We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CONSISTENT QUALITY”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a four day break, one of many return visits to the Trouville Hotel.

Everything there is of a consistent quality in terms of food,bedroom cleanliness and in particular

the helpful staff.Entertainment every evening is a useful benefit and enjoyed by the majority

of guests,would recommend,without hesitation to all prospective guests.

For information beware of parking wardens on the promenade who 'appear' from nowhere.

Room Tip: Essential to select a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We're so pleased that you find the quality of the service at the hotel consistent during your stays and that you would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others. We hope that you will return for another stay at the Trouville Hotel and we'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others after each visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 450 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great Hotel.
Receptionist very good, as was the rest of the front of house staff.
Food very good and a very good selection to choose from on the menu,
Housekeeping also very good, my chambermaid was so sweet and very good at her job.
Have booked to go again next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Diana, thank you so much for a lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were impressed with the staff in all departments. We're really looking forward to the next Rock 'n' Roll weekend and pleased that you can join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Trouville in Sandown. It is a delighful, friendly place. The staff coiuld'nt be more helpful, the food is just marvalous. I had a twin bedded room, very clean, comfortable, mmm gorgious towels (my weakness). Only complaint which is not the fault of the Hotel, their car park which is some way away from the hotel, was full, there are restrictions and charges everywhere, so difficult to park. Have already booked to stay again in 2014. Thanks Trouville.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel and for sharing some of your pictures!! It's great to read that this was your forth visit to the hotel and you have booked for your fifth!! We're sorry that you were not able to utilise our complimentary car park, unfortunately the free parking along the seafront does not start until 01 November so you just missed out. We look forward to seeing you again for our 2014 Rock 'n' Roll weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have just returned from an excellent weekend in this hotel, organised by the hotel but run by the outstanding Dancing Dave Wall.
The food was very good, the staff were extremely helpful and the hotel has a very good ballroom.
Dancing Dave works very hard to please everyone and I cannot recommend this event highly enough for anyone who loves rock and roll music.
We have already booked again for next year.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammy697375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you very much for the fantastic review you have given us following your stay at our Rock 'n' Roll weekend. We're so pleased that you had an enjoyable time and that you have booked for next year - we can't wait!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Last weekend we spent 3 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself organised local bowling teams to compete with our teams which was well organised with free refreshments at half time. Also, the bowling rink was available to us 24/7 with no extra cost. The food and service were excellent as were the other facilities. I was particularly impressed with the availability of a gluten free diet which I need. In total 23 of our short mat bowling club members attended and they were all of the same opinion as me. The majority of the rooms had fine sea views.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review of the Trouville Hotel, we're so pleased that you and the rest of Yeovil Marsh SMBC enjoyed their weekend stay. We're glad you took advantage of the gluten free options available and that you were impressed with the service. We hope it was a winning weekend for your team and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Realistically, the accommodation price paid was very reasonable, but I would have preferred to pay more and go somewhere nicer. I felt this hotel was a little 'dingy' and needed a good decorate throughout. Beds were cheap and nasty - so if you go - take your own pillows at the least. In all honesty the whole area of Sandown looked like it should be in the 1960's - it all needs a face lift an its not an area I would rush back to.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - they are all the same....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

After responding to so many positive reviews of the Trouville Hotel it was disappointing to read yours, although we do appreciate you taking the time as this can help us improve our service/product. All the bedrooms have been decorated to a modern standard and they are well maintained. I agree that the corridors could do with modernising - we are currently considering a suitable colour scheme which will enable work to start on this in January 2014. I am surprised at your comment that the beds are cheap and nasty - throughout 2012 we replaced all of the beds and I can assure you they were not cheap!! Again, thank you for giving us feedback on your stay and hopefully you will give Sandown and the Trouville Hotel another chance sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 day break at the Trouville Hotel in the lovely Isle of Wight, which my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed. We originally spent Christmas 2012 there and liked it so much that we returned for another visit this autumn and we were not disappointed. Our spotlessly clean room had large windows which looked directly over the sea so we had a wonderful view and went to sleep to the sound of the waves breaking on the sand - magic!.
The hotel itself is warm and spacious with a large ballroom, where the nightly entertainment took place, a well stocked bar and attractive lounge and dining room. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food was generous and well presented, although the variety of vegetables was limited. We were part of a coach party and enjoyed daily excursions in good weather to various places of interest, including Island Pearl, Waltzing Waters ( absolutely beautiful!) Godshill Village and the Needles.
The only drawback in this hotel, in my opinion, is the lift system. There is only one small lift, carrying 4 passengers at a time. For such a large hotel as this, which must have well over 200 guests over 4 floors, it is woefully inadequate, especially on change-over days when it is used to move luggage around and necessitates long waits for the many guests with limited mobility.
However, It is a lovely hotel in a prime position, which makes it's guests feel very welcome and I would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Double and twin rooms all have sea views but single rooms are at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we're delighted that you've made a return visit after enjoying Christmas at the Trouville Hotel last year. It sounds like you had a busy week visiting lots of places on the island but I'm glad you were able to take advantage of your sea view room when you returned each day. It is so lovely to read that you were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff - we would all love for you to return for a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $74 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing