We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little inn”
Review of Yarbridge Inn

Yarbridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We our a cosy little Pub/Restaurant that serves good wholesome traditional pub grub. Local produce is key to our cooking and use it where ever possible. We cater for all kinds of dietary requirements so just ask one of our friendly members of staff who will advise on our options. Although it says in our description 'Vegan options' we do not offer as many choices as the heading would lead you to believe. It is something I have tried to change but in vain. We do our best to cater for all so if you are Vegan please say when booking and we can discuss with you our options or create something for you if given enough time. We do love your furry four legged friends but when booking it is important to mention it to us so we can seat you accordingly. Unfortunately we are very small so our toilets do not have baby change facilities and it would also be tricky to get a wheelchair in them. Apart from the toilets we are great for wheelchair access with tarmac car pack and no steps to negotiate on entering if sat in our top restaurant. Jane, Richard, Becky and the team look forward to serving you soon.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had dinner here while I was staying at the guest house across the road. Friendly family run inn, good beer and good food. Very reasonable prices.

Thank cmcm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckyfox, Manager at Yarbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi!

Thank you for the fantastic review! We do hope to see you in the future.

Best wishes

Becky Fox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 895 of 975 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hi we have seen that the Yarbridge Inn was getting great reviews and as we had friends staying with us we thought we would eat here.

When we arrived the floor was still being washed with the strong smell of disinfectant, the fire was alight but it was still really cold.

Our food was very good, as was the beer, but the atmosphere was decidedly chilly, perhaps we will try again when the weather is better.

Thank SandyIsle0fWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckyfox, Manager at Yarbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi Sandy

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so sorry that the restaurant was cold on the occasion you visited us. Please let me assure you that this is an unusual occurrence so please don't let it stop you from coming back to us again. We really hope we see you again in the future.

Best wishes

Becky Fox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the outside The Yarbridge Inn looks like a typical fairly nondescript pub, but you'll be glad you stopped there. We were a 3 generation family group with a teenager and a 80 year old incuded and everyone found something they wanted to eat on the large and varied menu, and everyone pronounced their meal delicious. The family who run the place were very welcoming and the bill at the end of the night offered decent value for such a nice evening.

The clincher is that next day we all agreed we should go back again for another meal - if anything, even better than the first time.

Next time we're on the Isle of Wight we'll defintiely be going again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrisbusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckyfox, Manager at Yarbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi Chris!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I remember your family very well and it really was a pleasure to serve you on both occasions. I really hope we'll see you all again at some point.

Best wishes

Becky Fox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were made very welcome and had a delightful evening here. The food is excellent and we had a 10% discount because we stayed at the Adgestone Vineyard B+B ~ bonus was the log fire

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diemem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckyfox, Manager at Yarbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi Diemem

Thank you for such a great review. I remember you both well and I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the discount we give to guests using the accommodation at The Adgestone Vineyard. We also give the same discount to anyone wishing to stay around the corner at The Oaklands Hotel.

Myself and my family are so happy we were able to please you and look forward to seeing you again if you ever return to the island. I hope you enjoyed the wedding you were here for.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My fiancée took me her for a meal and it was just lovely!! We were made to feel very welcome and the atmosphere is cosy and relaxing, we both ended up eating 3 courses and none of the courses disappointed us, home cooked food at its finest!!will definitely be returning with friends,people that haven't discovered this little gem need to!!Can definitely see why the family run pub/restaurant has great reviews! Thanks again and see you soon x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckyfox, Manager at Yarbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi TimandSarah8875

Thank you for such a glowing review, you are right we are hidden but your review helps people to find us so it is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yarbridge Inn also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight, England
 

Been to Yarbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing