We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dog Friendly Hotel”
Review of Carisbrooke House

Carisbrooke House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carisbrooke House
Ranked #22 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break at Carisbrooke House. We cannot recommend this lovely B&B highly enough. The owners made us feel very welcome and the whole place has a lovely 'homely' feel!
We have quite a large (boisterous!) puppy and she was made welcome as well - they even changed the gorgeous white sheets to something a bit more 'forgiving' after the first day - when they ended up with a loving muddy paw print on them... oops sorry! They said not to worry about muddy paws - which was lovely to hear and really helped us to relax and include our furry family member in our holiday! The room was spacious, had everything you need, and the bed was WAY too comfy - we didn't want to get out!!! Hee hee!!
The hotel could not be any more perfectly placed for dog-owners - it is directly opposite Ferncliffe Gardens which is an ideal place for late night/early morning 'business' trips.... although, be warned.... We nicknamed this park 'Log-opolis' - apparently Isle of Wight dog owners are not quite as good at picking up their dog's 'deposits' as I'm used to....! Watch your step.....! There are MANY MANY MAAAAANY beautiful places to take your pooch though - and we enjoyed cliff top walks, and plenty of ball games on the beach (We visited in February so no restrictions on the beach at this time - think there are restrictions May to Sep!). We met some lovely other dog owners who live on the Island and were more than happy to 'play' for a few minutes - and even share their 'treats'!!
We could not have asked for anything more for breakfast - if you want a delicious and piping hot traditional brekkie then you can't get any better! Plenty of cereal choices, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, very tasty full english and as much tea and toast as we needed! All fresh, hot and delivered in a polite and friendly manner!
The hotel is ideally placed for the town too and is only a few minutes walk away! Ideal location for exploring the rest of the Island too!
We will definitely be returning to The Carisbrooke House - and we definitely recommend it if you're visiting the Isle of Wight - especially if part of your family has fur and paws!
Thank you for making our stay to the Island comfy and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the doggy friendly room - so don't worry if you don't have a pooch - there are oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a short break on the isle of wight and even though i looked at a few places always seemed to come back to the Carisbrooke House page, we booked 2 nights and the Carisbrooke definetely lived up to expectations, Mike & terri the owners couldnt do enough to make our short stay comfortable, advising us on where to go, the room was clean the bed very comfortable and well decorated with brilliant views of Culver Cliffs and Ferncliffe Gardens, breakfast was good and as much choice as we wanted. Definetely recommend The Carisbrooke for people to stay, 5 or 10 mins from the seafront and centre of Sandown also well connected on the main bus route.

Room Tip: Room 4 Kingsize suite room average size but comfortable enough for moving about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTykester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just come back from a few nights here. The bed was very comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. The friendly owners couldn't do enough to help, providing advice on where to visit and directions etc. The cooked breakfast was nice; hot and tasty.
I was concerned about the lack of parking after reading other reviews, but this wasn't an issue for me. I managed to find a space either on the property itself or just outside on the side road (which seemed quiet enough).
Overall our stay was enjoyable and comfortable and good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ijustworkforhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for a week with the better half around a month ago. The room was spotless with excellent facilities, obviously a very well looked after establishment. Service was 5 star and always pleased with the breakfasts layed out for us. A definite re-visit is in order, excellent price! Very ideal location, with only 30 second walk through then adjacent park down to the beach! Having read previous comments, parking really was not an issue for us, with a parking space allocated on site plus spaces all around the hotel, no more than 10 steps from the door. Definite recommendation to anyone looking for great value short or long term breaks!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Carisbrooke house for the duration of four nights, despite the size of the room which was slightly smaller than we had hoped the standard was impeccable! The proprietor's Mike and Terry were extremely hospitable and made us feel very welcome. One day my girlfriend couldn't attend breakfast as she was ill and they provided her with a lemsip without even being asked which we thought was a nice gesture. They recommended us on which locations on the Island would suit our needs and would be suitable with the corresponding weather. The Breakfast menu offered a reasonable selection and the food was good.
However, on a negative note we were very disappointed with the lack of parking spaces available and there was a point during our stay where we had to park the car in an inconvenient spot quite far away from the B&B. Furthermore there was a lack of entertainment in the evening and the bar was only open once in comparison to the nearby residences in which there was daily evening entertainment provided. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend other couples to stay here. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelassiVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights at the end of July and unfortunatly we where a bit disappointed. Our room was very small and therefore a bit of a squeeze, we felt that the room could also do with some refurbishment. Shower was a bit loose and took ages to get hot water.
Food was ok, except we did notice on the breakfast menu that if you wanted any extra breakfast items there was a 75p charge per item. Ok we didn't need any extra items but when you are paying as much as you are for a nights stay Im sure an extra sausage wouldn't make much difference.
Another downside was that there was no parking just street parking we didn't notice at the time of booking.
However the owner was very nice, friendly and helpfull.
Sandown is a great place would recommend a walk on the pier and Bellamys is a great restaurant

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Had a pleasant stay in this B&B, location was convenient for us as visiting relatives nearby.

The room we had was modern and contemporary and the bed comfortable. Close to the road though so could be a little noisy with the windows open.

Hosts were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke House

Address: 11 Beachfield Road, Sandown PO36 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: $58 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Carisbrooke House Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing