We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband had booked this as a romantic 50th Birthday trip for me. When we arrived at the hotel there were quite a few people being seen to so we were hurriedly told where our room was. We asked if we could have room service for breakfast and were told to look in our information pack in our room.
Our room was nice but the small cover on the bed was dirty (I have photos) There was lots of dust in the bathroom. To reach the extractor fan switch you had to stand on a chair. There were dirt marks on the wall.No bottle opener for wine. The 'Larger selection of complimentary Spa Therapy toiletries' were only enough for one person.The dressing gowns have seen better days. No menus in informationpack so had to ask in reception who rudely told us to give it back as soon as possible.
Breakfast was not hot. Dinner menu was the same both evenings we were there.
People have to walk from their bedrooms to the areas where they have their treatments which means going passed reception where people are booking in and out.
There was a lot of rubbish around the car parking areas.
It wasnt a comfortable stay, the reception staff need to be taught how to deal with people with a smile as well as listen to what is being said. Have emailed hotel to complain but havent heard back from them.
If you want a romantic weekend away dont go to Melville Hall.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisy but more stairs
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CazA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
There are newer reviews for Melville Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was not our first stay here and again we enjoyed the visit. The staff are very friendly and the Restaurant is good with a wide variety of dishes. We had a deal which included the ferry and Dinner. The Hotel is in need of someone to check the rooms we had a blown ceiling bulb and the towel bar kept falling off the side of the shower screen. The only major complaint is the fact that there is zero sound proofing between rooms. We were on the ground floor and heard the people in the room above us walking about and talking which was disturbing. In the morning at 7am we were woken by the room above dropping something on the floor. The door on the detox box was quite dirty. They do need more parking.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor to avoid noise from other rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from a brilliant relaxing break at Melville hall hotel where nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. The spa is highly recommended too especially the scalp massage! The food is also of the highest quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAdyHarrisRedfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my husband on an great deal Amazon Local Deals.
Great room, very welcoming staff and good food.
Everywhere was to a high 3 star standard and only found one area that was not nice, the pool which had a tide mark round the edge - yuk
The deal included two treatments which were great, but the pool/jacuzzi/sauna area were really quite small.
Would stay again, many pluses, only the pool cleanliness let the place down.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 night break in February. Within 5 minutes of arriving new had made a mistake with online room choice. Explained to lady at desk room was to small that bed was to small (4 poster but small in size!!). Was told hotel booked fully and this was room we booked which I agreed but explained was willing to pay more but no we are full sorry was answer again. Bathroom had hair from previous occupant in bath, on bath side next to towels and on sink. Clearly missed by cleaners. Went out for evening (valentines evening) found lovely bar in high street. Had fantastic evening. Got back to hotel had drink in bar then turned in for the night. Could here couple upstairs conversations until 2am and couple next doors tv choice also till around 2ish. Got up at 7am totally exhausted. Explained to reception staff not happy but told sorry we are full blah blah blah. Decided that was not staying another night so trekked out and found another hotel. Sandringham Hotel on seafront. Explained our previous night. Gave us fantastic room for £70. Sea view huge room room huge bathroom massive balcony. Sorted. Went to check out of melville and explained to another lady reasons why checking out early and she said I can move you sir if that would help to make your stay more comfortable. Sorry I said I was told you are full!! ... Enough said. Melville not for me sorry. Sandringham yes please!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovesfooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hi,
well we are just getting ready to leave this hotel after our longed for spa break. Are we impressed and would be return - NO.
The hotel has been cold since we arrived (yes, the weather has been cold outside, just below freezing,but we expect a hotel to be able to cope). The heating was not on in our room when we arrived and most of the hotel is heated by electricity and is permanently cold.
The detox boxes have both been out of order at sometime during our 4 day stay.The tiles round the pool are filthy and have not been cleaned despite our pointing the matter out. The leisure /pool area could do with a good clean.
Towels ard robes vary, some are good condition , others are threadbare.
Meal in the reataurant was excellent one night but not as good on the other.
Drinks are expensive, the cheapest bottle of wine £16.95.
There is no sign of a manager anywhere. The staff are nice but the male waiter (Alan, I think) is the best, he is excellent.
Toiletries very nice.
No consistant standards, one day a thing is done , the next not (eg tea tray refilled properly one day, not the next. Restauarant open on time one evening but not the next).
Not enough attention to detail.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmad54uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have just been looking through the reviews for the Melville hotel!! I have just booked again to visit this very nice hotel for the fourth year. Some of the reviews must have been written by the royal familly as the three previous time I stayed here it was great, its not a 5 star but what do you want for the money they charge?. Its clean in the rooms the food is very good if a little pricy. the hotel is small but has excellent familly service but you do have to book early for your spa sessions. The pool is small but nice & I had the sauna to myself. Two minuites walk to the beach & a great walk to shanklin along a flat path. Great base, great trip, great place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teepeeYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
849 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $107 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing