We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't belive everything you read in the reviews”
Review of The Fernside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fernside
Ranked #13 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for three nights, and yes, the cooked breakfast was good, although a very limited choice of fruit, grapefruit segment and prunes. The room looked very 'Heath Robinson', with cables hanging in bunches behind the tv, running down the doorframes, none of the fixtures & fittings matched. It certainly did not give a feeling of peace and harmony. Soap dispensers not working and containing 'strawberry' smelling soap/shampoo, may be ok for kids, but certainly not for adults. A sheet between ourselves and the duvet would have been nice. The bed was hard, which suited us, but the pillows were also thin and hard, which did not. Behind reception was, what appeared to be a 4 star award from Visit England, but I cannot understand how they could have deserved this. At £40 pppn we did not feel we had value for money and we certainly will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fsx276e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernside, Owner at The Fernside, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

This is very disappointing.
It is evident from all of the other reviews, that the overwhelming majority of our guests leave happy.
It is such a shame that we were unable to meet the expectations of this particular guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Been going to the fernside with my parents for years now, and never disapointed once with our stay. The breakfast is fatastic, with local produce on offer! The rooms are always clean and serviced well, and the Laurie is a superb hotel owner, making everyone feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My son and I booked fairly late (about 2 weeks before arrival and including ferry), and Lawrie couldn't have been more accommodating: everything was sorted out very quickly. On arrival, we found the rooms to be clean, everyone welcoming, a decent-sized breakfast and a shower that worked (not as common an experience as you might think!).
We were so impressed that my son is threatening to return in late July with his girlfriend - Lawrie and Denise, you have been warned! As for me, I'll certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Fernside for 3 nights over the jubilee weekend at the start of June 2012 and had a brilliant stay.

The best bits:
1) Very welcoming and friendly atmosphere. The staff were really helpful throughout our stay.
2) The location- ideally located a short walk from the train station and the beach on a peaceful road- nice and close to bars and restaurants for you to stroll down.
3) Off road car parking facilities.
4) The hotel has good local contacts and knowledge- they can recommend good restaurants and can arrange bike hire etc for you.
5) The breakfast- definitely worth getting out of bed for.
6) The bar and separate seating area which are great for chilling out after a busy day of sightseeing.
7) Our room was spacious, comfy and clean.

We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if we return to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

lovely hotel, rooms spotlessly clean.. beds really comfy,,,breakfast excellent,,,and a good choice,,lawrie very hospitable, and when we had to leave a day early ferry change was organised promptly,,,will definetely stay in Fernside if we return to the island..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mogvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Friendly,welcoming and helpful. Comfortable and good location. Only (very) slight downside is the limited and early breakfast time but I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We spent 3 nights at The Fernside in September, where we met up with 3 other family members. All five of us were impressed by the very helpful service and general ambience of the hotel. We needed the use of a fridge for medication and were given a mini-fridge to use in our room, which was perfect. Breakfast and "bar snacks" excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kravevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernside

Address: 30 Station Avenue, Sandown PO36 9BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: $94 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernside 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run licenced Guest House in an ideal location on the Isle of Wight, The Fernside offers a friendly atmosphere, comfortable accommodation and an excellent breakfast, just a few minutes walk from Sandown station and the town's award-winning beach. Whether you are on holiday or on business, Lawrie and Denise Davis offer a warm welcome and will ensure that your visit to The Fernside is relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fernside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernside Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing