We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House”
Review of Caprera Hotel

Caprera Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caprera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had a fabulous stay here last weekend. Close to local amenities and right by a bus stop (we were travelling on public transport for our weekend away...). Comfy room and bed, friendly hosts, lovely breakfast - what more could you want? Will definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Caprera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 89 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Family run hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, clean throughout and serving a good breakfast.
Handy for the 10 min walk to the beach, plenty of parking, several on the property.
Would revisit.
Enjoy the jukebox!!

Room Tip: We were happy with what we were given, diferent people have different needs.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This Guest House has a very good rating and having stayed there for a short break I can understand why so many have posted favourable reviews. The owners are extremely helpful and the breakfasts that they serve are excellent. The coffee is as good as others that I have tasted in European cities. The en-suite bedroom is relatively small but well equipped with coffee and tea and a small fridge available. The Guest House is a 5 minute walk from the beach and has free car parking. Therefore on balance, this is a great 'Value for Money' Guest House

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

stayed for three nights over the august bank holiday lovely clean room with comfy bed . excellent freshly cooked breakfast each morning . the guesthouse is in a fab location near to the sea side , shops and places to eat . the bus stop is just down the road .thank you sally we had a lovely time . would we stay again yyyyyyyeeeeeeessssssssss

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wes h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to go to the Isle of Wight for our August vacation. We found Caprera Hotel on the internet and are so happy we did. The guesthouse is beautiful and very well located. The room was clean and comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. Every morning, we had a wonderful breakfast menu to choose from with wonderful vegetarian and non-vegetarian options. The guesthouse is well located with a short walk to the beach and public transportation. Most importantly, the owners were kind, sweet, informative and very hospitable. We couldn't have picked a better place to spend our Isle of Wight vacation. We will return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasaLaPace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having never been to the Isle of Wight before we decided to stay in Sandown for its location and being fairly flat. We looked on internet for a place to stay and couldn't have chosen a better place than the Caprera. Host Sally was most welcoming on arrival and showed us to our room which was excellently appointed with a view of the sea as well. Breakfasts were out of this world with a choice we've never had before at a hotel of this size. Full English was cooked to perfection, also cereals, yogurts, fruits and fruit juices toast and jam or marmalades as well as tea and coffee. 2 minutes from beach and town centre made it the the perfect location, also very quiet. All in all a brilliant holiday. Would recommend to everyone. John and Rachel.

Room Tip: Room 5. Great
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at this lovey place for four nights 12th to 16 aug 2013 The room was spotless good shower, Sally and Graham were very nice an friendly, 2 min walk to shops and the beach, The breakfast is fantastic .. we will be going back and I will be telling all my friends about this little gem . Thanks the bikers............

Room Tip: Any room, its that good ....
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprera Hotel

Address: 9 Melville Street, Sandown PO36 8LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
Hotel Class:4 star — Caprera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Caprera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing