We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colin&Vida”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed for a three night jazz weekend Friday 22 feb 2013 till Monday morning ,very good hotel,most friendly staff, good choice for breakfast and evening meals all good quality.rooms clean and comfortable,very good value with ferry crossing included,look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the Trouville Hotel. The jazz weekend provided a great atmosphere and I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed the weekend. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 438 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the hotel in February. It was arranges by a local coach company in Northumberland. The theme was a world cruise. Each night we were at a different port and had food from that country. All the food was very good and the staff very pleasant and attentive. The rooms were excellent and the public rooms good. Entertainment each night was of a high standard. Although the weather was cold it was a very nice break and we would happily go to this hotel again. All rooms have a sea view.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Trouville Hotel following your trip on the S.S Trouville!! We're delighted you enjoyed the cuisine each night based on various cities around the world. We hope you will return to the Trouville Hotel and hopefully enjoy some warmer weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Attended the three night dance weekend in Feb. Very good value for money. Food was good and all the staff very friendly and helpful. My view was that the entertainment on the Friday night catered for all as it provided for social,sequence and some line dancing. The workshops provided by Emma were good but the Saturday evening failed to match Friday night in catering to everyone's taste. Peoples efforts with the theme night was wasted.The T dance on Sunday was a bonus and Deja Vue on Sunday night were very entertaining. Overall it was a fun packed weekend in a nice hotel ideally located on the sea front. Friendly and helpful staff with good food. Would I go again? DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Trouville Hotel. We're glad that you found the break to be value for money and you enjoyed the food and service received. We have had mixed reviews about the Friday night entertainment and other aspects of the weekend. We will use all of these comments to ensure next year's break is even better! We would be delighted to accommodate you again at the Trouville for next year's Social Dance Weekend, if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Always a great holiday at the Trouville,food,service,bedrooms, first class
Entertainment enjoyable,particularly Dave Cannon with his video/audio presentation.
A special mention to Debbie who works so hard to ensure guests are made welcome.

Room Tip: first floor rooms with sea view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Trouville Hotel. It is lovely to hear that you always enjoy your visits to our hotel and I will pass your kind comments on to Debbie. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Agree with Irene I review. We attended a 3 night dance weekend in Feb. This was a 1st ballroom weekend as novice dancers. The Trouville hotel was good value with friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good quality food. Lovely location but sea view room spolied by the double galzed windows being fogged up (due to be replaced in March). Fridge in room would have been handy. Entertainment on Friday night was a little too old fashioned for our liking. Sat and Sun mornings we had a good workshops with Emma. Saturday evening was a themed Showboat "ball" and a lot of people had put in a real effort with their costumes but apart from pre dinner drinks & a few balloons on the tables it didn't feel particularly special. There was a T-dance on the Sun afternoon, open to non-residents which was good. We particularly enjoyed Deja Vu a keyboard & singer duet...they would have been good entertainment for Sat evening. Car parking was a at premium along the esplanade but free until March but the hotel has a compond for which you get a ticket from the hotel and code to access it. We were blessed with springlike weather and enjoyed our walk from Sandown to Shanklin (alternatively get the bus). Would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chachalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your break at the Trouville Hotel in February. We are pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay, however I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the Ball on the Saturday night - this is something that we will definitely improve on for next year. We are glad you enjoyed nice weather whilst you were on the Isle of Wight and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Have to agree with previous review, really good weekend but we were disappointed that apart from the guests who dressed up you would not have known there was a theme.
Staff were friendly, instruction was great and Dejavu excellent.
Would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the dance instruction and the friendliness of the staff. We appreciate your comments with regards to the theme and will take these comments into consideration when organising our next dance weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a jazz weekend at the Trouville hotel. The weather was bitterly cold outside but the hotel was warm and cosy inside and very welcoming. Music was GREAT. The food and service were very good. Our room had a sea view and it was interesting to watch the shipping movements in the Solent.
All in all a very good weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimrod966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay over the Jazz Weekend at the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the music and the hotel as a whole and we hope that you will return to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: $74 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing