We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Caulkheads

The Caulkheads
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle(weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first visit to this pub. We particularly wanted to watch the band that were playing so phoned to book a table as near to the band as possible. We got a table in a superb position and ordered our food. A variety of dishes ordered, nachos, a mixed grill that was excellent and sizzling fajitas and cauliflower cheese from the specials board. Staff were all friendly and helpful and food cooked well with good size portions. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would certainly visit this pub again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We have to say the band 'Lucid' are one of the best on the island and have just released their 4th album, They are a regular feature at the pub and all over summer every Friday night is a band or themed disco.
so glad you booked as we do get very busy during the summer, We also now have a carvery on Sundays, when you next visit please try this as all fresh and home cooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    112
    56
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pub Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just down the road about 100 yards from the Wight Montrene Hotel. Excelent for a reasonably priced lunch and shyould be good for people with children as they have a kiddies menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank monty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so happy you came and visited us, We are on the main road to the beach and close to many of the hotels and self catering establishments. We have a very extensive menu and also have some meal deals on all over the summer with two Reg meals for £9.99 and also kids meal for £1 if you order a large meal.
With our indoor play area and also outdoor garden and decking with climbing boat and swing we hope to satisfy most customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, Uk
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“welcoming with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

had a meal at this establishment and the food was good, served in a timely fashion by friendly staff. fairly good selection also for vegetarian.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHertfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review,
We work hard to maintain a pleasent surroundings and hope we can cater for most tastes.
please visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good family pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Took the family to Caulkheads, nice indoor area for the little one to play in safety. As for the food, they had some good offers, kids eat for £1, or two main meals for £9.99. Portion size was generous and we didn't have to wait long, this may have been because it was quiet. Being a large pub with a large amount of table space, this may increase at busy times. We would defiantly return here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davedagger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank your for your review, We are so glad you enjoyed our portion sizes and deals...Come back and try our new menu with locally sourced food still with the great deals and Sunday carvery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A bit lifeless ! Needs a face lift”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a meal and a few drinks in here the night we arrived . The food was nice ,as we're the drinks.,but no atmosphere. There was hardly anyone else in there. They used to have live bands there on a Friday and Saturday and were really busy. Aimed more at families and cheap dining.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Caulkheads and other places in Sandown.
Yes, unfortunately, Sandown is very quiet at the moment and does need a face lift which is why a lot of businesses in Sandown have joined together to try and envourage more investment in the area and the town.
We do still have Friday night entertainment during the main season. However, we are now focusing our attention on great quality locally sourced food, which you stated was good and cheap. We have just started a Sunday carvery which has proved to be very popular after only one week. Pleascome back when you are next on the Isle of Wight, hopefully it will have a bit more atmosphere...Support your local town and independant retailers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Caulkheads also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Brading, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Newchurch, Sandown
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Caulkheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing