We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional seaside hotel”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great traditional seaside hotel”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We belong to a social group called Country Link that has two weekends a year in different locations in the country. We needed a hotel on the Isle of Wight that had the right location, facilities and the know how to satisfy our requirements. The Trouville fulfilled everything we needed and we have had a brilliant weekend.
Our group consisted of 127 folk and the hotel was able to accommodate us in clean comfortable rooms. The dining room was excellent with a wonderful view of the pier and beach and the numerous ships out in the bay.
The bar and lounge gave us a nice area to congregate and relax and the ballroom was so large everyone was able to fit on the floor to dance the night away.
The meals were terrific, well cooked, good portions and hot. The service team served the meals with expert skill and humour. The whole staff in the hotel added to our enjoyment.
Well done Trouville you completed our weekend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your weekend break at the Trouville Hotel. We're delighted that your group enjoyed their stay with us and that all your requirements were fulfilled. We would love to accommodate your party again should you return to the Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    144
    51
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
131
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014 as part of a dance weekend break. It was a whole new experience; comfortable beds, friendly staff, excellent service. Helen, the Head Chef, accommodated my dietary requirements with ease, unlike every hotel we have stayed at previously. A refreshing, caring attitude which makes for a relaxing stay. Best hotel we've stayed in. Especially recommend it for those with special diets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We were more than happy to accommodate your dietary requirements and would do so again if you returned! We're really pleased you enjoyed the dance weekend and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel has it all - all staff are so friendly with a great sense of humour, helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much. All with smiles on their faces. Food out of this world. Room with a view of the sea. Entertainment was great (I don't like C&W music but can't please everyone!) Comedian come musician from 60s group, 'Tornados' was excellent. It was great to use the ballroom and not bump into anyone. There is no way anyone could fault this hotel - if they do, see me! Hats off to the management team who are obviously lovely to work with. Hope to see you next year with the same Vale Coach duo - Lee and Brian

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. 4th floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Wow - thank you so much for the brilliant review you have given us! We're delighted that you enjoyed your Easter break with us. It's great to read that you found all the staff to be friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed the entertainment. We would love to have you all back again next Easter, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just spent four days at this hotel with our dancers and cannot fault it. The rooms are pleasant and clean, lovely comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The restaurant and staff - wonderful. Food very good with good choice.

Ballroom excellent and enough room for all our dancers which was 90. Our group enjoyed the sea views from their bedrooms and to make our stay even more glorious was the weather!

One of our dancers had quite a varied dietry requirement but the head chef met with him and went over what he could and could not eat - he was amazed and has never had that treatment before.

Can't say enough about The Trouville. We shall be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! It's great to see that your dance group enjoyed their weekend with us. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the variety of food on offer and it was our pleasure to assist one of your dancers with their dietary requirements - we hope he enjoyed the food too! We're looking forward to your return in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just returned from a second visit to the Trouville but this time with my mother. I have to say that the staff were really friendly and extremely welcoming, my mother really enjoyed her first stay and is already planning her next. They went out of their way to accommodate her needs which allowed me to relax and just enjoy being back on the Island. The sea views and the comfortable rooms have to be recommended as well. Have to add a special thank you to Anne Marie.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you returned with your mother and that she enjoyed our hotel too. We would love to see you both again soon so please get in touch to plan your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Perfect sea front location with sea views from our room. Great food and very attentive staff. Breakfast is table service not a help yourself buffet as most hotels are, this is much friendlier. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickCReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I came here in March for a social dance weekend. We all booked single rooms and arrived to find we had all been given double rooms at no extra cost. The staff were very friendly and the meals were very good and there was a nice choice. They have a secure car park just off the high street which can be approached via steps or a slightly longer walk around the road. The whole weekend was fantastic and I can't wait to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank debdex1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
What a great review you've given us - thank you very much! We will always upgrade our guests when possible and, fortunately, we were able to do this for you! Thank you for all of your kind comments. We hope to see you at our 2015 Social Dance Weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
831 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Property: Trouville Hotel
Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing