We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not improved at all..”
Review of Bayshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayshore Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“not improved at all..”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second visit to the Bayshore Hotel and we did hope that the service had improved a bit... it hasnt. Last time we nearly walked out of the dining room as the service was so slow.. this time we did.. more on that later..

We arrrived on Good Friday after a long trip down with Alfa coaches. We were told to go straight in for dinner as we were late.. this was not ideal as we did want to get changed and freshen up but we all trouped in together. We were seated by the window... good as sea view we thought... yes there was a sea view but also one hell of a draught as the window looked like it was held shut with a screw or nail . We asked nicely if we could move but we were told that guests were using the other warmer tables.. we soon realised this was not true.. we were the only coach party staying that weekend and there was only 40 of us so service should not have been a problem .. We made allowances for the first night.. but things did not get better, slow is not the word for it.. We waited 20 mins between drinking a small watered down glass of juice and our order being taken for a very small main course. I had the roast lamb.. it couldnt have been cut thinnner if it had been needed for a skin graft!! The bread and butter pudding was lacking in any flavour what so ever,, the custard was basics instant.. yuck !

After dinner we went to collect our keys and unpack. the suitcases had been left outside the rooms. We tried to have a shower as we had been travelling all day but the shower attachment was broken and unusable.. We did report it and we were offered a choice of two other rooms nearby to move to.

Breakfast next morning we went down at the allotted time on the room card and sat and waited... and waited... after 20 mins of being ignored by the staff we walked out and had breakfast eslewhere. We ate out that night too.. we couldnt face another mammoth wait for a meal .

We were out on a trip that day but when we got back the room hadnt been made up .. housekeeping had not been told we d changed rooms.. another wait for fresh towels etc.

Last morning we had to be up early for the ferry back to the mainland and breakfast was at 6.45am for everyone. We were all outside the dinning room waiting for the door to open.. again the service was so slow that some of our coach party were still eating their bacon and eggs at 7.30am .. the time we were due to leave at! As a result of us leaving late we missed our ferry by a few mins and it looked like we going to be stuck waitng til 12noon when there was a place on the ferry for us.. being Bank Holiday all the ferries were booked up. The driver decided to take us to Newport .. God knows why as at that time in the morning there was nowhere open but on the way a bloke at the front of the coach suggested that we go back on the Red Funnel.. afew phone calls later and it was finally sorted and headed off to Cowes. We were lucky that there was space on the ferry from Cowes and we were glad to be on it to be honest.

I dont think we' ll be back to this hotel .. the service in the dining room lets it down big time.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jill1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    71
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
31
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from a New Year break in the Bayshore Hotal with Alfa coach holidays. Coach and driver (John) were first class. John’s knowledge of the Isle of Wight was impressive; he made the trips around the island very interesting. The hotel is very dated and in need of refurbishment, but was kept very clean. The room we were allocated only had a bath, no shower. I suffer with arthritis so found this very difficult. The food was very good, well cooked and always hot. Where the hotel really failed was the lack of choice of drinks in the bar. Only one draught bitter and one lager. They had no Guinness although there was a pump, no port, no single malt whisky, no Baileys, no Archers, although the manager did go out and buy a bottle. This is a problem with other Alfa hotels where I have stayed. Needless to say we found other pubs in the area. There were five in our party and we spent over £200 on drinks on New Years Eve alone, this could have gone in the hotel’s till had they had a better choice.
The weather did let us down but that is no fault of Alfa and it was the end of December. I’ve been to three Alfa hotels but because of their poor choice of drinks I will not be going again. It’s back to Lochs and Glens in Scotland next New Year, they really know how to celebrate.

Room Tip: Check whether is a bath/shower or just a bath. Sea view is also a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank trevslat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, Essex.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well, what can I say, hotel clean and tidy, staffpleasent, housekeeping had a lot to be desired, halfway through our break i left the towels in the shower tray to be changed, they were still there when I got back from a day trip, my husband went to reception to ask for some clean ones and was told that they would be in the room by the time we had finished dinner. After dinner we stayed for a drink in the bar and then watched the entertainment. On getting back to our room the towes were 'STILL' in the shower tray!!! I went down and complained, the towels were delivered to the room 8 hours after complaining. The food was ok but no coleslaw with the salad so i had to buy some myself! The food was good overall but very small portions. The hotels ok but woldnt stay there again xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirby_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and myself stayed here from 24th september for 4 nights. We arrived a little later than expected and as our luggage was'nt off the coach and we were asked to go and have our meal ASAP we did so. we were seated at a table for 4 which was fine, we were at the table with another 2 ladies who were on our coach,we were all looking forward to the meal having been travelling all day I chose the gammon I was most dissapointed when it arrived it was covered in sauce so at first I did'nt realise that it was not GAMMON but slices of cooked ham i do know the difference between the two, my husband chose the hake it was very small. it was called cod on the menu the next night it was hake,the turkey was rolled turkey, and the portion sizes of the roast beef well the other couple on the table were served first and they looked ok but when ours came we were shocked to see that in fact ours were much smaller we only had one very small slice of beef and smaller portion of vegtables the others had TWO bigger slices of beef the waiters were not to blame the servers in the kitchen should get together and sort it out.the waiters could not speak wery good english and SAID not understand every time we tried to point out anything that was wrong.All pensioners do not have small appetites and no tastebuds.The view or lack of it was very dissapointing if we got up against the window we could see what appeared to be part of a building and lots of trees.Our room was clean.This was our first trip to the I.O.W hopefully not our last but not in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NewcastleEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is just across the road from the beach and the pier and there is a 100 yard uphill walk to the main shops. The road outside is very quiet.
Unusually our single rooms had sea views which was good. My friend's room was fine but mine had just one niggling feature. The bathroom layout meant that you have to slide underneath the basin to sit on the toilet slightly sideways as your knees were up against the basin pedestal and your head over the basin. Reverse procedure to get up again which was not easy.
There is a lift to all floors but there are different levels on each floor so some steps are inevitable to most rooms.
The food was good but may not suit a hungry man's appetite. The service was excellent, friendly and helpful staff with quick service.
The entertainment was acceptable but we were not there on the Nostalgia night which is supposed to be the best!
All in all, apart from the bathroom it was a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Check bathroom layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Django4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunniside, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a seven day six night holiday to this hotel with Alfa travel. Food at this hotel is great with ample choices at each course. The staff work very hard especially in the restaurant. The hotel seems to be very popular for the older clientelle and as such, the entertainment centres around the 50's to 80's music.The rooms are small but clean but could do with a bit of t.l.c. I would suggest booking a sea view room as the sunrises are brilliant. Another great point is that your luggage is taken from the coach to your room and vice versa when you leave. Brilliant. I understand that this hotel is owned by Alfa, lot better than hotels used by some coach companies. I would recommend this hotel and would hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thumper1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

the food at the bayshore was fine until you ask for what on menu then you are told they dont have it it happened twice i was very cross because it was potatoes which i think you should have in stock but the holiday on the whole was very good jean

Room Tip: a room with a sea view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Hotel

Property: Bayshore Hotel
Address: 12-16 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayshore Hotel - Sandown [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star). Situated in a magnificent position on the seafront, opposite the beach and pier and close to the shopping centre. All 80 bedrooms are centrally heated with TV, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities and private bath or shower and WC. The hotel has a light and spacious cocktail bar and lounge area with a large dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There is a sun lounge and attractive restaurant overlooking the sea and a games room and TV lounge. Lift serves all floors (a few stairs on split level floor) A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing