We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carisbrooke House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carisbrooke House
Ranked #21 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week with the better half around a month ago. The room was spotless with excellent facilities, obviously a very well looked after establishment. Service was 5 star and always pleased with the breakfasts layed out for us. A definite re-visit is in order, excellent price! Very ideal location, with only 30 second walk through then adjacent park down to the beach! Having read previous comments, parking really was not an issue for us, with a parking space allocated on site plus spaces all around the hotel, no more than 10 steps from the door. Definite recommendation to anyone looking for great value short or long term breaks!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Carisbrooke house for the duration of four nights, despite the size of the room which was slightly smaller than we had hoped the standard was impeccable! The proprietor's Mike and Terry were extremely hospitable and made us feel very welcome. One day my girlfriend couldn't attend breakfast as she was ill and they provided her with a lemsip without even being asked which we thought was a nice gesture. They recommended us on which locations on the Island would suit our needs and would be suitable with the corresponding weather. The Breakfast menu offered a reasonable selection and the food was good.
However, on a negative note we were very disappointed with the lack of parking spaces available and there was a point during our stay where we had to park the car in an inconvenient spot quite far away from the B&B. Furthermore there was a lack of entertainment in the evening and the bar was only open once in comparison to the nearby residences in which there was daily evening entertainment provided. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend other couples to stay here. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelassiVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights at the end of July and unfortunatly we where a bit disappointed. Our room was very small and therefore a bit of a squeeze, we felt that the room could also do with some refurbishment. Shower was a bit loose and took ages to get hot water.
Food was ok, except we did notice on the breakfast menu that if you wanted any extra breakfast items there was a 75p charge per item. Ok we didn't need any extra items but when you are paying as much as you are for a nights stay Im sure an extra sausage wouldn't make much difference.
Another downside was that there was no parking just street parking we didn't notice at the time of booking.
However the owner was very nice, friendly and helpfull.
Sandown is a great place would recommend a walk on the pier and Bellamys is a great restaurant

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Had a pleasant stay in this B&B, location was convenient for us as visiting relatives nearby.

The room we had was modern and contemporary and the bed comfortable. Close to the road though so could be a little noisy with the windows open.

Hosts were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We booked a last minute holiday in the isle of wight just recently and found a little gem of a guest house. Very nice couple run it they could not be more helpful if they tired. The service was good the rooms lovely and clean. The food good and plentiful. We would recommend this guest house to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eagle123056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

We stayed here on a school trip. The food was great and the people were lovely. Mike and Terry the owners of the hotel were happy to give us our lunch to take out as a picnic. The beds were comfortable. The hotel was warm and welcoming and we were very happy to head back to the hotel for some peace and quiet. We would like to thank Mike and Terry for a relaxing stay at their hotel in Sandown.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharpertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chad Hill Hotel
Chad Hill Hotel
#16 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke House

Property: Carisbrooke House
Address: 11 Beachfield Road, Sandown PO36 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carisbrooke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carisbrooke House Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing