We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the money, a bargain!.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairway Holiday Park
Ranked #12 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sandown
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For the money, a bargain!.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The setting of the holiday park is very pleasant, and was really happy with the quality and cleanliness of our caravan, As this was a Sun holiday, I didnt expect to get the size of caravan that we did, as previously on Sun holidays we have ended up in quite small units, this time though, we had a full six berther for just the 2 of us, what bliss!.

The parks "amenities" are not something I can really comment on, as apart from night time, we were never in the camp, but like other reviewers have noted all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The park is a 10 minute walk from Sandown railway station, and from there you can journey into Ryde, or you can alight at Smallbrook Junction and spend a fun day on the Isle of Wight steam railway.

Would recommend this park and also the area for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    26
    17
    36
See reviews for
91
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
poole
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our 7th holiday with the Sun newspaper, upon reading the previous reviews i was a bit worried about what to expect !!!!

I arrived with my mother, and my 2 daughters aged 10 and 12, we were met by very friendly and polite staff and the caravan site looked very modern, welcoming, clean and tidy. We could not fault our own caravan, it was one of the modern ones, did not smell of cigarettes or of damp. Very nice just what we have had at other sites with the Sun holiday. No DVD player with the tv. The park is kept very clean and tidy. Local Spar shop across the road.

We didnt use any of the facilities on the site, but of what we saw when walking past the bar and amusements they looked very nice.

There is a lovely circular walk starting from the park on the bridle way, about 5 miles. we used o/s map.

We also caught the train to Ryde Pier from Sandown station ( £9.00 return for a family of 4), a 5 min walk from the park. There is a cinema in Ryde called the Commodore which has current films but only £2.50 each, quite an old cinema but great value for money,(at the top of the high street). Ring tourist information.

All in all we had a very enjoyable and pleseant stay at Fairway holiday park and would definitely return.

Dont be put off by previous comments.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put into a budget caravan. We had the next one up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leekeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we got here we went to our first caravan and we had one problem with it, reported it to reception and got upgraded straight away, very friendly and caring staff, very happy with our stay, going to come back in Feb :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brantjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Fairways. We enjoyed our stay last year but not this time. Our caravan was the 2nd from there top van. I think it was called a Carisbrooke. It was basic and the carpets were very dirty. Upon arrival The small bedroom had a massive mildew stain and it smelt really strong. The bedroom was pretty much unusable. They do not supply you with an electric kettle or toaster. There was absolutely no entertainment at all not even for the kids which we found very, very poor. We will not be returning again. There are alot of improvements to be made. It wasnt a cheap weekend either so I would suggest stay somewhere else where there is something for the kids and the vans are a liitle bit nicer!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RRtheboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

no facilities for tourers although it states there is !!! you have to walk through the trees (approx 7 mins) to the showers which is through the amusement arcade, not good if your use to walking a few steps in your robe !! like most camps !! no where to wash your dishes like most camps!! swimming pool is tiny, not really deep enough to swim but the worst part of the holiday was the entertainment!! for a start we was told it would be on upto and inc sat 1st sept but it wasnt !! start the evening with bingo (states 8pm start but it was more like 830/9).every tues there is a 60s group which was infact 2 men aged approx 75 who couldnt sing, everyone looked bored !! the rest of the week was a young girl singer called jess....had a sweet voice i suppose but again very boring !! i like to get up and dance....no chance of that here !! karaoke a few times a week but everything had to be turned down quiet from 11pm (couldnt hear ourselves sing lol) as the static owners complained about the noise from club. my 2 lads aged 11 and 15 got told off by 2 different static owners for riding there scooters (they were on the touring field for gods sake). it was mid afternoon to....they said the noise upset there dogs !!! would never return !!!

Room Tip: no good for tourers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chinadoll1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

having just returned from a four day break 190 pounds ,u get what u pay for the caravan was a countessa 6 berth old and tired but serviceable, although the shower was mouldy could do with a deep clean, site nice and clean ,pool lovely and heated. club house ok but entertainment a lot to be desired no kids entertainment, handyman a bit strange acted like he owned the camp,but enjoyed our holiuday and would go again if u just want somewhere to stay. club house expencive 5.35 pint of beer 4.35 voidka coke but found the spar over the road good value for beers and groceries,bingo every night for an hour,only let down there were three traveller families on holiday children were wild and had dogs with them ,but didnt spoil our holiday,would go again,staff friendly apart from handyman,who told children off for jumping in pool and playing ball outside caravan but they did have play area,so fair comment,just didnt want small children wandering off on their own,caravan tired and dated but u didnt have to worry with small children,quiet site,would go again

Room Tip: dont book budget go for contessa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We weren't expecting much... but we were surprised! We were in caravan E17. It was a clean caravan but it was a little small, even for a family of 4. There wasn't that much entertainment apart from bingo and singing but it is great value for money. I would suggest that people should go for the 8 berth caravans as they are more spacious. Those of a generous size would struggle to use the toilet and the shower cubicle. The staff were very friendly and helpful though...

Room Tip: Try and get a caravan near the park, swimming pool, cluhouse or amusement arcade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaushik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.1 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
5.0 mi away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#1 of 2 in Rookley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fort Holiday Park
Fort Holiday Park
#3 of 12 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.5 mi away
St Helens Holiday Park
St Helens Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in St Helens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Holiday Park

Property: Fairway Holiday Park
Address: The Fairway, Sandown PO36 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sandown
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Holiday Park is situated in Sandown, on the beautiful Isle of Wight. The island itself is acknowledged as being one of the sunniest places in Britain with magnificent beaches and breathtaking scenery - the ideal setting for a carefree, relaxing holiday. For those of you who enjoy the beach, Sandown Bay is only a 25 minutes walk away. The bay boasts one of the most glorious beaches on the island and is ideal for children. No matter how you spend your holiday, Fairway Holiday Park will make it one of your best, with plenty to do and to see on this fabulous island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairway Holiday Park Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing