We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Channel View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Channel View Hotel
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basic but clean”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend. Rooms were basic but clean, and food was adequate. Staff were friendly, but some concerns over the electric fittings. Light switch on bedlamp was dodgy, and also whole floor had no supply for TV, kettle etc for an hour, whilst staff sorted it out. Also room was heated with portable electric heater, which had to be turned off at night as it was close to bed, and as the weather was not clever, very cold in the morning. Also on being given room key, we arrived at the room and another couple were in it. They had got the wrong room, they should have been next door, but my concern was did all the keys fit every room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    78
    59
    30
    47
See reviews for
44
104
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed at this hotel 1st april 2013 pleasant hotel friendly staff great food clean but basic rooms nice and clean few little grouses patio doors to veranda hinge broke position of electric plugs awkward to acsess otherwise a enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaydee1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
318 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Don't understand previous review. Stayed at hotel from 15 th march for 4 days. A lift is being installed in one part of the hotel but didn't see any workmen or dust. Infact hotel was spotless. Rooms are not large, but adequate, decor a little tired, but great new bathroom with fab shower. Staff friendly and efficient and food very good and plentiful. Was on a coach trip and rest of the party thought the weekend was great value. Would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank minseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is like a building site, we arrived to find a huge hole in the wall next to reception where they are going to put a lift in, this carried on up through the other floors. There was a wheelbarrow full of sand and cement and bags of sand piled up the wall. The carpets had seen better days and when we were shown to our rooms my sisters room had a huge crack in the ceiling and paper hanging off, only one wardrobe door on and the fire fell of the wall. The place was freezing cold despite the owner saying the heating was on. There was dust and dirt all through the hotel and despite being shown other rooms in the hotel we decided not to stay there as the hotel was so cold. We were so glad we decided to take our own car and not gone on the bus trip because we would not have been able to move hotels. This hotel needs to be closed down until all the refurbishment has taken place. If anyone suffers with a bad chest the dust is not good. Definitely would not recommend, we moved to another hotel which was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank greyhaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Not a 4star in my opinion. Room was very cold. Don't have a room in the annex as they are damp and cold meals were very good. Staff very good. The room tried to be a 4star by adding a luggage rack. But they were so small you couldn't put it up
The bar prices were reasonable. And the entertainment. Ok

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Recently spent a very nice time at this hotel. The Staff were very helpful , rooms were basic but clean everything we needed in there. Three nights of excellent entertainment , food and service very good.

Room Tip: room 25 in front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheryl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Staff are really friendly and help with any problem.They even put the big screen tv on and opened the bar for the Rugby over the weekend.The rooms were a bit shabby but the bed was firm and very clean.The en suit was spotless. Food was the best part .How they do it is beyond me.Fresh cooked curry,fresh veg.Entertainment was brill for the three nights.Not all the same each night a bite different.I asked for a ground floor as there are no lifts .If you have problems its best to ask as it is over three floors.They have a lot of ground floor rooms.Our first coach holiday was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happywelshbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
1.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel View Hotel

Property: Channel View Hotel
Address: 4-6 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Channel View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel View Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing