We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bernay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bernay
Ranked #8 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Nortampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic trip!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

37 children and 4 adults spent a fanatstic week at the Bernay. The hotel is in an ideal location for the beach on a quiet road. Jeff and Jeanette were amazing hosts who could not do enough for us and the care of our children where of the upmost importance to them. The food was great with an excellent choice and the rooms were spotless.
We had a great 5 days and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very comfortable and despite being on the front even with my windows open there was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medway, Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Geoff and Jeanette (the owners) are incredibly accommodating and the hotel they run is clean, comfortable and feels like home.

The food is great and the location is perfect for the beach, dinosaur isle, the zoo and shops.

I highly recommend this hotel for school parties and visits to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Bernay, rooms were very clean and well decorated, as well as the normal tea and coffee facilities we were given fresh milk on arrival and our host were very friendly, we stayed in rooms (2 couples) 9 and 10, these rooms have a separate access
so you can come and go as you please. Breakfast was exellent with a choice of just abouit everything you would wish for (including kippers).Well worth the stay and very close to the sea.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 have a seperate access so its not neccessary to go through the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff A, Owner at The Bernay, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Geoff & Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay on the Isle of Wight. It was a perfect break and it was made most perfect by the help and friendliness of our hosts Geoff and Jeanette. The Bernay is ideally situated for Sandown beach, pier, high street and getting around the Island and it means if you eat locally no one has to drive or walk too far. The hotel is very clean and well loved, breakfast is a pleasant calm experience where you can be spoilt rotten and nothing it seems is too much trouble. The only down side was Geoffs 'singing' in the kitchen but a small price to pay! Just joking Geoff it was lovely! Geoff and Jeanette are very helpful and can suggest brilliant eateries and things to do. We have no hesitation in rcommending their fine establishment to anyone from children to seniors. Cannot think of anything that could be done better (apart from Geoffs singing!). Excellent value for mony which is what we all want these days. Thank you both.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff A, Owner at The Bernay, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write them. Sorry about the singing could have been worse, it could have been Jeanette. I will continue with the singing lessons and hopefully there will be some improvement. Kind regards and sincere thanks and we hope to see you again. Geoff & Jeanette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The Bernay is a great hotel and Geof and Jeanette are the perfect hosts. The rooms are spotless as is the rest of the hotel and food is second to none.Nothing is too much trouble for either of them and they really make you feel very welcome. We have been going to the Bernay about eight years now and still keep coming back for more. We thouroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the I.O.W

Room Tip: All rooms are spotless and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank val145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff A, Owner at The Bernay, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I had an amazing 4 days at "The Bernay " and I would recommend " The Bernay" to families, couples and for people who are looking for a mini break or a change or scenery.

Absolutely Brilliant! Everything was spotless, the room was very clean, the bed was really comfortable. My boyfriend and I had everything for our comfort. Breakfast was really nice and the owner Geoff asked what we would like for breakfast the day before, which was really nice.

Geoff also recommended a range of Restaurants / Cafe / Pubs where my boyfriend and I could eat at, which was a plus, but overall our time at The Bernay was excellent. Affordable prices, friendly atmosphere and guaranteed an Excellent service.

Geoff and Jeanette were the Perfect Host, they were friendly and they made sure we had everything for our comfort. My boyfriend and I would definately stay at "The Bernay" again :-)

Well done Jeanette and Geoff you've made The Bernay a success, so keep up the good work.

Many thanks again and all the very best for the New Year 2012.

Waneca & Scott

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanecaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff A, Owner at The Bernay, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you and Scott as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This must be my forth visit this year to The Bernay and have also booked for Christmas week again. The atmosphere is great, the owner is hospitality personified with the best breakfast on the island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fbstard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rooftree Hotel
Rooftree Hotel
#9 of 30 in Sandown
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bell Lodge
The Bell Lodge
#1 of 30 in Sandown
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bernay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bernay

Property: The Bernay
Address: 24 Victoria Road, Sandown PO36 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bernay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Bernay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernay Hotel Sandown
The Bernay Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing