We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack luster”
Review of The Caulkheads

The Caulkheads
Ranked #14 of 58 Restaurants in Sandown
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle(weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The menu was not very good the staff seemed more interested in chatting than serving. The dining area was not welcoming the food was average but overpriced
l

Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

With over 120 meals on our current menu and at least 5 on our daily specials board I find it hard to believe the menu is not very good.
We encourage our friendly staff to talk to customers and glad to hear they were doing their job
Our dining area is a standard pub set up catering for 120 people at a time,
We have three areas, Childrens section with play area, Bar area with pool table and adult dining area, but obviously not to your taste.
With 2 meals for £9.99 and Kids eat for £1.00 I don't feel our homemade food with a lot of fresh ingredients is overpriced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 349 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Have had 2 great meals in the caulkheads this weekend. My son loves the soft play area and it means we dont have to try to keep him entertained while we wait for our food

1  Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is fine if you want family dining but if its two of you, I would chose to go somewhere else, the meal was ok, and reasonably priced, but nothing special

Thank NorthamptonSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The usual stock menu found in average food-pubs. Well cooked and nicely presented. Value for money for what it is. Let down by surly bar staff who were more interested in chatting with their regulars than taking orders from 'visitors'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PastorDavidDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

if you want just burger and chips it is probably fine but when you are used to having onion rings, salad and coleslaw then you would be as disappointed as we were

Thank niecey-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Very sorry you were dissapointed with your visit to Caulkheads
Not really understanding your review.

Are you reviewing our 6oz homemade burgers with homemade coleslaw or did you opt for the kids burger only option at the cheaper £1.00 price when ordered with a main meal that does not come with the salad / onion ring option
also did you have the chips option or the options of Jacket potato, new potatoes or rice with peas, sweetcorn, or fresh veg. As all options are available on nearly all meals.
We also have buttons on our tills for virtually every other option to amend meals for example extra cheese, and for the small times we have a see staff button where the waitress will go and see chef and tell him exactly what you require.

The vast majority of our 120+ meals are home made and come with various options of potatoes, rice, fresh veg (peas are frozen)

We are however, in the process of redesigning our menu and bringing in a few ideas we have been trialing over the winter from our specials board that have gone down a storm.

It also appears we missed a trick with our advertising as not only is our menu nearly all home cooked we also purchase locally where we can.

Please try us again... and try something from the specials board...or from the main menu...our chefs are always creating, and will cook your meals fresh, the way you like it with any options you require.
Please do remember though, that this could mean a slight delay on getting the food to your table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Caulkheads also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Caulkheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing