We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Sandown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandown Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We spent a lovely 5 nights at the Sandown Hotel on the recommendation of friends and we weren't disappointed. Our room was clean and faced the sea. The breakfasts were good (we only had B&B) and the staff were helpful and friendly. Couldn't really have asked for more.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickynAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2009

Having travelled alone, I was soon feeling most welcome. The staff are fabulous, the food was great, my room was overlooking the beach!!!! I couldn't have asked for more. I had my birthday during my stay, and was made a fuss of. All in all it was such good value for money, and the location of the hotel is ideal. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, if you're looking forthe "real deal" then this was most definitely it for me. A great big thank you to everyone at the Sandown!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank misselfWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Just come back from a 3 day night at the Sandown Hotel and am pleased to say it was one of the best stays ever on the Island, We have been to many of the coaching hotels and this one is by far the best. On arrival we were greeted with a smile and checked in to our room we were also offered tea or coffee (FREE!!!!) Room was good size clean and sea facing. Parking was no problem.

The food was better then some 5 star hotels we have stayed at, we were told they have a new chef and i must say the roast beef was cooked to perfection.

We were sad to leave the Sandown but will be going back again soon.

We were also told that the hotel has been shut for a few months and everything has been done up so as per the last few reviews you might wanna check out the change.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisakinwinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandowniow, Owner at Sandown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2009

Thank you so much for your positive feedback following your stay with us earlier on this season.

I will of course pass your comments on to our excellent team of staff who are always willing to assist in any way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

The staff were lovely i couldnt fault their hospitality,there were 3 members of staff the whole time,no management at all, one barman (great) receptionist (lovely) waiter also nice,the room we were allocated on arrival was quite frankly the worst room ive ever seen,the leaks in the roof, damp walls,curtains falling down and the smell really took my breath away,we asked to be moved and with no bother at all we were given another room,this room was twice the size,still not particularly pleasent but by far better than the first, we had a kettle but no teabags/coffee in the room which is clearly stated that this facilty is topped up each day,no one came into the room to top up anything,in the reception the wallpaper by the bar is held on with cellotape,all the celings have obviously flooded at some point,the dining room was pleasent enough to look at as long as you didnt look at the months of dust and grime settled on the table legs,the food was absolulty dreadfull(apart from the soup) the potatoes were black and solid,and the yorkshires were totaly burnt,you were allocated 2 potatoes only and there was no point going down to breakfast if you were hungry as the so called 'full Einglish' was served to you on nothing bigger than a side plate, i would never recommend this hotel to anyone as the 2 day break cost me £175 which in my opinion was a waste of money because the brohure i recived couldnt be further away from the truth.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank dissapointed16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

The hotel was lovely. Very budget though. Staff was very friendly. The shower was rubbish! Im used to power showers and the shower was a dribble from the head. The room was very small but in our case it didnt matter as we were out most of the time. Excellent location, about 10-15min walk from the train station. Bus stations were close and seafront and town was 1min walk away. Very good. I will defnatly stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We first used this hotel 3 years ago when we saw the ad in a newspaper for a short break. After contacting the hotel we paid and stayed for a longer break and enjoyed ourselves so much we have been back a further 3 times. I go with my mother-in-law and have also taken my husband and sister all of whom agree that it is perfect for what we require- a quiet hotel with lovely friendly staff. The lst time we went there was one foriegn waiter who actually spoke better english and had better manners than some of the english guests. If you want a quiet vaue for money place to stay , with easy access to various venues then this is the place to be. If you want 5 star,then I would suggest that an ultra modern hotel in some ultra exotic location would be for you. I will recommend this hotel any time, yes the decor could be updated, but friendly faces and welcoming staff are genuine in this hotel, unlike the false platitudes we have experienced in more top market hotels.
Lady Kay
Wisteria House
Gloucestershire

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LadyADKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

The other reviews on this page do not do this hotel justice. We have now visited this hotel 3 times and although the hotels decor maybe dated, don't forget how cheap you got this deal for!!! £80 for 3 nights half bored including your ferry crossing, DO YOU EXPECT THE RITZ?

We have 2 dogs and the hotel staff are always very welcoming. We love the walks along to Shanklin and over the cliffs to Whitecliff bay.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The lounge area in the hotel is fantastic with a nice bar, great sea views and good entertainment a couple of times a week. The food is always delicous and hot, what more can you ask for

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lozysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Hotel

Address: Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $52 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandown Hotel on the Isle of Wight is located centrally on Sandown's beautiful seafront offering friendly hotel accommodation with a variety of rooms, including our newer modernized rooms as well as our budget rooms. The high street with a wide range of shops as well as the golden award-winning beaches are just a few meters away from the hotel's front doors. The hotel provides Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and has large lounge and bar areas to relax in after a long day exploring the Island, with a variety of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages (at an extra cost). Simple breakfast material, such as cereals and toast are offered in the hotel dining room at an extra £3 for adults and £2 for children. Dinner at our sister hotel, the Sandringham, can also be booked at a discounted rate for Sandown Hotel residents if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandown Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing