We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aspirational”
Review of The Beach Shack

The Beach Shack
Ranked #12 of 54 Restaurants in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $51
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: WE ARE NOW open daily for the coming season
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“aspirational”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Located at one end of Sandown and at the start of a promenade walk to Shanklin, you might not find this place unless you were keen to walk and explore.
We used it twice in one day, once for coffee , accompanied by a home cooked, quality rock cake and all was well.
We returned for lunch but did not select the much praised Fishcakes. Our food was ok,good value and tasty but maybe did not show off the chefs ability .
The place is brick, good clean toilets too.
They stay open late for dinner some evenings and could well be a place to keep an eye on. For sure, it's not just burgers and chips, they aspire to use local produce and offer variety.
Would use agin and try the other menu options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodburris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    63
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and attentive service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Met a friend for lunch and catch up at The Beach Shack. Service was attentive and polite. The seating area was comfortable. We both had the crab cakes and they are huge and light with veg mixed in with really good quality light crab meat. The chips are handcut and even have skin and the salad is pretty and attractive. If you want crab patties this is not the dish for you, but we both enjoyed it and in fact my friend is intending to return this week with her family. The prices are very reasonable and there is a good selection of dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the crab cakes”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here before and been very impressed. This visit I tried the crab cakes and was very disappointed. They were burnt on the outside and undercooked and runny on the inside. Reminded me of bubble and squeak with a little crab replacing the potatoe. Shame as my wife's meal and my chips were very good. We both thought the accompanying salad was average.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12Phil34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coffee and sand”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent coffee and fabulous views. Food choices were also good, but on this occasion we did not partake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't go again”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We decided to try The Beach Shack as we got caught in a heavy shower, our usual place is further along the beach.Terrible disabled access. Had to lift the wheelchair up two large steps. No offer of assistance.Surprised that they are one of the few restaurants on the Island that doesnt allow dogs therefore ours had to sit outside in the rain! Not happy. Will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We don't usually respond to reviews but in this case we feel we should. When you came into the restaurant you asked whether dogs were allowed inside. I said that our policy was guide dogs only, there is also a sign on the front door indicating this. We adopted this policy based on feedback we received from existing customers when we open our new indoor seating area in May. You decided to come in anyway and your dog sat on the patio area under a parasol. As you say, the heavens opened, which resulted in the café being full within minutes. We agree we do not have special disabled access. This is indeed unfortunate, but the café is built on the revetment which is on a slope. This means that there is a step up to each access, but not stairs. Disabled access is possible, but does indeed mean negotiating a step into the café. The revetment is council property and is used for emergency vehicles so it is not, and never will be, possible for us to build a sloped access there. Despite the fact that we were very busy because we were probably the only establishment in the vicinity open in the rain, we would have tried to assist had we been asked. However, we were not and could see that there were three of you. We did, however, move two chairs away from the double doors when you were leaving to allow you easier access, but perhaps this went unnoticed.
We are not sure what your "usual establishment" does in such circumstances, but do not feel that you were badly treated and regret that you feel you may have been. We hope that you did, however, enjoy your lunch, which is not mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Shack also viewed

 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing