in the bathroom was dim and the toilet so small your knees hit the wall.

If this is what you expect when you stay in a hotel (even a 2* one) you have been warned. Whilst bad reviews should be taken with a pinch of salt, I would definately take the positive reviews with a bar of salt.

So the outcome was we did not stay there. Whilst the hotel would not give us the money back "groupon" were excellent and refunded the entire booking. Well Done Groupon, but you might want to vet what you are offering a little more in the future.

Regards

A resonable couple

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MrReasonable2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Bearing in mind that this hotel is rated as a 2 star establishment, and having read several derogatory reviews on TripAdviser, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel provided accomodation and food to a very good standard, during my 4 day stay last week ( 19 - 23 Nov 2012).
the room was spacious, and had a double, as well as a single bed, with ample wardrobe space and plentiful drawers. The bed was comfortable with several blankets which were welcome during the colder nights. The room was equipped with adequate heating which i did not use, as i hate the dry air it generates.
Sheets, pillowcases and towels were regularily changed, and tea/ coffee was provided in the room
The breakfast menu was good, and offered full english and continental, as well as a variety of other items. Evening meal menu changed every day, and dishes were to a good standard
The staff were very helpful, and the kitchen was willing to provide an alternative dish on one evening when I didnt fancy the menu offering - not bad for a 2 star establishment.
All in all, the hotel provided a very satisfactory experience, maybe slightly marred by the absence of a lift, but compared with other2 star hotels in Sandown, this one stood out head and shoulders above several .
Evening entertainment was provided, and bar prices were reasonable. Should I visit the Island again in the near future, I will certainly use the Riviera.

Room Tip: Physically disabled persons should request a ground floor room, as the lift is out of action. Some s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TalarwenWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Property: Wight Bay Hotel
Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing