We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westfield

The Westfield
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westfield
Ranked #6 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lee-on-the-Solent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Welcoming Stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just stayed at The Westfield for 2 nights last weekend and had a lovely stay.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is clean and very looked after, we loved all the homely touches in the room, great selection of teas/coffees & snacks in the room even fresh milk in the fridge for your hot drinks..lovely thick towels too. Like being at home! we loved it and so did our in laws who came with us.

Breakfast in the morning is gorgeous and cooked with love!

We will definately be back next year for another weekend :-)

Many Thanks to all at The Westfield

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tixiebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
70
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

i was a single traveler, and i enjoyed my stay at the westfield, Barry and his team made me feel very welcome, there breakfast is one of the best i had, i would recomed this to anyone travelling to the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_pat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anybody. Barry, his wife and family could not do more to help. Breakfast was excellent. The room was great, comfortable, lovely en-suite. Great bar, plenty of free tea and coffee. Lovely staff, everyone was very friendly. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just spent a weekend at The Westfield and woould highly recommend it to everyone. We arrived to a very warm welcome having just ridden there in the pouring rain on our scooter. Martin & Barry met us at the door, took our wet outer clothes away to dry & offered to dry the rest of stuff in their tumble dryer! The room (honeymoon suite) had everything & more including a 50" wall mounted TV with surround sound, a jacuzzi bath, four poster bed plus en suite with shower. All rooms have fridges with milk & water provided plus kettle with a huge selection of drinks not just the standard tea & coffee plus crisps & biscuits! The room was also exceptionally clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent - all produce is organic & locally sourced. There is also a bar at The Westfield with a pool table & darts board & TV for those rainy days/nights! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The Westfield certainly exceeded our expectations of a B&B and we would definitely stay there again. The Westfield is perfect for couples young & old! The Westfield has a policy not to have children as the walls are quite thin and noise carries, so if you want to take your kids you'll have to look somewhere else! It's actually nice to stay somewhere & not have to worry about either being disturbed by someone's kids or disturbing them when coming in late at night!! Would highly recommend The Westfield. Any negative reviews on here are by people who have never actually stayed here - can't think of a bad word to say about the family who run it or the place itself!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlipBognorRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just spent three nights here. Could not fault the room, breakfast, service. A very enjoyable experience. Especially grateful for the little box containing guest reviews of local restaurants. We tried three and found them all as reviewed.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just had four day stay at the Westfield and had a wonderful time, Kim and Martin made us feel very welcome as did Barry. Jodie's breakfast set us up for the day,.its a lovely b&b, very clean and modern with easy access to beach.The bar area is spacious with a dart board and pool table, if you feel like stopping in for a relaxing evening. the hosts will gladly oblige you witht a game and accomodate your chosen takeaway.We had a great stay and would definitely go back, ten out of ten guys.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Recently stayed at The Westfield for a weekend stay and was very happy with it. Rooms are well stocked with drinks and snacks and whole place is very clean. The breakfast has everything you could want and staff are very friendly and helpful. If I could pick any fault with it the room we stayed in was a little on the small side although it was absolutely fine for a weekend.

The location is great for getting around the local area. Very close to the station in one direction and the beach in the other direction. Sandown is a bit limited so the train is useful for travelling to other towns. Shanklin is only a 5 minute train away, however there is also a nice walk there along the coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westfield

Property: The Westfield
Address: 17 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westfield 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westfield is a 12 bed Victorian Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westfield Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing