We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb long weekend break - everything of the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

My husband and I lead a busy (retired !) life and need a breakaway every couple of months. We have travelled with Shearings on many occasions and so chose this Isle of Wight tour because we like the Isle and because the dates fitted our diary.
We were not disappointed - the coach driver, Eddie, was an excellent driver and caring person. The Broadway Hotel was superb. The staff were A1, the food was amazing, the cleanliness perfect, our room was lovely and overlooked lots of greenery. The resident entertainer, even though he was suffering from laryngitis, was just right for the clientele. There was a 'free drinks' evening on the Saturday (we felt it wasn't really necessary and we did note some guests had a 'queuing system' with their glasses). Well done to Shearings for being able to keep such a hotel open for this amazing bargain offer.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoselynEastbourne_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 804 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2011

One of the best Shearings Hotels we have visited . Good food very god service in the restaurant and bars entertainment is the only down side not suitable for older people to walk to and fro to beach and shops. Nice grounds with red squirrels running around hotel gardens and other wildlife

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Have recently returned from an all inclusive stay at the Broadway Park. What a great hotel. Rooms were warm and comfortable and, despite what other reviewers have said, we found no problem with the mattress springs !! The food and service in the restaurant were second to none and, as for breakfast, we had more than enough every morning.

All staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole trip, including excursions was extremely well organised. Our driver, Paul,(Bryan Ferry lookalike) was a local resident and he was so knowledgeable and made every trip special.

Overall, we cannot fault this holiday and will be travelling with Shearings again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My Husband and i booked through Shearings to stay at this lovely old Manor House. We love the IOW and got a very good deal from Friday to Monday inc ferry, half board plus free drinks from 7.30 to 10.30 for £109 each!!! The room was at the top of the Hotel and had 2 doulble beds, tea and coffee facilities and was quiet, warm and extremely comfortable with pleasant views over the woodland and rose garden. Toiletries were not provided apart from soap but clean towels and hairdryer were. We were impressed with the meals and the very fast table service, the food was well presented and varied with a roast every day and a veggie choice, all waitress service. Breakfast is a wide choice of yoghurts, cereals, juices and fresh fruit which you can help yourselves to, then your main breakfast is served to you and again a wide and very tasty choice. In the evening there is a wide screen tv in the main lounge or you can relax in the bar area or if like us you enjoy a little dance and maybe a quiz or two then the Ballroom is the place for you. It is small but intimate. The Hotel is set in its own grounds with Red Squirrells to feed,reception will give you some seed for them. i can imagine its all very attractive in the Summer months, and we will definately go back to this Hotel to find out. We had a lovely relaxing and happy stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

First sight of this hotel was lovel,y the grounds are nice and the reception hall was very efficeint. Walking through to the lift we had a look at the lounges and the are 3 large rooms with plenty of comfy chairs and tables.
Walking on past the outdoor swimming pool which looked veyr inviting even in November, we came to the lift, and of to our room, which was lovely and clean, with a view of the trees from the window. The dining room was lovely, the food was brilliant and the ballroom was a nice size. The resident entertainer was a good laugh and doing his best was good enough for us - we loved him.
The only downfall this hotel has and l had read that on here from other people and that is the bed springs coming through the mattresses! If only they sorted that out they would notch up some more stars l am sure.
The building was a manor house in its hey day - and the character is still there - the dark oak panels the fire places and some of the decor l would stay there again, even lf i had to sleep on the floor l loved the place and the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dollythemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

just returned from midweek break with shearings to this hotel, check in was quick and easy, cases delivered to room efficiently. room was ok for what we had paid, bit dated, but spacious and in quiet position, rooms very warm with heater that you could control yourself. only gripes we had were shower would have been nice, only bath in room. bed a bit lumpy and horrible blankets rather than duvet, didnt realise people still used blankets.
meals served in a very large dining room which was pleasant, allocated a table with another couple we didnt know, would have been nice to have table for 2. waiter very efficient and friendly. food was ok, we did not expect 5 star food at the price we paid.
entertainment. each night consisted of bingo, then quiz then music,(recorded) but on one evening there was very good comedien. the entertainment gentleman was very good and easy laid bacl atmosphere. lovely room where entertainment was held, but you could sit in another quieter bar if you so wished,
all in all very pleasant stay.
on another note, full credit to paul the coach driver who took us from lancs to IOW and stayed and drove us on all excursions, a lovely warm man, very knowledgable about the island, he clearly loved it, and shared his knowledge making the trips interesting and he took very good care of all the passengers, being thoughtfull about drop off points etc. shearings you are lucky to have him!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1nathanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Hotel is situated approx half a mile back from the seafront at Sandown and it is uphill returning from the beach to the hotel.The hotel is a converted mansion house with a swimming pool and it is now complete with a large modern extention block. The public rooms are large and comfortably furnished.The dining room is enormous which caters for approx 200 diners at any one time.All guests are allocated a table number on arrival which they use for the duration of their stay,waiter service is the order of the day for all meals,the staff were friendly , smart and very efficient and the quality of the meals could not be faulted.
Our room was in the original mansion house and on arrival we were surprised to be told it was located 2 floors down from the ground floor reception area.This we found out was because the house was built on a steep slope towards the rear of the property.The room itself was fine but on the small side and had no view to speak of.It had tea and coffee making facilities, a small TV and a hair dryer for the ladies,the bathroom could be classed as just OK but it was really in need of an upgrade.
All in all though the hotel was fine for the money we paid ie £200 for an 8 day stay for bed breakfast and evening meal.
Unfortunately the week we went it the Aug 21st to 29th 2010 it rained every day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niltrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $64 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing