We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I imagined”
Review of Tarvic 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than I imagined”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Me, my wife and our fifteen year old stayed in one of Tarvic 2's family rooms after making a booking through Late Rooms. For £22 a head I wasn't really expecting much, but to be fair it was a pretty good experience. Only 2 Star but with a bit of work could easily be more. The beds are rock hard, but overall I'd recommend them at this price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    92
    42
    28
    33
See reviews for
65
88
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Tarvic2 over Christmas and apart from the fact they served turkey on Christmas Day, put a present at each place setting and played Christmas music on a CD you would never have known it was Christmas. There was no atmosphere of celebration at all. It may have had something to do with the staff being of different nationalities, all lovely people but maybe with their own ideas of how to celebrate Christmas. The room was nicely decorated, quite small and very basic but clean. All the bed needed was 6 pockets to turn it into a snooker table - very hard so did not sleep very well. Overall not bad, I have known a lot worse.The hotel does not have a lift so ask fro ground floor room if stairs difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

great hotel rooms comfertable food very good had a lovely time would reccomend this hotel staff very friendly entertainment was good cakes at 1 30 yummy we were given achristmas present which was very nice our room was nice the view was not very good but we did not go on holiday to sit looking through the window

Room Tip: we stayed in room 003 ground floor the view was not good but we did not go to sit looking out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheil62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked here for 2 nights staying on a Friday and Saturday night to attend my sons wedding. On arrival we were checked in very quickly and our room was to the side of the hotel. It was of average size and clean. My daughters had the room next door and othere friends and family who were also staying here were located in different parts of the hotel.
Our room was spacious with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was of adequate size but the mattress was very firm as were the pillows. Despite this it was a comfortable sleep.
The bathroom had a shower cubicle and soap and towels were provided. The bath towels were on the small side but comfortable to use. The cleanliness was very good to. The shower had a great jet and there was plenty of hot water.
The staff were very polite at all times. The breakfast on both days was well cooked and served within a very short space of time. Breakfast was served only between 8.30 to 9.00 am so there was no time for a lay in following a very hectic wedding reception. Check out was at 1030 as well which was a bit early for the Sunday but none the less we had to get back to the mainland having booked on the midday ferry.
In all the rooms were clean, staff were very polite, breakfast was good and for the price this was a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwissTonyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Tarvik 2 really is a budget hotel. You get what you pay for. Payment is preferred in cash otherwise there is a charge - even for debit cards. The rooms are relatively clean and the staff are very friendly and polite. The hotel itself is extremely tired. The beds are extremely hard. The heating works. The breakfast is hot and plentiful. If you are on a budget this is the hotel for you, however, there is better accommodation available for a similar price if you shop about.

We had requested a sea view and a room with a bath. The view we got was absolutely remarkable. A wonderful vista of derelict and rotting buildings with rubbish and rubble filling the rest of the space. We were asked if everything was ok with the room so we mentioned the view. The guy on Reception had the grace to look embarrassed and then said the sea view rooms were family rooms and cost more.

It has to be pointed out that the hotel was not exactly overflowing with guests, if bookings were in double figures it would have been amazing. Thus we were surprised to have been given the room we were with the view, no bath, on the top floor at the very end of the corridor. Surely there must have been a better room available? To be fair to the hotel staff we were asked if we wanted to change rooms, but as we were uncertain as to whether this would incur an additional charge, we declined.

The bed was the hardest bed we have ever encountered - Fred Flintstone would have been proud. However, it wasn't lumpy so did not prevent sleep. The en suite was ok. The shower door took a lot of closing as it had dropped and was very, very tired with some nasty looking parts that had built up over time. The worst thing was the absence of a bath mat which made the whole shower experience very perilous indeed. Thankfully a bath mat appeared on the second day.

There was no entertainment whilst we were there, unless you count the guests swapping stories about their rooms and comparing. We decided that we came off the best as our shower worked, albeit rather pathetically, both lights in the en suite worked, our windows opened, and we got a bath mat eventually. Other guests had the some lovely view. No one managed to gain wifi access which was a little annoying as it is pretty much expected that it would be available at least in public areas.

All in all, this hotel is ok but very, very tired. The staff are great, this must be stressed, but they can only work with the facilities they have. Our main complaint really is that if the hotel has hardly any bookings, for goodness sake, upgrade the rooms dished out to guests. It would create a better impression and may encourage repeat visits. Certainly if the room had been better we may have considered returning, but as things stand, this is not a hotel we would choose to stay in again.

Overall, the hotel provides pretty much what it says it will provide, but with no frills, but as we only paid £125 for 3 nights including breakfast for 2 of us, that isn't bad. We unfortunately will not return to the hotel as there is better accommodation to be had for not much more money, however, someone did not read tripadvisor before booking............!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have an appalling view and small windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berylthesilverperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandown hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Freezing, Miserable, Dirty, Tatty Hotel, full of cobwebs and dust. Owner unapproachable and takes money from your credit card even when you have voided a payment! Beware!
The rooms are depressing, dirty and freezing cold, you can not expect children and the elderly to stay in freezing cold rooms.
Although i have rated the sleeping as terrible, this is because we left as we could not have stayed 1 night at this hotel.

Room Tip: Please go and stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6sam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of Dec. I wanted a weekend break as a birthday suprise for my husband. My initial reaction on driving up to the hotel was disappointment but i had read the reviews that said the outside was a bit tatty so i held back to see if the inside was better. It is a very tired hotel but clean and the staff on the front desk were friendly. Our room was clean and basic but unfortunately it was also freezing cold. On querying with the manager about the temperature it transpires that he doesnt have the heating on all day and only in certain parts of the hotel! We said we definitely would need the heating on and he did then turn it on but it was a good three or four hours later before it was a comfortable temperature - oh and there was no radiator in the bathroom at all and so that remained really cold all weekend - that sed the shower was the hottest I have every encountered in a hotel! The room could also have done with a couple of chairs and a small table as there was nowhere to hang coats and the dressing table was full with the kettle etc. The restauarant was closed at this time of year which wasn't mentioned on the website or on the phone when I booked which was irritating but the breakfast service was polite and the breakfast itself was nice but basic and the chef seemed incapable of doing a 'soft' egg even at special request.
All in all it was an adequate hotel for the money but I would not stay there again. We have family on the island who used to own a hotel and so I know we could have got a much better quality for the price we paid.
Overall a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarvic 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarvic 2 Hotel

Property: Tarvic 2 Hotel
Address: 13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarvic 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tarvic 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarvic 2 Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing