We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whist Holiday”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Whist Holiday”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a week in this hotel must say had a great time as we went to play cards we had 19 tables and played whist ,morning /afternoon /evening some days if the weather was against us.The staff were friendly and my room was clean.Would return it was a nice winter break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracymay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel following your stay for a whist break in February. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you will all be returning next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    143
    50
    5
    6
See reviews for
59
127
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Trouville in December 2013. The staff were friendly and the check in was swift. The room was pleasant and had an excellent view of the ocean. In fact everything was great until the fire alarm went off at about 5.30am which luckily was caused by an overflowing bath from the room above rather than a fire. The hotel staff dealt with the situation very well and before too long we were all back in our rooms.

There are many hotels in Sandown and probably not a great deal to choose between them all but the 2 things that make this hotel stand out are the view and the excellent friendly service from all the staff, especially Karen on reception and Nicola the hotel manager.

Thanks again Trouville.
Steve & Emma

Room Tip: Room facing the sea is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your short stay at the Trouville Hotel! We can't apologise enough for the inconvenience caused by the fire alarm going off in the early hours but, like you have said, at least it wasn't a fire and nobody was hurt. We really appreciate your observation of the friendliness and efficiency of the staff and we're pleased you enjoyed the sea view from your room. Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay and we really hope you will come back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Happily returning for another dance weekend.We have been to the Trouville many times and as always we had a great time. Hats off to Michelle and Oli for making it such fun and also to Debby who works very hard and runs a very tight ship. The Dining Room is certainly a different place when she is not working. Food not quite as interesting as previous years but still good. Great ballroom and live acts.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea facing room, it makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review following your stay for a Line Dance break in December. We're glad you had fun during your stay - I will pass your complimentary comments on to Debbie. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year we have done this. There was fifteen people in the group . The hotel is clean , the staff are very friendly and the food you could not fault . It is ideal for large group or family holiday . They also do weekend specials , dancing ect . Finally the view from front bedroom windows very nice right on the sea front .

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwilliams1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
It's brilliant to read you enjoyed your return visit on a short mat bowls break. We hope the rest of your party enjoyed it as much as you did! We love entertaining a mix of people from short mat bowlers to scrabble players; and from ballroom dancers to zumba enthusiasts! Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have visited the Isle of Wight many times, mostly in Sandown, but this was our first time at the Trouville. And what a lovely hotel it is. Lovely room facing the sea, spotlessly clean. The food was excellant, hot with little waiting, despite the number of people sat down. And most important of the staff were not only very helpful, but looked as though they enjoyed it.
Overall an excellant hotel, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phasmid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We're very grateful for the wonderful review you have given us! It's great that, on this visit to Sandown, you chose to stay at the Trouville Hotel and, even better, that you loved it! We're glad that you enjoyed the food and noticed the cleanliness of the hotel. We hope that on your next visit to Sandown you will choose to stay at the Trouville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We, too, went back at the beginning of November with a line-dance group. Having been there many times before over the last 7-8 years, it was good to see that a number of the staff who were orginally there are still there. This must be a good sign? Anyway, food & service always good, & staff very polite & helpful .Must mention Clare in the Restaurant , who looked after our table brilliantly. Also, Debbie ('Boss Lady'!) who can't seem to stand still - but can always find time to have a laugh with the guests. Hope we go back again!

Room Tip: Every time we've been here (approx. 8 times), we have ALWAYS been allocated a room on the 3rd. f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We were delighted to welcome you back at the Trouville Hotel, we're glad you had an enjoyable time! We are very lucky that we retain a high percentage of our staff (it's kind of you to notice) - we must be doing something right!! Claire is very appreciative of your kind comments, as is Debbie, so thank you for highlighting their good work. We also hope you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Another successful dance at the Trouville Hotel, good food, great floor, all our rooms had a sea view, perfect, lifts to all floors so no struggling up the stairs after a night of dancing,Bar remained open till we collapsed, even better, tell me where you can get a good bottle of wine for under £15 in a Hotel, and they even stock wine from "Rare Vineyards" in France,

Room Tip: don't forget to ask for a room with a sea view,if you like to sound of the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Ysanne - it's so nice of you to review the Trouville following one of your many stays with your dance group! It's great that you keep returning and are always happy with the service, food, etc! We're looking forward to your next visit in March 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Property: Trouville Hotel
Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing