We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melville Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend and had a really lovely time. OK, it's not the newest hotel in the world but as long as you're not expecting the Ritz then it is absolutely ideal for a weekend break. Within walking distance of the town center, railway station and bus links. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and the breakfast was superb. Had read the reviews before we went and really didn't understand some of the comments. If you want a 5* hotel break then pay 5 times the price and go for it! Otherwise, this was very good value for money and I would be more than happy to go return for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front so you are away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    468
    160
    63
    59
See reviews for
90
750
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for a birthday treat, the rooms are very tired and not very clean. The decor of the hotel is that of a retirement home that has not had a lick of paint since 1970. The food is poor and the staff look as if they would rather be elsewhere. The "Spa" consists of a tiny pool and two little cabins-sauna room. I felt upset that this was not how it looked on the internet. Do not book this hotel if you want a relaxing spa day/break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluff_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a 3 day/2 night Spa break at this hotel booked via Travel Zoo offer. I didn't know what to expect having read some previous reviews of the hotel and was a bit hesitant but I couldn't have been more surprised. Everything was great, lovely superior room, very clean. All the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. A four course dinner on the first evening was included as was buffet breakfast each morning, the food was excellent and the buffet breakfast had a very good selection of cereals, fresh fruit etc and also full english and other cooked items. The spa facilities were also very good, lovely warm pool and even an outdoor heated spa if you wanted to use it. There were two 30 minute treatments per person included in the price and even the ferry was included. All in all we had an excellent break which was tremendous value for money - I don't know how they do it for the price. Would thoroughly recommend and will be returning.

Room Tip: Room 126 is very nice superior room with four poster bed on the first floor over looking the front l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at the Melville last week for three nights , after reading somr reviews was a little hesitent , however we fould the Hotel excellent , rooms clean and adequate , the food in the restaurant was very good so much so we cancelled our resevations at a local restaurant , we found the staff very helpful going out of the way to help a lady who was very ill , we were impressed.Paul Milton

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked a 3 day 2 night spa break via Travel Zoo.
Although the rooms were a little tired evrything was clean and tidy.
The staff were attentive.
The foodin the evening was excellent, but it was a little disapointing not having any fresh fruit at breakfast.
The plunge pool and sauna area was adequate for our needs. As the weather was persistantly raining we didn't venture out side to the heated water tub.However ther was one man making his statement by using it.
Would recommend this Hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hershamrulesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from a three day/two night break at this hotel, staying on Tuesday and Wednesday night. This was an offer from TravelZoo and the price included free return ferry with car, double bedroom with ensuite, four course a la carte dinner on the first night, a bottle of wine in the room, and two thirty minute spa treatments each. We had read reviews before we went and were very apprehensive as to what we might be letting ourselves in for. On arrival we were not too impressed by the reception area or the tired and dated lounge and could not understand why a rather dilapidated aquarium took such prominence. However, the pleasant greeting we received more than compensated for this and we were most impressed with the bedroom. We were lucky enough to have been allocated a roomy, well furnished room with a king size bed and luxury mattress. Maybe we were lucky but there were no noises off and we had only a few stairs to climb. The ensuite was very clean with plenty of hot water and a heated towel rail. We enjoyed the Spa pool , the jacuzzi and the sauna which were clean but perhaps rather small. We thought that ,at busy times, it would be definitely overcrowded. We were provided with nice robes which was a bonus, especially as we moved from the Spa into the treatment rooms for the half hour specials. The facial and manicure were enjoyable and I almost felt inclined to pay the extra for a full time treatment. Men's offers are rather more restricted for the thirty minutes allowed but the head massage and the foot and leg massage was apparently very relaxing. We felt that all the meals were of a very high standard. The breakfast menu was very varied and plentiful as was the dinner menu. Each course was well presented, good portions, and nicely cooked. Coffee and mints were also included. The wine waiter and the waitresses could not have been more pleasant and helpful.
If modern decor and window dressing, modern furniture and light colour carpets are important then this is not the hotel to choose. For comfort, good food,pleasant atmosphere and nice location then look no further ! Excellent value and good researching by TravelZoo.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, no view but very quiet. Our friends were on the ground floor at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenken72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend. It is the third or fourth time we have stayed at the hotel in the past few years and are sad to say that the standards have dropped considerably since our first visit.

The price for the stay was high but one doesn’t mind paying more for good service – unfortunately we did not receive it.

Good points:-

1. The breakfast and serving staff was of a high standard.
2. Bar staff were every helpful, if not a bit slow.
3. Swimming pool outside had been refurbished to a high standard since our last visit.

Bad Points:-

1. The room we were allocated was given to a couple who had complained about the standard of the room they were allocated. We found this out after speaking to them.
2. When booking we had been assured we would be getting a “better” room, although one without a spar bath – they had already been allocated.
3. The room (003) on the ground floor was small and not very well cleaned. Not up to expectation.
4. The sink in the bathroom had a leak that got worse during the second day. Maintenance attended to the leak quickly when informed.
5. Room cleaning was inadequate with detritus being missed on the floor and dressing gown just thrown over my wife’s make-up.
6. Our first evening meal was booked for 8.00pm and my wife and I (and another couple) waited at the door from 7.55. No one came so we sat down and waited. At 8.05 we managed to attract the waiter’s attention and he informed us “The kitchen closes at 8.00”. He did not deal with our complaint well and when he realised that we wouldn’t back down he said they would serve us but “The chef had thrown away the starters so we would have the choice or soup and one other dish”.
7. My wife complained to reception and we were given a discount off the next Evening meal – this was very poor and not worth the money. Over salted and at best could be described as “Pub Grub”. Needless to say on the last night we went to a pub in Ventnor and had an excellent meal for a fraction of the price!!!
8. The staff, although pleasant, did not appear to have any “management structure”. No one appeared to be in charge.
9. My wife left some clothes in the room and when she rang to ask if they had been handed in by the cleaner the receptionist said she would check – Yes we got the expected response “No call back”. My wife rang the next day and we are still waiting for a response. She has rang again because no call had been received and was “fobbed off” – not good customer service; an understatement!

I can say that it is extremely unlikely that we will be staying again at this hotel! I will use trip advisor to find something more suitable.

As they say a happy customer will tell a few friends but an unhappy one will tell dozens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Travelocity so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing