We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a really enjoyable 3 night with Shearings. Paid minimal payment for upgrade to the newer section room. The Broadway Park is a lovely place to stay. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Our room was 141 and had patio doors out into the garden. Hotel staff are absolutely brilliant, friendly, helpful and very hard working. Food was varied and tasty. Staff service in dining room was very good. We were extremely lucky to have Sarah who couldn't have done anymore to make our stay good. Bar prices were very reasonable and the entertainment was spot on. Access to railway station is a 5 min walk. Trains run every hour from Shanklin to Ryde. Bus services are very good every 15 mins. Would recommend this hotel on a Shearings deal to anyone. Total value for money.

Room Tip: My advice is to upgrade. A few people stayed in rooms in the older part of the hotel and said they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CooperJRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent weekend stay with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your break and that all the staff looked after you so well, especially Sarah in the dining room, I shall pass your praise onto her. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 777 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break with shearings,, the hotel is clean and bright, the food is excellent always hot and plenty of it, our waiter Martin was first class nothing was 2 much trouble for him, the room was always warm, the only down side was that the bed was hard and so was the pillows, the water was always hot, the entertainment was ok, not as good as last time we went, the only thing was that you had to get in the entertainment room early to get a seat as it soon filled up after dinner, so you were left waiting for over an hour with nothing going on, no music no quizzes, no dancing nothing, when they did play music it was that old from the 50's and 60's most of them I didn't know! some people might be in their 60's but like more modern music from the present day . The music needs updating a couple of decades because all the guests are not old and don't want to be listening to music from the 50's and 60's. Apart from that we has an enjoyable time

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, and not on a high floor as the showers are not as powerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthea C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your review on your stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your break and shall pass on your praise to Marcin your waiter and all the staff. Entertainment is a very personal choice, we try to cater for all tastes across the board from the 50's to the modern day so that there is something for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Broadway Park Hotel from 10th - 14th of March after booking a late deal with Shearings Coach Holidays.

When we arrived at this hotel we were impressed with the main building and 4 acres of gardens. Our check-in was speedy and because we wanted to walk into Sandown town and buy some water rather than spend £2 on a small bottle of water at the hotel, we found our own cases and took them to our room, which was at the very end of the 2nd floor in the main building.

It was a short walk into town, where there are 2 supermarkets, the Co-op and Sainsbury’s. The walk back to the hotel was uphill, but we didn’t find it difficult.

The room

We didn’t bother to upgrade our room and found it to be just as we expected after reading previous reviews. It was a reasonable size, tired, but functional and clean and we had very hot water throughout our stay. However, we found that the rooms weren’t adequately sound-proofed as we could hear our immediate neighbours in their rooms. Fortunately, this wasn’t a problem for us as we didn’t spend much time in our room.

The food

We were allocated a table on arrival and this was our table for the full duration of our holiday. The meals are waiter service (a special mention for our waiter Marcin who worked tirelessly), except for breakfast cereals, which you helped yourself to from a central table. Fresh fruit on the breakfast menu was a small bowl of prepared grapefruit and scrambled egg on toast tasted very odd and not as if fresh eggs had been used. However, the kippers and full English breakfast were exceptionally good. Dinner was basic but acceptable, but loved the starters and desserts.

At check-in, we were given a card each that allowed 4 free drinks a day, which included pints of draught beer, wine, soft drinks and spirits. Service at the bar was speedy.

The lounges were spacious with plenty of comfortable seats, free daily papers and The Cloud free Wi-Fi. The evening entertainment in the ballroom was excellent especially the comedy vocalist Simon Howard on Tuesday night. We never went to bed before 12 because the entertainment was so good.

The hotel is close to the local bus stops and we used our free bus passes to travel around the island. We caught the number 8 bus at the bus stop opposite the Rock Shop down the hill from the hotel, to Newport which was the hub bus station where you could catch a bus to most other parts of the Isle of Wight including bus number 7 to Alum Bay for the Needles.

Overall, we found the hotel good value for the money we paid. The plus points easily outnumber the negatives, especially if you can get a late deal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank domidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and all the staff looked after you so well. We do offer excellent value for money. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. For £89 bed, breakfast and evening meal, it can't be faulted. The room was a little dated but more than adequate, there was plenty of hot water, fresh towels every day if required and tea, milk and coffee were supplied in the room. The food was excellent as was the service which was quick and efficient.

The hotel is set in a beautiful garden.

The hotel also supplied at a small cost packed lunches if required

This is my 3rd visit to a Shearings hotel and they certainly know how to give good value

Room Tip: I was on the fourth floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186402Tallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break with shearings. Cannot fault this hotel, one of shearings " better ones". Food excellent with plenty of choices. Rooms very spacious and clean. Staff excellent, very helpful, special mention for our waiter on table 16. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma90_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read you had a good stay with us and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just had 4 nights break here with a friend. Although the rooms were old and in need of updating, what I can say is that the rooms and bedding were clean with towels changed daily. Tea and coffee was provided daily, and as far as food was concerned, no one went hungry, and there was always something on the menu for everyone. For the money paid this hotel was excellent value.
Overall, well worth a trip to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

thank you for posting a review on your stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the excellent value for money that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day trip with Shearings, it was our 5th time as as before we really enjoyed it. The hotel is set in lovely gardens which even at this time of year were nice to see.We were in room 104 which was fine, although there were steps to the bathroom, this was not a problem for us but might be for anyone with mobility problems. The bed was comfy and had lovely pillows, bedding and towels spotless. If you look closely, yes the rooms could do with a bit of TLC, but they are clean. The meals are very good especially breakfast, good quality bacon, I enjoyed the liver and bacon , a real treat ( don't have at home, hubby doesn't like it ) and the waffle ice cream and blackcurrants was delicious. Compliments to the chef.
The drinks vouchers are a real bonus, we had 3 alcoholic drinks and a cappuccino before bed.
Enjoyed the Walzing waters, and Godshill was a nice place to visit.Ryde was bigger then expected, plenty of shops and nice cafes down at the pier.
The entertainment was the best we have seen on any tour we have done, especially the comedian who was on Tues night.
Usually I have nothing but praise for the Shearings drivers but this time we were very disappointed in our driver Stuart. We had no information from him at all, in fact the full day outing was done in silence, other then informing us of times to be back at the coach, We have always found the drivers to be very informative, but we went to the Isle of Wight knowing nothing and came back he same. To be fair to Stuart I understood it wasn't his normal tour, but do think he should have tried to find out a bit about the island to pass on.
This has not put us off booking again , and we are already talking abiut which to book next. Well done Shearings.
Forgot to mention our waitress, dont know her name table 59. She was an absolute joy to see in a morning, always cheerful and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nannymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and will be booking another Shearings holiday in the future. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $90 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing