We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

A quiet location with v well maintained gardens. Pleasant staff & v good restaurant service - although the breakfasts were somewhat limited.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cburni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Bay Broadway Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 770 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

lovely hotel friendly staff' food was excellent and very efficient service,hotel is situated in a hilly position which was a bit of a problem also be warned shearings coach travel is a nightmare we left swindon at 7.15 in the morning an arrived at the hotel nearly 9 hours later which i'm afraid got our 4 day holiday off to a bad start this was not explained to us when we made the booking as a consequence we will never travel with shearings again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coupleswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Very good food and excellent waiter service. Hotel clean. Entertainment lounge as well as other comfortable lounges for guests who require a quiet talk/read. Paid extra for larger bedroom and enjoyed extra space. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel in lovely, spacious grounds where one can relax (weather permitting). Would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This hotel is owned by the Shearings Coach group, and we went on a 4 day coach break with them from The Midlands. Half board at £69 per person (yes, for 3 nights/ 4 days!) including an island tour on the coach.
The hotel is set in its own grounds in Sandown, a 10 minute walk to the beach or 10 minutes to the Sandown/Shanklin cliff top walk, and just 5 minutes from the railway station.
The hotel is slightly tired (although evidence of ongoing decoration) and is an old character country house with newer wings, and an outdoor swimming pool (closed when we visited). The staff were all very helpful, and although a coach holiday the meal times were flexible. The food was of a reasonable standard, with a good choice (incl. 1 vegetarian per meal) and was served very efficiently.
There was daily evening entertainment, but it always seemed to start with a quiz and Bingo - not our choice, so we opted out and enjoyed evening walks instead.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_N0mads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We have just spent 4 nights here with a Shearings coach holiday. The food was excellent with good choices. There is a 3 course dinner with coffee and a varied breakfast menu. The dining room service is fast and efficient.All the staff were pleasant and helpful.. Our room was large and very clean but outdated. The only minor complaint was that the the lovely garden was illuminated at night and one spotlight shone straight into our room!! There is a steep walk back from the seafront but there are regular buses to avoid the hill.
The hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool in a sheltered area which should be lovely in warm weather.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Have just returned from a Shearings holiday excellant value. Hotel was old but spotlessly clean staff were efficient and friendly. The dining room was large but the service and the food served was second to non. Have read some of the previous reviews and do not know why some people find the need to complain. There was an electric heater in the bedroom which was adequate for the size of the room. We will certainly return at a later date.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idealBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

the hotel is in a lovely area 10 minutes mainly down hill to town and sea front area , if tou have a bit of difficulty walking you can catch the number 2 , 3 . or 8 bus from any where in the town and the number 8 bus from anywhere on the seafront you get of at sandown heights opposite the leisure centre then its a five minute down hill walk back to hotel. its so easy to get to osbourne house yourselfs using thebuses its a lovely day out , the bus stop you need is just over the crossroads as you walk in to town from hotel you change at ryde . there is a five to ten minute walk from where you get off the buss to the entrance .anyway back to hotel it is in need of some t.l.c. which some seemed to be happening while we were there , the extension rooms are lovely but the actual design of the building trully spoils the hotel. The service was very good in the dinning room but the food was bland , the service in the bar/ lounge area was excellant considering one poor girl was doing it on her own mostly .The room was very clean and that standard was kept up throughout our stay. we felt the only let down was the reception we didnt find they were very helpfull on occassions , but all in all enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jll P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,257 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $103 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing